We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harbour House Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Harbour House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,144: English reviews
Start your review of Harbour House Hotel
 Click to rate
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It may just be myself, but when I ever stay at a hotel I never truly am able to relax. Well that finally changed. My boyfriend and I stayed there on a Sunday night and did nothing but relax. This was our first time staying in NOTL. The hotel itself was perfect, there was no hustle and bustle of normal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank breannaschwartz
Toronto
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We snuck away for a few days off during March break and decided to try out the Harbour House Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We come to NOTL often but this was our first time staying at Harbour House. Located just a couple of short blocks off Main Street, it is right by the water next to the Niagara Sailing Club. Harbour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJWARN
Jamie D, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning, thank you for the review. We are very pleased when we have first time guests come and enjoy our hotel. We thoroughly enjoy building relationships with our guests. We look forward to your return visit.

Penetanguishene, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Harbour House with my husband for two nights. We chose the Harbour House based on the recent overwhelmingly positive reviews. I think that had our expectations not been so high, we may have enjoyed our stay more. There wasn't one big thing, but several little things that made out stay feel more "meh" than "amazing luxury...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zip556
Jamie D, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It sounded like your specific request was not met on our side based on your reservation. I'm very pleased we were able to rectify the request quickly. We get many specific requests and we do try and meet all of them ( we usually can ) so I am glad this worked out. We hope...

ann arbor, mi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just finished writing a review for an adventure I had in Romania and started reading reviews by someone else about Romania and then followed her reviews elsewhere because she seemed to appreciate the same sorts of lodgings as I do and voila! She reviewed the Harbour House where I had totally forgotten I had stayed during the summer we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silverfoxAA
Jessica V, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks @silverfoxAA for your awesome review. I'm so happy to hear everything with your stay was perfect... especially the power! ;) We hope you make your back here soon for another visit!

near Toronto
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in Niagara on the Lake a number of times. We used a travelzoo special to stay one night on a Sunday. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room large and comfortable with a large jetted tub. The added bonus, we didn't know about, was an evening wine and cheese from 4-5. Thank you! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Face1234
Jessica V, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

@Face1234, thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the property so cozy! It's hard not feel right at home, especially by the fire with a glass of wine. I hope we are able to welcome you back soon!!

Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only one night prior to visiting a colleague and his facility. Very nice room, decorated nicely, with fireplace and a view of the harbor. Free shuttle to and from our dinner reservation. Comfortable bed. We will return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BadKtty
Jessica V, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

BadKtty, thank you for your review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us & your plans on returning!! The shuttle service is a wonderful amenity we offer our guests, and I am glad to see you were able to take advantage of it. Hope to see you soon!

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited for the 3rd time on the 19th Feb with two other couples. We love this place. Service as always first rate. The rooms make you feel special. Stayed in #203 and it was gorgeous. The wine and cheese reception and the breakfast buffet are wonderful. Staff assisted with dinner reservation at the Charles Hob Nob and even shuttled us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmc245
Jessica V, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words pmc245! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed not only your beautiful room, wine & cheese reception but breakfast as well!! They are all definitely guest favorites. Isn't the cheese spread addicting?! I look forward to welcoming you all back here very soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Decent room, nice bathroom, outdated decorations. Elevator reeked of cigarette smoke. Parking was challenging with less spaces available for the number of guests staying at the property this particular weekend. Biggest complaint was the lack of hot water. We didn't mention anything to the hotel staff on the first morning since we thought the lack of hot water was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
Jessica V, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Matt T, I'd like to begin by thanking you for taking the time to review our property! I do apologize for the lack of hot water throughout your stay. Upon being made aware of the problem, we immediately had Maintenance take a look, and there was in fact an issue with a valve on one of the hot water tanks....

Toronto
Reviewed February 15, 2017

We stayed for one night here with out dog, on Valentine's Day. They have two dog-friendly rooms. From the moment we arrived, we loved this hotel and its staff. Check-in was seamless. Our room was lovely. So quiet. We never heard another guest and the hotel was busy. The bed was heaven and the pillows and duvet among the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaraFromToronto
J_Vipari, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

MaraFromToronto, I am so happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay, especially Samson! Our team loves welcoming our pet friends and we do our best to make them feel just as welcomed as their owners! I am glad you hear you were able to enjoy our wine & cheese reception as well as all the other amenities the hotel...

Tillsonburg, Canada
Reviewed February 14, 2017

From the moment you walk through the front door, you know this is a special place. The staff is friendly and helpful, the ambiance one of warmth and peacefulness. Unlike the big hotels, the rooms maintain the lobby's look and feel. Our rooms have been comfortable and very well equipped. We've stayed here a couple times and most certainly will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randall W
Jamie D, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. We pride ourselves on a home away from home feeling with a lot of comfort mixed in. Great to hear your a returning guest, and look forward to you returning soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

390 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (278)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (97)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Premium Queen Room (30)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $162 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Harbour House Hotel staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed in room 302 which looked out on the street but was very quiet. It was a good size with a full bathroom with jetted tub.”
 of 5 bubbles Face1234, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a harbour view.”
 of 5 bubbles BadKtty, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms are large and none will disapoint”
 of 5 bubbles pmc245, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Take a shower early!”
 of 5 bubbles matttG8280TJ, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“So far, we've always had a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles rgwhitecan, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question