We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Prince of Wales

Booking.com$207*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$283*
$207*
$283*
$207*
$283*
$207*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Prince of Wales
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Prince of Wales
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,594: English reviews
Toronto
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here for a weekend away to just relax, we upgraded to a suite. It ended up being in the building beside the main building. It was down a couple stairs kind of in the basement, the room itself was nice but our view was of people's feet walking by on the street. I was have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suntanto
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear Suntanto, Thank you for taking the time write a review. I truly appreciate reading the feedback from our guests. Congratulations on you big win a the casino! I am please to hear you enjoyed our wine trolley tour, it is very popular with our guests. The tour is available twice daily and gives our guest the opportunity to learn...

Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and I went this weekend, the food was amazing. The hotel stay was well above what we had expected. We went to the spa. I had a 80 minute therapeutic massage with (charity). She was amazing. I did not expect a spa to have therapists like her. We lived our stay and would recommend the hotel and spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bramptriley
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear Bramptriley, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It was wonderful to hear that your expectations were exceeded, this is our goal for all our valued guests. I am so pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy a wonderful massage and I will share your very high praise with...

Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The Prince of Wales, a historic hotel in Niagara on the Lake, was lovingly restored in 1999. Located on the main street of the prettiest town in Canada, and arguably in North America. Located a shot walking distance to all the Shaw Festival Theatre's. The afternoon tea in the conservatory is especially lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cuba1947
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear cuba1947, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I would have to agree with you.... we are located on the prettiest street in Canada! Our central location makes it convenient to walk to all of the wonderful shops, restaurants and theatre in town or we do offer a complimentary shuttle. With all of the...

Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed August 24, 2014

A tired, staid, past-it's-prime hotel that charges far more than it delivers. The HVAC systems are loud and unable to cool the hallways. They call a patio the 'balcony'. They charge 5-star rates but provide only 2-star value. Parking is free but they charge a $15/day 'resort' fee and they'll even charge you $1 for a local call to confirm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert B
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear Robert B, Thank you for taking the time to share the details from your recent visit to the Prince of Wales Hotel. I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was disappointing and did not meet your expectations. At the Prince of Wales we continually strive to exceed our guest's personal service standards and it is important to us...

Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I came to Prince of Wales for a business event in April 2014 and I can't say enough good things about it! I coordinated every component of this event from CT and the hotel contacts made everything seamless. Heather, Juan, Hazel, Bobbie, and then some were absolutely amazing and no matter what, always made every effort to accommodate me and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mc23love
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear MC23love, Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. I was very pleased to hear your meetings were a success! I appreciate you taking the time to mention our staff by name, as this is what inspires them to do what they do best! I am glad to hear you enjoyed our nightly turndown service , just one of...

maple, ontario
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have never visited Niagara-on-the-Lake before; I can't imagine why we waited so long to go there, especially since we don't live more than 1&1/2 hours away. My husband and I booked one night at the Prince of Wales to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated. The hotel is situated at the centre of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timnadia
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear Timnadia, Happy 20th Anniversary! Thank you for choosing the Prince of Wales to celebrate such a special occasion. It sounds like your stay was everything you hoped for and I am so pleased you took the time to share it with us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our local...

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Good- the hotel was beautifully decorated and the pool, exercise room, and sauna were all clean and well maintained. The service was very good - I talked to the front desk several times for places to eat and where to go. Lastly, the rooms were averaged sized, but the bathrooms were luxurious. Bad - the dining room was expensive (it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LGar7
Toronto
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Spent a Saturuday night at the Pof W this weekend. Been there is the past many times. Firstly the reservation was incorrect and we were left with a room with double beds not the king requested - apparently no kings left when we checked in. Given that this was our wedding anniversary - we were not pleased. Front desk seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Yell0wBird
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear YellOwBird, Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. I truly regret to learn the details of your experience, as this is certainly not the typical level of service we provide at the Prince of Wales Hotel. I would value the opportunity to discuss these issues further with you. Please feel free to contact me directly anytime. Kind Regrads,...

Whitby, Canada
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just returned from a four day offsite meeting in Niagara on the Lake and wanted to thank the entire staff for an amazing stay. The rooms are some of the best we have stayed in and the ambiance and old world charm the hotel offers is second to none. We had dinner each night at the Prince and it's sister...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Dear Jay, Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your experience at the Prince of Wales Hotel. I will pass on all of your wonderful comments to the staff, as this is what inspires them everyday to provide the best service possible. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed dining at our sister properties and found the...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I had heard a lot about this hotel and was not able to stay there in earlier trips as it was booked up. Well, this time I got a room and was a little disappointed. Although the architecture outside is charming the decor inside was overloaded with "fake" paintings and lacked warmth. Strangely for a hotel of this stature, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fussy4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

596 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (582)
Viewed
Room/Suite (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (221)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,427 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,937 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
908 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Escabeche
Escabeche
Cuisines: French, Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $250 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Prince of Wales staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Prince of Wales staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Each room is private and makes you feel safe!”
dconcordia, 1 week ago | Read review
“They are all good, but I prefer the rooms in the main building. But we've stayed in the other buildings and loved their spaciousness.”
jtdukes, 1 week ago | Read review
“Sound can carry into the rooms from the hallways so you may wish to ask for a room that is located towards the end of the hall”
SFKSAW, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We requested and preferred the main building. The hotel owns several adjacent properties. Check to see what is available for your time frame”
Dawnervf, Apr 21, 2017 | Read review
“A ground floor would be great when the weather is nice. Patio doors open to the street.”
DCanadian, Apr 3, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$207* /night
View Deal
Priceline$207
TripAdvisor$207
Hotwire.com$283
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates