We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Save
Share
6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$138
Travelocity$138
Hotels.com$138
Trip.com$145
Tripadvisor$138
Priceline$138
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2209)
Room & Suite (592)
Dining (20)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 10/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 125 hotels in Niagara Falls
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.7
Value
3.6
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Parking garage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Hindi, Korean and 1 more
7186Reviews57Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,160
  • 2,100
  • 1,281
  • 811
  • 835
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Safari186232 wrote a review Yesterday
Rochester, New York1 contribution
We spent a lot of money to stay at this hotel and there was nothing nice about it. We stayed on the 2nd floor, the halls are dingy and dirty. The room was clean but the bathroom had formica counters and fake tile on the walls. The bathroom drain was rusty. Their was a fireplace in the room that we couldn’t turn on. The switch didn’t work.it turned on lights not the fireplace. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls and the tv was not even mounted straight on the wall. They claim it was remodeled and it was not. The sauna didn’t work. We always stay at the Hilton but thought we would try this for $60 cheaper and we are so disappointed we did. Hilton Fallsview is so much nicer. Do not stay here No refrigerator in room and the ice machine was located two floors up. When I went to get ice their was two bags of garbage in the ice room that were just lying on the floor. It really was not a pleasant experience. We did have a jacuzzi in the room and that worked ok. When I checked out they didn’t even ask how our stay was.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: I think the higher floors have been remodeled. Don’t stay on floor 2 or 3
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ricky M wrote a review Sep 23
1 contribution
Great location literally 2minutes walk to Fallsview casini. The room was your typical double bed room. Very outdated and small tv( I got an affordable room on the second floor so not complaining) very sketchy and felt like a maze lol. I swear people live there I heard and see so many people on the 2nd floor (not travellers) The room was clean but I did my own cleaning with lysol wipes and spray. It was super cold in the room I was freezing.. this is why its 3 stars for me. Check in was easy even with the smart remark of the “front desk worker” quoting “ you got a room with no view,great!. I just prayed for her afterwards. Overall great location. The food is so expensive!!!! Went to starbucks for a coffee and was told it was $5.90 for a coffee! Timmy”s got my $2.50 today. I will brew my own coffee with these prices
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Amshelley wrote a review Sep 15
Kent, United Kingdom169 contributions35 helpful votes
Friendly helpful staff, comfortable beds & an incredible view from the 14th floor. Rooms ok but need an overhaul. Very dusty. You just pay for the view plus an extra $40 for parking. More care & attention needed & it could be amazing. Would I return? Probably not
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking expensive No coffee in rooms Tiny towels
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Christina wrote a review Sep 13
Bartow, Florida312 contributions49 helpful votes
My husband convenience us to book this place because their was 5 us & this hotel has a bi-level room that could accommodate all of us in one place. The way the hotel is located this has to be the best view. This hotel has a variety of packages deal. Voucher to the Falls casino, breakfast to Applebees, beer, spirits sampling & dinner at restaurants. Those alone were good deals. Which we used most them parking is the cheapest out the other 2 hotels that claimed they have a views. This hotel is the only onsite parking The lobby is small, their is no coffee machine in the room, or a safe. Maid services does not come to the room everyday. We were fine by that. The room did have a decent size refrigerator. The upstairs room faces the street & across is a restaurant called My Cousin Vinny. You can hear the live music at night. When you go downstairs you can’t hear it & you have a spectacular view of the falls. We were on the 14 th floor. I over herd someone say they were on the 9th floor their view was amazing. The bathroom is huge. At one point we clog the bathroom. 4 female & 1 male. The maintenance guys came right away, fix it, & brought us towel. I was super nervous about this hotel not going to lie. I see that Mr. Rachit read these review. I even tired reaching out to him in advance because I was really nervous. No luck. When I was in the lobby getting more towels I was having a conversation with this British lady. She said her towel we thin & she wasn’t impressed with the hotel. I told her that I already knew all about the bad reviews in advance. She said well I am from England & I told I am from Florida. Like so! Do your researcher in advance & take a chance. If you are booking the room for the fall view then ok but if you’re not then book air bnb. Or another hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Park your car at the casino. We parked the car for 4 day. When we left we only paid $35.00 bs $45...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John A wrote a review Sep 8
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed here for 1 night with my wife and had the most pleasant stay barring a minor hiccup during checkin. I had booked a king suite overlooking falls room.. However when i reached the front desk there seem to be some confusion regarding the booking as they could not locate it. The manager and front desk were very cordial and manager took care of this issue by upgrading me to a bi-level room #1430 which is the corner most room with a beautiful view of the Horseshoe falls and the US falls. We were very pleased to get the room with no hassle after a tiring long drive from NJ and a UOT college dorm check in for one of our relatives kid. Location is great.. we walked to the falls at night with no issues and clicked some great pics. Free Coffee is available at the front desk at all times and the staff were really nice and cordial. OVerall great experience even though I was not expecting it. Parking (in/out) is $40 which i found a bit steep but compared to other hotels in the vicinity this is still cheap. Good thing is that they let you keep the vehicle till 1pm on the day of checkout - enough to do some sight seeing and lunch before travelling back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Room Tip: Best view of both the falls - Room 1430
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the fantastic view from your Fallsview room. We hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joye wrote a review Sep 8
Dubai, United Arab Emirates1 contribution
The hotel has amazing views of the Falls, however, I did not stay due to the room being filthy with a hair band, pieces of cereal, dust, stains on floor and furniture. I certainly wasn't going to sleep in the sheets. I spoke with the manager and requested another room, which was equally as dirty. I understand that the hotel is under new management so needs to improve greatly. I felt sad for the manager who must receive similar complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. I apologize about the housekeeping issues in your room. Please do get in touch with me directly so I can get some more information and resolve the issues pertaining to the room you stayed in.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grant S wrote a review Aug 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia405 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
From the moldy air-conditioning, to the wallpaper falling off. The leaking bath, the rubbish in the passage, the broken beds lying around. The curtains held together with clips. This is one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. Had to edit the review as the place is just awful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book somewhere else, it's nothing like the photos.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 2 weeks ago
I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. While we strive to make every stay fantastic, we sometimes fall short. 100% guest satisfaction is our goal and we will work diligently to improve the areas you have mentioned.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark S wrote a review Aug 2022
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada2 contributions6 helpful votes
Room was very outdated, Toilet did not flush, Furniture was old and not wiped down, No COFFEE Maker in Room, not in any rooms according to staff due to Covid, However the rooms were not at all disinfected and they removed the coffee makers to prevent spread of Covid ?? Room was on 21st floor and no room in front of window for 2 chairs, Def not worth the $740 for one night, my impression is this place is only a money grab, Staff were nice, Hotel and Management need to be updated, I have stayed at the other hotels on Fallsview blvd that are far superior to this one Mark Smith Sault Ste Marie Ont
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. While we strive to make every stay fantastic, we sometimes fall short. We are regularly updating the hotel so I hope we can make your next stay truly fantastic.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sheena s wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
THEY TOOK MY MONEY and didnt give me a room. I booked through Expedia. When I got to the hotel they had maintenance issues and were unable to give me a room. They tried to send me to a different hotel, which is not what i wanted. They refused to cancel and refund me. I have been dealing with the Oaks and Expedia to have this resolved and no one can or will help me. Im very upset. To the manager Rachit: please respond to me. I have tried calling many times. People hang up and no one helps. I do not trust this horrible establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls! I believe we have already resolved your billing issue in question. Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any other questions.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynne1964 wrote a review Aug 2022
Barrie ON55 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
We booked this hotel in April, they changed our package multiple times! When arrived, we loaded the cart and took the elevator to our floor, we could not find our room. We talked to housekeeping and were told we we were in the economy section…cost for room was $350!!! We could not take the cart as there were stairs! Room was very old, ripped and torn curtains, bed was so old my husband sat on it and rolled off! I called front desk and asked for a different room. We were moved to main tower. Room still does not look like photos! Holes in the wall, damaged furniture, top sheet over duvet not cover over duvet..linen shortage? Key card didn’t work, housekeeping got us in, tried to call front desk and phone didn’t work! They brought us up a new key, I asked them if this room was worth $350? Answer was no mam. We discovered our package changed again! We had made reservations at restaurant that was part of package, but it was no longer in the package!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay here!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I also apologize for the confusion you experienced with the changes in the package deal. While we strive to make every stay fantastic, we sometimes fall short. 100% guest satisfaction is our goal and we will work diligently to improve the areas you have mentioned. I hope you give us another chance to show you that we do care about our guest experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$97 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oakes hotel overlooking falls, oakes hotel niagara falls
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNiagara Falls
NUMBER OF ROOMS
237
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Which popular attractions are close to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Nearby attractions include Niagara Falls Canada (0.2 miles), Horseshoe Falls (0.2 miles), and Journey Behind the Falls (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milestones, Il Gelato di Carlotta Niagara Falls, and Morton's Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Hindi, Korean, and Ukrainian.
Are there any historical sites close to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lundy's Lane Battlefield (0.9 miles), Chippawa Battlefield Park (3.5 miles), and Toronto Power Generating Station (0.7 miles).
Does Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.