We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hamilton Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hamilton Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 10: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Hamilton's guesthouse for three nights. The hosts were very devoted, welcoming and helpful. They really helped me make my stay in Hamilton as good as it gets. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. It was very quiet and relaxing but close enough to a lot of bars and restaurants for those who want to stay up... More 

Helpful?
Thank el_onorew2016
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate it, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay in Hamilton. More 

Haley Station, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

I spent a couple of weeks at the hostel during the 2015 Pan Am Games. I had my own room in the basement which was quiet and close to the kitchen, laundry room and washrooms. The hostel location is ideal since it is close to bus stops, downtown and there is also a convenience store nearby. Bicycles are available which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo-anne C
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Hamilton, and hope you come back again sometime. More 

Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

I spent 2 nights at the guesthouse and I liked it. Close to city center, free breakfast, nice room and living room, free bikes to go to the waterfalls, quite cheap. I'd recommend for globetrotters like me!

Helpful?
Thank tilunatik
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, and we're really glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I stayed at HGH while apartment hunting in Hamilton. Everybody was friendly and I experienced zero problems. I stayed in the dorm to save money and there were no issues with anything. I could ask anybody if I needed help with anything and there was a large assortment of tea and coffee onsite which was really convenient. There's a little... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis F
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! It’s great to hear that your stay was so pleasant. Our staff always enjoys putting together a movie night. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This hostel was dirty, unorganised and in a very bad location in town. When arriving the room I had booked had been booked out twice so ended up being put in a different room which had no air con or fan and was super noisy from the road. One night when coming back there was a random person on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joscelyn T
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

I’m sorry your experience was so unpleasant. The only explanation that I can offer is that you arrived a day earlier than your booked arrival date, and therefore there was no room for you. The room you booked was our shared dormitory, which is perhaps not what you were expecting. We always encourage our guests to inform staff if there... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We stayed here in August 2014. Firstly we arrived and paid in cash, the right amount which I was told online. But when it came to showing us to our room, we found we had been put in a dorm of 4. We had specifically booked a twin room as we were travelling for the start of term at university.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah P
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

That certainly does sound like a shambles, and I can only apologize profusely. The mix-up in your reservation was (mercifully for us, though I imagine it makes no difference to you) unique - it came through on our system as a dormitory booking rather than a private room. From there, it seems that things snowballed and your experience went from... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I stayed in the downstairs single bedroom for couples called the potter room. It had a double bed which was nice, it was also secluded from the rest of the guests which I liked because the other guests seemed rather strange. Getting to the point, I arrived thursday. When I awoke friday morning I had a series of small bites... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon D
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there. I would like to assure you that we have neither fleas nor bedbugs, and that we take these allegations very seriously. Our rooms are meticulously inspected between guests, and we take many measures to ensure that there is no chance of pests. Furthermore, our bedding is always washed, so the source of the smell you experienced is not... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We contacted Hamilton Guest House via email and Tanya replied very friendly. She explained everything very well and was honest with us about how transport was kind of hard and other inconveniences of the matter. Also, when we told her that we didn't feel comfortable with giving out our credit card information, she understood and she was ok with payment... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to review. We’re sorry you found us less than you expected on arrival - we always try our best to be as helpful as possible. Perhaps there was some strange event going on, but the online information for our nearest grocery store is that it is indeed open on Sundays. Our staff does... More 

Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hamilton Guesthouse is one of those rare unexpected pleasant surprises you once every so often come across in life.From the very accommodating owners Tim and Tanya to the helpful staff Tom and Wayne, they cannot do enough to help make your stay a most comfortable experience.You are within walking distance of downtown or you can use the bicycles supplied for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda R
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! More 

Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I actually live in Hamilton but have a small apartment. When I have guests coming to visit I stay in the HGH with my guests! I've stayed in Hostels all over the world and the HGH has that great "road trip" feel of staying in a Hostel far, far away. The folks who run it are so helpful and fun... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ingelbert L
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - you know we always love to see you here! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#13 of 20 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton
Visitors Inn
#5 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hamilton Guesthouse is Hamilton, Ontario's first and only backpackers' hostel. We opened in 2010 in a small location and in 2012 we moved to the Pring House. This beautiful limestone mansion is heritage listed and showcases wonderful 19th Century features. We are a few blocks from the heart of downtown, a very short walk, and steps away from the nearest bus stop. We are also within a few blocks of a grocery store and other markets, restaurants and a large park. Hamilton Guesthouse has several different rooms. First, our four-bed mixed dormitory, which will cost travellers $25 per bed per night, in bunk beds in a very large room. Next, the Henrietta room is a private room; large and bright, with a double bed and costs $60 per night. Lastly, we have three similar private rooms: the Potter room, the Faust room, and the Gawain room - each cost $40 per night and have a double bed. The hostel has heating and air conditioning throughout, ensuring a comfortable stay. We have a back courtyard with sitting area and barbecue. Guests are free to smoke outside, as there is no smoking inside. There are two on-site parking spots, and room in our backyard for sheltered bicycle parking. We have plenty of maps and tourist guides, and our staff are always willing to help out in any way we can. We also offer the following services and features:- Full Self Catering kitchen with stove and microwave.-NO lockout or curfew- FREE wifi Internet access throughout the hostel-FREE parking (limited availability- call ahead)-FREE linens and towels provided- FREE secure lockers available to all guests.- FREE tea and coffee-FREE local phone calls- Comfortable common room for guests to socialize.-Library fully stocked with maps, travel guides, reading material. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hamilton Guesthouse

Address: 158 Mary St | 137 Victoria Ave N, Hamilton, Ontario L8L 4V8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Downtown Hamilton
Price Range: $18 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamilton Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hamilton Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Guesthouse Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay