We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Horseshoe Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Horseshoe Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

672 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Horseshoe Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 668: English reviews
Louisville
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

We were here for a conference and it was a great place to have it. I am hoping that we come to the conference again this year, partially because of the nice facilities. My room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and well appointed. It looked like what I picture when I think of a ski resort room. We were here in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LouieBiz-com
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Big thanks for taking the time to post a business review of Deerhurst! Glad you enjoyed the accommodation, dining and venues during your meeting. Horseshoe Resort offers an ideal destination and conference facility for any occasion. Our meeting and event spaces can accommodate everything from an intimate boardroom to an elegant dinner. Hopefully, we can welcome you back for a... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

A wonderful resort. Great Beds, so comfortable. The pool and hot tub are in beautiful shape. So nice to visit for a dip in the morning! Room Service menu as well. A truly wonderful experience! We didn't try it, but they also have a golf course on the hotel grounds and many cool attractions near by.

Helpful?
2 Thank 955mellissal
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments & posting a review. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences so we can celebrate our successes, recognize our colleagues and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. We are glad you plan on returning and look forward to welcoming you! More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

I have to say this is my first time writing a review and I wish it could be on a more positive note. Let me start off with a couple of positive points. Positive: The pool, its one of the best in the area. I've stayed at Carriage Hills and Ridge and this by far the best! and the open... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tea P
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and the compliments on our rejuvenation of the indoor pool. Since this project was completed, we have been receiving very positive feedback from our guests. We sincerely apologize that our housekeeping team missed an important step while cleaning your room. This is not the norm or level of service we are known to provide.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We moved to Canada in 2012, and have been skiing at horseshoe since the 2012-13 winter. We have always found the snow in great condition, the people who work there are incredibly friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is always friendly too, which is a nice change from some of the other skiing resorts in the area where people can have... More 

Helpful?
Thank aldawes
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your skiing experiences at Horseshoe Resort. We are indeed fortunate to have the caliber of employees we have as you noted in your review. It will be my pleasure to pass along your comments to our team as this kind of feedback means a great deal to us all. We hope that... More 

Thornhill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We booked one night at Horseshoe Valley since there was a web special, $200 for a 2 bedrm suite for the last day of March break, which seems quite reasonable. Check in was fast. Room was a bit dated, but big. However, for some reasons, the AC unit was set on Cool which was strange. There was 2 bathrooms which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JCThornhill
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to spend a night with us at Horseshoe Resort! I am pleased to read of the positive experiences and your personal recognition of Alexis for delivering great service. We will ensure she is recognized via our formal employee recognition program. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced in your room and that some items were... More 

Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We spent the first half of March Break, at Horseshoe Valley Resort. My parents are Skyline members, so we stayed in the Condos on the 5th floor. We had units 505 and 504. Both condos were completely renovated and gorgeous. I will say, however that the pull out couches were unbelievably uncomfortable. I could feel every spring in my back... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MascaraGeek
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your renovated accommodation and ski getaway over March Break at Horseshoe Resort and appreciate the time you have taken to share you feedback as we continue to monitor our customers' thoughts, comments and feedback in order to adjust our operations and communication. We want you to know that each year we invest a considerable amount... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 via mobile

My family went for 3 days mid week and although the place was bustling with business every staff member greeted us with enthusiasm and professionalism The line ups for the lifts were quick and the hills well groomed For a treat we went to Senses for a fancy dinner the first night that did not disappoint The entrees were out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HighclereC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try! We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We are indeed fortunate to have the caliber of employees we have as you noted in your review - especially our kitchen brigade in Silks Dining Lounge & Crazy Horse Restaurant . It will be my... More 

Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

A group of 6 went here to celebrate a 40th Anniversary. It was a change of pace for all. We all enjoyed watching people ski, and tube. They had a nice pool, that would have been more enjoyable if some people had made their children, not jump off the wall between sitting pool and swimming pool. This was clearly posted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We definitely recommend you come back to enjoy our summer season. Our resort offers a variety of activities from Mini Golf, Large Outdoor Maze to TreeTop Trekking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Golf and more. We look forward to return! More 

Richmond Hill, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Let me start by saying that i never write reviews and am not much of a complainer but this is beyond words. We checked in on Friday, March 13 without a problem as we arrived later in the evening. The next morning i went to the washroom only to have the access panel from the ceiling fall right on top... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Canadiana905
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

As the safety and well-being of our guests is a priority for us we appreciate you bringing this to our attention and apologize that our staff were not more responsive to your concerns on site. Our Executive Office has direct messaged you via TripAdvisor in order to gain additional information so we can investigate your concerns and personally offer an... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Several glitches At the hotel which could be overlooked if the customer service hadn't been so bad. Complete power outage losing us a day of skiing - wouldn't even give a late check out the next day so that we could store our stuff and get changed after our replacement day skiing in some comfort for the drive home. Offered... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Rkbull
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was impacted by the power outage, which was out of the resorts control. I am pleased to read that our team did extend a replacement day of skiing and sorry we were not in a position to extend a late check out due to arriving guests. Ultimately your stay should have been a seamless one.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

285 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (162)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (103)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Double Queen Horseshoe Room (25)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrie
12.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
13.6 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
14.9 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There's 4 seasons of adventure waiting for you at Horseshoe Resort, only one hour north of Toronto. Whether you're here for family fun, an inspired meeting at our Conference Centre or a romantic getaway, there's a whole world of things to do. Imagine 26 Alpine ski and snowboard runs, 35 kms of groomed double track set Nordic trails, terrain park with over 20 features, two full championship golf courses, three restaurants, Shizen Spa, hot tubs, saunas, Segway Off-road Adventures, Yamaha Riding Adventures, Advenuture Buggie Tours, Treetop Trekking, Horseback riding, Hummer Tours, indoor and outdoor pool, fitness facilities and weekly classes, a 10 acre driving range, putting green, hiking and biking trails through the breathtaking Copeland Forest, Kids Korral and the Horseshoe Adventure Park! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horseshoe Resort

Address: 1101 Horseshoe Valley Rd W, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Price Range: $137 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horseshoe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Horseshoe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Barrie
Horseshoe Resort Barrie, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay