We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mountain Trout Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ontario
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mountain Trout Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

All around great experience, very friendly and helpful attendants. Very clean cabins, great swimming spot, reasonable prices. Can't think of one thing to complain about. Well there as rather large spider on our cabin that was rather intimidating, but we survived.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will S
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this review

So happy you had such great fun! That is what Ron & I try to accomplish every day at our beautiful campground! It is such a pleasure to share it with it others! As far as the spiders go......... not liking them much myself, so the best thing to do each morning is take a broom and sweep around outside...

London, Canada
Reviewed September 20, 2016

I Went with friends to Mountain Trout Camp. We had such a great time. The view was spectacular, the campground was awesome. Everything was super clean. You couldn't ask for better hosts than Kathie and Ron.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jahaasen
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

This is by far the best campground my family and I have ever been too. Ron & Kathie run an amazing and well kept park. I highly recommend this park. The sites are private and a very good size. The main washrooms are extremely clean and even the out houses are very clean. Can't wait to go back in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana F
RonKathie, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this review

Thanks Dana for all the kind words!! We do like to keep a clean fun-filled park! It's people like you that make our job so enjoyable. We love sharing our our little piece of paradise with all! See you in October!

Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

Amazing campground. Staff were helpful and very friendly. The owners have created a place that fits both budget and the need to "get away from it all". Our kids enjoyed the freedom to bike and meet new friends. The water park was amazing and hours were spent in the water. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GregLeanne S
RonKathie, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for the great review, our greatest enjoyment is seeing the children have lots of fun and entertained to the max! That way Mom & Dad get a little me time together! Hopefully we will see you again next year!

Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Shaymar's Shalet for a 4 nights stay. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. It was perfect. The bed and pull out couches aren't the most comfortable but we expected that. We will bring foam next time.Everyone there is so friendly and helpful. Very quiet campground. Can't wait to go back next year!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa L
RonKathie, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the excellent review! I guess we will have to take some better pictures of Shaymar's Shalay! You will be most welcome to come back next year!

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed July 18, 2016

Just returned from a weekend at Mountain Trout Camp. I was lucky enough to secure a camp site on a very busy weekend after contacting several campgrounds who wouldn't let me book less then a 2 night stay. When I emailed MTC at 10pm one week before, Kathie was quick to email me back and let me know they would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DevrieO
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We just returned home from this camp and i just had to write a review as soon as i could. This is an amazing camp for families, we were a group of 5 adults and 4 kids and everyone had such a great time. The floating play structure on the water was by far the kids favorite thing to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cacole82
Tottenham
Reviewed July 15, 2016

We were just backpackers passing through, and they treated us very well. Ron and Kathy have found their calling, they are the ultimate hosts of a beautiful campground. I look forward to going back, when there is time to sit by the lake. Thank you! Your kindness was appreciated!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurene C
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed September 22, 2015

We stayed 11 nights at Mountain Trout Camp. Very clean, well maintained campground. The owners were friendly. The dock and the star gazing at night was simply amazing. We even saw the northern lights a couple of times. I would definitely recommend staying here. We had a terrific time.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kamie D
crouton33, Social Media Manager at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this review

Thanks Kamie for the review and the mention of the Northern Lights. That's definitely something we don't have too much control of but we're glad you were able to experience them.

Toronto
Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

We normally don't camp at private parks due to lack of privacy however due to Bruce National Parks lack of hookups we decided to give MTC a try. The park was great and had full hookups (electric water and sewer). The over night sites at MTC are better than most provincial/national parks in terms of privacy. The over night sites...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank t0r0nt0_traveller_76
crouton33, Social Media Manager at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your review. As an update on the cell phones. A Rogers Tower is expected to be installed in our area sometime in November of 2015. As for the WiFi, we're also in the process of updating this. Thanks again for letting us know.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ontario hotels
1.5 mi away
Dreamland II Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Summer House Park
Summer House Park
#1 of 2 in Miller Lake
93 reviews
183.9 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
184.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
344.5 mi away
No photo provided
Select Inn
#1 of 1 in Manitouwadge
7 reviews
117.7 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
#2 of 2 in Oxtongue Lake
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mountain Trout Campground, 25 minutes from Tobermory, Ontario. The campground is located on Gillies Lake (Northern Bruce Peninsula). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Trout Camp

Address: 60 Dalys Rd | RR #1, Ontario N0H 1Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario
Number of rooms: 1
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Trout Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“this is a campground”
 of 5 bubbles LaureneC, Jul 15, 2016 | Read review
“Site F2 was a bit small but cozy.”
 of 5 bubbles KamieD_13, Sep 22, 2015 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question