We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Priceline$99*
View Deal
#10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$150*
$99*
$150*
$100*
$150*
$99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,103: English reviews
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed March 22, 2017

Great place to stay next time you're in town. Rooms were clean and the view of the water was great. It was quiet and the staff was friendly. I will be staying here again when I go back May 2017 for my next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charyn989
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Charyn989 - thank you for your review of Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in May 2017!

Brooklyn
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed here for two nights and were very disappointed. The staff were not friendly (except for one foreign man), no one smiled or tried to make conversation. We had to ask multiple times for a playpen and towels to be brought to our room. The front desk should inform people that the pool towels are located in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenmN9562ZK
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review

StephenmN9562ZK - Thank you for taking the time to review Chocolate Lake Hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

Room was clean and comfortable. Nice view of the lake as well. The floor we were on was super quiet too Breakfast was included and it was really good. There were lots of things to choose from. Pool and hot tub were really busy and loud! Overall it is a nice affordable place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carrie S
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Carrie S - thank you so much for your review of Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Reviewed February 14, 2017

The hotel is conveniently located, the staff are friendly and helpful, the room is clean and well appointed. BUT, the bed sagged noticeably and I didn't get any sleep. My spouse, on the other hand, slept like a log right in the middle of the bed. I think the number one most important thing to find in your hotel room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George L
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review

George L - thank you for taking the time to review Chocolate Lake Hotel. I am having our team check the bed in the room you stayed in to see if a replacement is in order! Everyone has different bed preferences but we certainly don't want a bed sagging in the middle! We appreciate you letting us know and hope...

Coldbrook, Canada
Reviewed February 13, 2017

My family and I stayed here during a Cheer competition beginning of February. We love this hotel and prefer to stay here when we visit Halifax. It is close to Exhibition Park, and shopping. Pleasant staff and always an easy check in and out. The buffet is excellent especially over looking the lake. Rooms are always clean, quiet and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bfly217
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Bfly217 - Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that we are your favorite place to stay while visiting Halifax. We hope that we have the oppourtunity to welcome you back again.

Thorburn, Canada
Reviewed February 12, 2017

We love staying at this hotel, especially when we can get a good price for it. No complaints! French fries in the restaurant were the best I've had in a long time. And I think very hotel should have a pet! Loved meeting Aero!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carleigh S
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Carleigh S - Thank you so much for your review of Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel! I have to agree with you those - those handcut fries are amazing! Glad you had the chance to meet our new pup Aero. We hope to welcome you back again.

Edmundston, Canada
Reviewed February 2, 2017

I always stay there whan we do Saltscapes Expo in April and we love the place. it's convenient and close to Downtown Halifax, near shopping malls and restaurants. Staff are friendly! I do recommend this hotel if your going on business or with family.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jobg2013
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Jobg013 - thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear you enjoy our convienient location and hope to see you again during Saltscapes 2017!

Saint John, Canada
Reviewed January 27, 2017

My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel in March and it was a very nice hotel, when we first checked in the women at the desk was very, very kind to us. The other staff members that worked there were very nice to us as well!! The breakfast was great, all of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NJMM25
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review

NJMM25 - Thank you for the review of Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

When I arrived to the front desk on the 24th I tried checking In with my dog. Hotel is dog friendly which is great. However, wasn't efficient in obtaining the correct information and pulled someone else's information for me to sign only after I caught the mistake. The failure with the hotel computer I guess left the only other option...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r3ddoberman
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review

R3ddoberman - Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests...

Bridgewater, Canada
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Married couple from outside Metro had to be in town for personal appts. in mid-January 2017. Have stayed here before averaging two or three times a year for similar reasons, sometimes shopping, sometimes shows. Can honestly say I can't ever remember a problem arising. Without going into detail I will say that parking, check in, rooms, rec facilities, staff everywhere,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick B
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Patrick B - thank you so much for your wonderful review of Chocolate Lake Hotel! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our team hopes to welcome you back again in the future!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

202 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Address: 250 St Margarets Bay Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: $100 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a room with a lake view.”
ivanf883, 1 week ago | Read review
“Lake side is a pretty view”
charyn989, Mar 22, 2017 | Read review
“Top floor is quiet and has a nice view.”
georgelT3465QS, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“Top floor over looking the lake is best.”
Bfly217, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“The best view is probably on the top floor!”
NJMM25, Jan 27, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Priceline
$99* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com$100
TripAdvisor$99
HotelQuickly$150
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates