We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Show Prices
#18 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 323: English reviews
Makkah Province, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the room is spacious with full kitchen (coffee machine and all cooking tools) the service is really great , lobby and breakfast area are small , the location is close to the down town as well as near the starbucks

Helpful?
Thank noura-r-h
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Little dad humour for you... We came to Halifax for the weekend, and couldn't have been happier with this hotel. The front desk is great, answered some questions about the area, and helped us out with parking. I don't think you will find a more central location in downtown Halifax for a better price. Around 5-10 minute walk to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily M
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came down on a weekend for a reception which was held at the Stubborn Goat. Thought we were being smart by booking a room in the hotel next door. However I had no idea that the hotel was right in the middle of the 'drinking district' for Halifax. By the time I found out, it was too late to... More 

Helpful?
Thank CherylAnn550
RIHManager, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

CherylAnn550, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. As we are located in the heart of downtown Halifax in the entertainment district it can sometimes be noisy. We do have several measures in place to try and limit the amount of noise that can sometimes be experienced however it is sometimes challenging as... More 

Beltsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 1 night, fortunately on the quiet side of the hotel (talked with people on the other side that said they couldn't sleep due to club noise). It's a typical RI, but the cabinet with the glasses in the kitchen is in a corner and I could only reach the second shelf . I'm average height for a woman... More 

Helpful?
Thank RuthMc
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel itself is just fine but I agree wholeheartedly with other reviews about the terrible noise and I do mean terrible. I like another reviewer had earplugs and noise machine and they didn't help a bit. They do allow pets which is nice and they have a laundry facility which I did use. The staff and people at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
RIHManager, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Nancy A, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate your feedback and will use it to help improve with in our organization. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced noise during your recent stay. As we are in the heart of the entertainment district it is sometimes hard to control but we... More 

Falmouth, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay if you are hard of hearing or stay up past 3 am on weekends. Unfortunately for this lovely hotel, the Toothy Moose bar across Argyl St will play offensively loud music until 3:30 am, which will reverberate all the way up to the 5th floor, through the window, a pillow, your earplugs, and the loudest noise... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy N
Jeff E, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Cathy N, First, thank you for your comments. Our downtown location, which is close to restaurants, bars, stores and other attractions does provide the hotel with challenges regarding exterior noise. Another factor was that the weekend you stayed with us, was also the return to school for many university students, which helped add to the late night noise that... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location, front desk staff, large remodeled room with full kitchen, all wonderful. My room was perfectly cleaned - I was impressed with the housekeeping service. My only criticism is the lack of cleanliness in the free "help yourself" breakfast experience. The plates, cups and cutlery were regularly dirty. At one point I even asked a fellow diner if they thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katyms
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A bar with a rooftop dance party and dj meant that sleep was impossible. We contacted the front desk and they did what they could but the party continued. If you don't want to sleep before the bars close you're fine, otherwise find someplace else to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Aileen M
Jeff E, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Aileen M, Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay. I am sorry to see that you had a less than enjoyable stay with us because of the noise coming from one of our neighbours. Being located in the heart of Halifax's growing entertainment district, which does place us within walking distance of many of the sights and... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the very helpful and friendly staff, to the lovely suite, complete with seating area and kitchen, our week at this hotel was perfect. The suite was large, comfortable, well-appointed and pristine. The sound proofing was very good. We didn't hear the other guests at all. On Friday and Saturday nights there was live music in local bars, so earplugs... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcfifi
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

Great location, easy walk to restaurants, city attractions. Our studio room with queen bed was comfortable, nice décor, clean, fully equipped kitchenette. The staff was friendly and there was no problem with an early check in. Nice social in the evening.

Helpful?
Thank meris55
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#2 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 stars 2,335 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Address: 1599 Grafton St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Price Range: $133 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Residence Inn
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Halifax
#13 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay