We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
West End, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice, quiet place to spend the night in a city. The gourmet breakfast was outstanding!! The owners, Katherine, Daniel and baby Victoria were very hospitable. We would definitely stay there again when in Halifax.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jsill_513073
Katherine S, Owner at Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review we enjoyed having you. More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gorgeous XIX century home. Great breakfast with great diversity of other guests making for pleasant conversations. My wife and I spent 5 nights in the Auditor's room with our 17-month daughter. Cathy went above and beyond to look after the young one and was always ready to help with anything we needed. We definitely recommend their home.

Helpful?
Thank cassiolcsampaio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I don't even know where to begin. First we were greeted by an extremely stoned owner, Danny. The home is dirty. Breakfast was bad. Parking sucks. When I saw the kitchen I immediately was turned off. Dirty dishes were piled all over the counters and in the sink. Food from that mornings breakfast was also all over the counter top.... More 

Helpful?
Thank bedofroses4d
Katherine S, Owner at Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay however most of your remarks here are untrue. You promised us a bad review when we refused to refund you money when you wanted to cancel part of your reservation after you arrived. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time in the east coast. Came across this B&B. Amazing hospitality and great breakfast. Great location. Rooms were spacious and clean. Lots of information and knowledge of the area Thanks Katherine and Dan!

Helpful?
Thank Mary Y
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first ever B and B. The first night in Halifax was at the Westin. Had we known how accomodating and homey the Ascendence was, our first night would also have been at the Ascendence. Thanks so much to Kathy and Dan ( and Victoria).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bmichi_861756
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Though we arrived last moment and unexpected , due sudden plan changing, Kasia managed to find a place for us (couple with 3 kids!) For what we are very grateful. The booking.com let us book the room with 2 beds, though it wasn't available in the B&B. Our room was nicely decorated. This is an old house,nevertheless its kept very... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank milestiba
Rockland, Ontario
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There were no water glasses or wine glasses in the room. Catherines' response that people don't use them is very weak. Besides there were none in the community stash of glasses. We did receive upon request. Their ice maker, which had been previously reported as broken was still broken. Being advised that we could go to a nearby store was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wegreaves9
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A classic old house that is comfortable, minutes from downtown. We found it to be pretty, our room was nice, it has a king bead and jacuzzi bath. We stayed 2 days, loved the waterfront, downtown, etc. Breakfast was wonderfully prepared, an omelette on the first day, crepes the next, served with fruit, yoghurt, juice, coffee. It was all great... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank walterr983
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes, the breakfast was nice and the setting was historic, but the owners need to learn to separate their personal lives from the business. I'm not going to complain about what was broken in the room, wifi that only worked in the hall or the lack of amenities in the bathroom -- those things can be easily fixed. What bothered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Expected faded grandeur but not peeing wallpaper and overgrown weedy garden. No air conditioning, old sash single pane windows. Can only park a small vehicle. While clean, the place was shabby and definitely not suitable for anyone with a physical disability - not made clear in the posting. We did not even stay when we realized it was totally unsuitable... More 

Helpful?
Thank valbul
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 stars 2,254 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxurious Victorian registered Heritage Property (c1981). Right in Halifax, by the harbour, only 5 km drive along the water to downtown. Deluxe two course Hot Breakfast, Parking, Wi-Fi, Laptop to use in room, Concierge, Kids Corner, Media room with small library and Business Corner -fax, printer, computer, local calls, Trip Planning - ALL Free! Extras: (please reserve) Makeover Studio in house, Childcare,Gift Baskets, Champagne, Limo Service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax

Address: 24 Northumberland Lane, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 1R7, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: $97 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay