We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Graham's Pioneer Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Digby
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Graham\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Graham's Pioneer Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Dieppe, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a very nice spot for a vacation. It was quiet and relaxing. It was our first time at Grahams Pionner retreat and we will go back it was a great vacation. We stayed for a night and we wish it was more. If you get the oppotunity you should go !!

Helpful?
1 Thank Audree12
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review

Quiet and Relaxing. Two very good adjectives to describe our retreat. We are located far enough off the road, you can't even hear the cars go by. It is quiet enough to hear the waves washing up on shore, the birds singing, and the loons call. We look forward to your next vacation with us. Remember a stay of 4... More 

Oshawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent a few days in May staying at Graham's Pioneer Retreat and had a fabulous time! The accommodations were top-notch and the scenery was simply breath-taking. We spent hours beach-combing and watching the sea for porpoises and seals and sat by a roaring campfire on the beach. It was honestly like something you'd see on a commercial on TV.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Margot M
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review

I must agree with you: bonfires on the beach are great fun no matter what time of year. I am sorry we missed yours. Dave and I often go down to the beach to meet our guests and enjoy a bonfire. I hope you were able to find some "take me home" rocks or even sea glass on your beach... More 

Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

stayed 3 nights in september with our university children,truly enjoyed it. very quiet ,secluded. the chalets were well built and comfortable,as there were 6 of us.whale watching is close by at briar island and balancing rock was well worth the nature hike.the town of digby is only 15 minutes as you will need supplies once you are at your cabin.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your stay with others on Trip Advisor. It is so nice to hear from folks with young adults in their party, who have survived a stay with no phone, t.v., or computer. Just quality family time. The hike to the Balancing Rock is a great hike and whale watching is pretty well a must. The whales... More 

Wallacetown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! I can't recommend it enough. My daughter and I stayed at Solace for two nights...how we wish it was more. Next time we will stay for at least a week. My thirteen year old girl says it was better than her trip to Disney. Honestly, the spectacular scenery, the quiet solitude, the kind and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn O
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review

We are so happy that you decided to visit Nova Scotia. It is a great place to vacation. Thank you for your high recommendation. Dave and I try to offer our guests special attention without intruding on their privacy. I have never tired of watching Saint Mary's Bay or the sky over the bay, be it day or night. I... More 

Middleton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed 4 nites with my friend in early August. We have been coming here every summer for 4-5 years. I love it here. It is so peaceful and quiet compared to the traffic and noise at home. We love to walk the beach and do some rockhounding. Two of our four days were really hot and sunny. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank gratefullgirl
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts down for others to read. Isn't it wonderful that our beach is safe to walk at high tide as well as low tide. You can beach-walk at any time and not worry about getting back. I hope you were one of the lucky ones who found "beach glass" on your... More 

Prince Edward County, ON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place is a piece of paradise! We stayed for two nights, and our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer... Dave and Linda were fantastic hosts, bending over backwards to make sure that we had everything we needed (including lobster!), and that everything about our stay was absolutely perfect. The cottages are gorgeous, beautifully furnished, and so clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alyson C
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review

I have to agree with you about the view. It is a million dollar view. Part of the charm is being able, at night, to see mainland Nova Scotia. Sitting on your deck or down at the bonfire watching the lights across the bay is so relaxing. Sometimes even watching fireworks folks over there are shooting off. All of our... More 

Camp Hill
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Two nights in Tranqulity cottage and one in Solace. We did like Solace better as it was right on the water. Dave and Linda, the owners were very friendly and accomadating. The location is beautiful and secluded.....very quiet. The cottages are clean and nicely furnished. If we were in the area again, we would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen N
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you. We understand being off the beaten path isn't for everyone. It is part of the charm of the cottages though. I must agree "It is so quiet at the cottages". Most people sleep very well listenling to the water washing over the rocky shore. It is always nice to hear people say how clean the cottages are. Thank... More 

Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My family vacationed at Graham's Cottages from July 8 to 18, 2012 and stayed in Serenity Cottage. The location is secluded and peaceful overlooking quiet St. Mary's Bay. Linda and Dave are the most gracious of hosts. On finding out our two children were interested in fishing, Dave was kind enough to take us all to a dock a little... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at Graham's Pioneer Retreat this past week (August 1-2) and were disappointed. The charged us for each of our sons (teens) and dog racking our overall night to well over our anticipated expense. The overall tone made us fell ill at ease that we'd be charged for cleaning if we didn't "tidy" to their standard. They failed to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jfarmer19
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review

We were so sorry to read your review. Thank you for taking your time to let us know how you feel. I would like to address your concerns. Our family policy is children 12 and under stay "free". Your boys are much older being 15 & 19 years old. All of our ads specify our family policy. Even larger chains... More 

Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We (My husband and I) stayed at Graham's Pioneer Retreat July 20-23 and had an amazing time. I totally recommend this private piece of paradise. Our cottage over looked the beautiful St Mary’s Bay and it had a spectacular view with a gazebo. There is a private beach area but I recommend wearing sneakers as it is hard to walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allison_Mary
Linda3591, Owner at Graham's Pioneer Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time from your busy day to comment on your vacation with us. I do wear water socks when I go in the water on our beach. The salt water is hard on sneakers. But for just beach walking sneakers are a must. We appreciate your kind works and hope to see you again before we close... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Digby hotels
14.9 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
15.6 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
14.3 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cliffside B & B
Cliffside B & B
#3 of 15 in Digby
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
16.2 mi away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 15 in Digby
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Do you like your privacy? Peace and quiet? There are 4 secluded self-catering, oceanfront cottages located on 50 acres of Mother Nature's best just waiting for you. Each cottage has a full kitchen and a propane bar-b-q on the deck. You may also have the good fortune to watch porpoise and seals as they swim by, birds fly by, even rabbits come and go while the waves wash ashore. Enjoy board games, a beach bonfire, rock hounding, hiking, star gazing, awesome sunrises, and beachcombing. Go whale watching, birding, to the theme park, golfing. There is a lot to see and do. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Graham's Pioneer Retreat

Address: 8020 Highway 217 | Centreville, Digby Neck, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Price Range: $97 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Graham's Pioneer Retreat Digby, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing