We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 205: English reviews
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for work for three nights (company booked the hotel) arrived after over a five hour drive to no Internet. Plans to work and prepare for business meetings over the next few days shot. Go on trip advisor and what a surprise, people have been having this same issue...for weeks. After trying multiple times to reach the front desk, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manglor82
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at this inn for one night due to the ~30 minute proximity to the Louisburg Fortress. We arrived around 11:30pm after driving the Cabot Trail, and since I had called them earlier that day to let them know we would be very late, there was no issue with check-in. Lloyd was at the front desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our overall stay at the Hearthstone was pleasant. Our only complaint was our dinner meal in the little pub. My daughter and I were the only ones there and she ordered a salad and I ordered fish and chips. We were both exhausted and just wanted a quick bite to eat. My daughter's salad was excellent but my meal was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What you see on their pictures is not even close to what you get. I wish that I never booked this hotel. No elevator, free wifi but it just connect you to the router and no internet access. Dirty bathroom, the window is sealed and the room smells filthy- no air ventilation. Same breakfast for 4 days, one of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank benafil
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Benafil, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. I would like to apologize for your not receiving the stellar service our associates are known for. I have shared your comments with our guest services manager and her team. With respect to your internet challenges, we have just completed a full upgrade and overall of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did enjoy our stay for two nights here, however it was not a place I could get to use any points or earn any. They are independent. One day, the door pass would not function and someone else near our room also had this same problem. I gave up waiting for someone to come help me get into mine,... More 

Helpful?
Thank CandGFB
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear C&GFB, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Although we are an independent property, we do share a rewards program with our sister properties, "Preferred Patron" allows our guests to transfer points into pre-paid Visa cards or other services from our hotels. I can appreciate your frustration with having your dinner interrupted by other guests, unfortunately sometimes... More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I suppose this place was reasonably priced for being dirty, musty, and noisy. Since I had my dog with me, I was given a lower level room. Unfortunately, the room was next to the ice machine (that was out of order), coin-operated laundry, and vending machines, so there was a lot of noise coming from that area. There were a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie363
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie363, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback with respect to your recent stay. I do apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay. We are currently in the process of renovating our guest rooms and it is unfortunate that one of the newly renovated rooms were not available during your stay. I have reviewed... More 

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The reception staff were pleasant and welcoming on arrival. The hallways and rooms were very musty smelling and the carpets really needed to be replaced, or just ripped up altogether. We had our dog with us, which was not a problem. The breakfast was incredibly quick, efficient as well as tasty. Overall the service was fine, but the rooms weren't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex P
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Alex P, Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay. We have been diligently working to replace all of our carpet with laminate flooring and hope to have the entire property completed for the New Year. Kind regards, More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visit with my family with 3 kids I booked through Expedia.ca I have good and bad experience I start with bad first as I checked in the lady at reception said this room is only for 4 person I can't let you. I explained to her that I booked through Expedia.ca and the website clearly written 2 adults and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Waseem A
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear WaseemA, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay. Please be assured we have noted all of your comments and we appreciate your feedback as it allows us to better improve the service we are offering to our guests. We do hope you have an opportunity stay with us again in the near future.... More 

Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night before we caught the ferry to Newfoundland. This hotel was average at best. We stayed on the lower level and the hallways leading to the rooms were not clean. The room was clean, but had no towels when we arrived. The pool and pool area was dirty with alot of bugs and dirt from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Mark S, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We do appreciate your feedback as it allow us to learn how better to cater to our guests. We do hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future to realize that your recent stay was not... More 

Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed overnight in mid July, 2016. Room had drywall missing near air conditioner, bedding smelt like dog although staff insisted it was not a room where pets were allowed, bathroom smelt like sewer (toilet didn't flush properly). Staff was apologic, took my phone # and advised the manager would be in contact with me when she came in. To... More 

Helpful?
Thank saigem5
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear saigem5, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately your phone number was not passed along as I would have definitely been in touch. If you could kindly forward your phone number to Sydney@hearthstonehospitality.com we would be happy to connect. Kind regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#5 of 7 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
6.6 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located adjacent to Sydney Harbour on Kings Road in Sydney Nova Scotia, the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is ideally located only minutes from the shopping and dining of Downtown, Sydney's Centre 200 Sports and Entertainment Complex, Casino Nova Scotia, the Membertu Trade and Convention Centre, and ten minutes of four Golf courses, and a knowledgeable staff to assist our guests in planning day-trips to Cape Breton Island's key tourism destinations, including The Cabot Trail, Fortress Louisburg, Baddeck; and summertime activities/adventures including Two Rivers Wildlife Park, Whale Watching, Kayaking, and renown golfing experiences at the Highland Links and Dundee Resorts; the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is not only what our corporate and leisure guests need us to be, but we are where they need us to be as well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Address: 560 Kings Rd, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Price Range: $94 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Quality Inn
Hearthstone Inn Sydney Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay