We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blachford Lake Lodge

Traveler (232)
Room & Suite (35)
Pool & Beach (6)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 23 Specialty lodging in Yellowknife
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Gold level
Blachford Lake Lodge, a family run business for over 30 years, is the only fly-in wilderness resort situated on Blachford Lake (60 miles south-east of Yellowknife). The 25-minute bush plane flight from Yellowknife is often considered as one of the highlights of a trip to Blachford. We pride ourselves on complimenting your northern experience with great food, a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and dedicated customer service. Our winter season (January to April) offers great opportunities to watch the aurora (northern lights), to go snowmobiling, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, hiking, ice-fishing or simply to relax in the hot tub.Our summer season (June to October) offers great fishing. Canoe or kayak under the midnight sun (June/July) or hike one of the many nature trails. By late summer (mid August) the aurora becomes more visible again and one can watch the northern lights being reflected in the water. Anytime, feel royally when you follow the paths that William and Kate walked during their Royal visit at Blachford Lake Lodge in July 2011.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
Contact
North East Shore Blachford Lake, NWT Canada, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2P2 Canada
E-mail hotel
Getting there
Yellowknife Airport60 mi
See all nearby hotels
137Reviews
5Q+A
59Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 123
  • 7
  • 3
  • 4
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Where do I start. The accommodations were super clean and comfortable. The food was extremely well presented and a lot of effort into its preparation made the food even better. This was a father in son fishing trip and we resorted in having lunches prepared so we can spend the whole day fishing. Rob prepared our lunches and they were packed and delicious. Trish and Kris were the managers and what a team. They always were friendly, professional and very attentive even though I never asked. My boat was always ready in the morning with a full tank of gas and I never had to ask. This was my 4th visit and the fishing is getting better every year. The outboard motors were new and I never had an issue. It breaks our hearts every time we leave and we will return Again. Mike employees and volunteers are exceptional well selected to ensure the best experience possible. Now I know how a VIP feels like. Thanks again for everything we miss you guys already. Francois & Jamie
Read more
Response from Mike F, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review :) First of all - thanks to you, we now have a NEW RECORD for Lake Trout on Blachford Lake! :D Congratulations on your 48 lb laker F&J! It's always our pleasure to host you both at the lodge, and we can't wait to have you again in the future. We really appreciate you noticing the little details, and will be looking for other special ways to surprise you next time.
Read more
+1
I can't say enough great things about Blachford...We flew out for Easter weekend. Met by a staff member at the float base, who explained about the 25 minute flight and a bit about the plane we'd be on. I was a bit worried about flying in a small plane (I'm pretty big), but there were no issues. It was so amazing to take off and land on frozen lakes (yep, the plane had skis!) We were greeted on arrival by the staff/volunteers, and given a tour of the property. My spouse and I were given one of the cabins, called the Point, which was about a five minute walk from the main lodge, where meals are served. We were asked what we wanted to do for the weekend- we really just wanted to relax and maybe go ice fishing...The staff was more than happy to oblige! We did do a short hike one day, went ice fishing, and they even built us a campfire outside our cabin one night. We also had the option of being woken up if there were aurora, but we declined (we're from Yellowknife and get to see the lights frequently). The food was absolutely fantastic! I really hate vinegar and had mentioned it on my email exchange before the trip..There were tons of options for my picky eating habits. The chef, Nikki, even cooked up the trout my spouse caught while fishing! I wish I had more space to write about the food, because it really was that amazing! Our goal was a relaxing weekend, away from technology, and it was everything we could ask for and more. We will definitely return. 5 stars plus all the way from start to finish!!
Read more
Response from Mike F, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge
Responded Apr 26, 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. Having you stay with us was our pleasure - we love helping guests disconnect from technology, and connect with the land. We enjoyed having you, and hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
My wife and I stayed at Blachford Lake for 4 nights the last week of March 2019. We stayed in a cabin, which was a huge mistake. The wood stove in the cabin smoked relentlessly, the smoke alarm had been disabled, and the latches for the windows had been removed so we could not open them. We spoke to the staff, and they immediately came over and cleaned the stove and pipe. It still smoked. Secondly, our neighbors in the cabin below, partied until early morning and had a strobe light going the whole time they were up. This was a major distraction on our one night we were able to view the Northern lights. After two nights in this cabin, at our request, the staff moved us into another duplex cabin. Finally peace and quiet. Not quite. Within two hours a partying bunch arrived on snowmobiles and occupied the cabin next door. At eleven o'clock that evening I had to ask the front desk staff to either move us or speak to our obnoxious neighbors. They spoke to our neighbor's and then all was well. On our fourth night, the Northern lights were visible just after dark. We went to bed early, after not getting much sleep the previous three nights. We were informed the staff would notify us when the lights were visible and they gave us a beeper. They didn't notify us and the beeper didn't work. Fortunately, we awoke in time to see a gorgeous display of Northern lights. In summary, if you don't mind a bunch of pot smoking, screaming and yelling drunks, strobe lights, and a smoking wood stove, then I guess the cabins would be okay. Otherwise, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, the food was excellent, and the scenery beautiful. We saw the Northern lights two out of four nights. Spectacular.
Read more
Response from Mike F, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge
Responded Apr 22, 2019
Hi Mary - Thank you so much for bringing your concerns to our attention. The "spring break" atmosphere is definitely not the norm for our site. We do apologize once again for the behaviour. The wood stove in your cabin - we have been working on the smoke issue to ensure this doesn't happen again. We are sorry that your beeper did not wake you up, however we are very glad to hear that you did manage to see the beautiful northern lights. Despite the negatives, we are glad to hear that you did enjoy our beautiful site, and see mother nature's wonderful light show. As mentioned when we spoke in person, please do reach out to re-book, as we do hope to see you again in the future to show you what we pride ourselves on, a serene, beautiful, wilderness experience.
Read more
A wonderful place to get away from it all. We spent 2 nights at Blachford Lake Lodge the end of March. Enjoyed outdoor activities such as hiking and cross country skiing. Tried our luck at ice fishing. Watch the northern lights from the frozen lake. Spent a cold afternoon relaxing in the sauna. Meals were fabulous. It was a rustic pampered experience. Could not have asked for better staff.
Read more
Response from Mike F, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge
Responded Apr 16, 2019
It's so great to hear your wonderful review. We loved having you at the lodge, and love that you were able to enjoy all of the spring/winter activities that are available on site. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
+1
Blachford Lake Lodge is a special place. Our three-day stay there was the highlight of a week-long trip to Yellowknife. Indoors, the lodge is relaxing (there are a number of couches to choose from and read/snooze on), we were surprised by how delicious the food was, we found the staff and international volunteers to be friendly and helpful, and the chefs baked yummy snacks that were available between meals. (They are thinking of making a Blachford Lake Lodge cookbook, and we encouraged them!) We have a limited diet (we informed them in advance), and there always something great to eat. We enjoyed indoor activities like making dreamcatchers, maple taffy and spruce gum salve. Some might wonder about the composting toilets, but, really, they're totally fine. I actually liked them. Outdoors, we had fun ice fishing, going on a nature hike with a local expert, and cross-country skiing. We tried snowmobiling (at an extra cost) for the first time and that was a lot of fun! Our kids sat behind the guides and the adults drove our own snowmobiles. And of course, there was the aurora. Because the lodge is on a hill overlooking an expansive frozen lake, when you can see the aurora, you have great unobstructed views. We also checked it out from the teepee area where the staff had set up a fire for warming up in the teepee and left us everything we needed to make s'mores or just roast marshmallows. And another shout-out to the terrific staff -- Claudia would check in with us each day to see what activities we were interested in doing the next day and was always happy to answer our questions. The kids never missed not having TV, and we all left hoping we could come back some day!
Read more
Response from Mike F, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge
Responded Apr 2, 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review. We loved having you stay with us, and are so glad that the whole family made the most of the winter wilderness adventure. We do hope to see you again some day!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$965 - $1,711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
blachford lake hotel yellowknife
LOCATION
CanadaNorthwest TerritoriesYellowknife
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing