We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Captain's Quarters

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Captain\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Start your review of Captain's Quarters
 Click to rate
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

First off, people get shot here. We checked in and immediately were thrown off by the smell and age of the furniture, they gave us a rate of 100 a day but when we decided to check out early the owner changed his rates to 150, when asked to speak to him he would not come down to see us,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonathan D
MARCEL E, Owner at Captain's Quarters, responded to this review

Let me correct a false statements. First no criminals got shot here. What we had a armed robbery in 2015.. one of our loyal customers and a brave Newfoundlander, a hero in my books got shot in his attempt to help our bartender. YOU should be ashamed of yourself to defame such a brave man. My second correction.. you book...

Placentia, Canada
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

After calling around St John's looking for a room for 2 nights with no success due to the George Street Festival, my last call was to the Captains Quarters. This has got to be the most charming,heritage, coolest hotel we have ever stayed in. We were greeted at check like we were old friends. In seconds we were checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shot2502
Harbour Grace, Canada
Reviewed July 24, 2016

We booked a room for birthday party, we were given a room on the top floor of this 19th century mansion. It was very quite, away from other guests, lots of stairs but worth the climb. Upon entering the room it looked clean and neat. The bathroom was clean and stocked well with soap, shampoo, conditioner, and even q-tips. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephsheaves
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night. We had to be moved because my friends bed was literally broken. The maintenance man was helpful but there was nothing he could do. The place is falling apart- gyprock is disintegrating and the water quit halfway through my shower. The bagels for breakfast the next morning were MOLDY. One star is too many.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Beth B
fallsbradore, Front Office Manager at Captain's Quarters, responded to this review

I am sorry the guest responded negatively. I admit the box spring was broken which was hard to detect but I moved the to a beautiful three bedroom suite which they told meet it was fantastic. I kept them for their complete stay for the same price as a hotel, of course suite was much more. and they boasted to...

Reviewed January 4, 2016

It was a night to remember. I was so disgusted but we had no other option because every single hotel in the area was booked up. We slept a total of 4 hours... on top of the bedding with our clothes on and left as soon as the sun came up. The bathroom was so dirty that we couldn't shower....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cole L
MARCEL E, Owner at Captain's Quarters, responded to this review

First let me correct a falsehood. I am the owner and on Jan 4,2016 I was not even in the country. I spend most of my winter in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic. And besides I seldom drink when I am in Canada...I work 16 to 18 hours a day. I HAVE NEVER BEEN DRUNK SLEEP AT THIS ESTABLISHMENT OR ANY...

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed November 29, 2015

Even though this place is where someone got shot, this place is still pretty tight! The pubic hairs were nothing less than an added bonus..... Would probably not stay again all things considered. The staff were generally unpleasant and more than willing to shove me into my room without answering a lot of my questions.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Laura P
Lloydminster, Canada
Reviewed October 23, 2015

My wife and I visited St.John's twice this year. We stayed in this hotel on those two trips. We liked our first experience in this hotel. Staffs were friendly and the suite was big. Though the breakfast was not the best..but its free.And this place is just a walking distance to downtown historical area. Our second visit was for our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amer A
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed August 26, 2015

What a dump. Unless of course your intention is to use the place to entertain ladies of the evening. The clue was that the reception was glassed off completely, with a small hole cut for verbal exchanges and another so you can hand over your credit card. My room was on the second floor. It stank, the bed had public...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Gareth O
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed August 25, 2015

absolutely filthy place, the cherry on this turd is the staff member named adam, havent ever in my life met someone as clearly inept at customer service as he is full of himself as an individual, if you find yourself here, steer clear of him

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank eric r
Milford, Connecticut
Reviewed July 16, 2015

nice old Victorian inn. the room was spacious and clean. walking distance to downtown historical area and restaurants. Breakfast is serve your self of cereal, yogurt, bagels, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. We had a good time chatting with the owner and getting tips on what to see and some history of the area. Would love to go back sometime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 24 in St. John's
362 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#7 of 24 in St. John's
612 reviews
The Guv'nor Inn
#20 of 24 in St. John's
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters

Address: 2 King's Bridge Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: $52 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Hotel
Captains Quarters St Johns
Captain's Quarters Newfoundland, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Captain's Quarters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“find somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 950garetho, Aug 26, 2015 | Read review
“My room was on the south side, second floor, bright and quiet . Although on a busy street, the hotel is situated in the centre of a very deep lot. The high ceilings and privacy helped me to rest and do my writing. It felt like I was in a lovely old home.”
 of 5 bubbles 372bernicep, Sep 27, 2014 | Read review
“there is no pool”
 of 5 bubbles jt08080, Feb 26, 2013 | Read review
“do yourself a favourand check into amotel that is clean and smoke free and doesnt sme3ll of pee”
 of 5 bubbles Heb_Lake, Jun 3, 2012 | Read review
“This little place is uncomplicated. It can be noisy from the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles TA4me, Sep 5, 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question