We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Earle of Leinster

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Earle of Leinster
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Truly a wonderful place to stay. Beautiful historical home with wonderful hosts Dwight and Cheryl. Breakfast was stuffed french toast which consisted of fence toast with strawberries and peaches in the middle. Blueberry sauce and whip cream on top and a side of bacon. A bit sweet for my taste in breakfast but it was scrumptious!! They were accommodating for... More 

Helpful?
Thank redwingschica
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Dwight and Cheryl are very friendly hosts who are eager to get to know their guests. They have lots of information and advice re local area attractions. The first thing you notice on entering is the odor....mothballs? Mildew?? We had the Fitzgerald room on the main level next to the dining room. Lots of period knick-knacks and decor. No AC,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow! This place is amazing. Cheryl and Dwight are the best hosts. We stopped here on a road trip up to Prince Edward Island and they were so hospitable and helpful. The room we stayed in was out back in the carriage house...very warm and cozy and clean. Just what we needed. They even allowed us to use their washer/dryer... More 

Helpful?
Thank James H
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

This inn is older but very quaint. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. We stayed in the "Loft" which is an outside access room. It is on the second floor so make sure that stairs are not an issue. The Loft actually has 2 separate rooms with enough beds to sleep 5. There is a small kitchenette. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank L R
dwight800, Owner at Earle of Leinster, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are always happy when our guests are happy!! We wish we could change the size of our showers but unfortunately we can't do much about that at present. We have done many changes already and perhaps one year we will attempt to... More 

Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
337 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

We had booked two nights here during our vacation through New Brunswick. We had looked at the B&B on Google Maps Street View, so we knew what the buildings of ''Historic Uptown'' looked like. In reality, the neighbourhood looks a bit run down, but several areas of St John have the same appearance. The B&B was built in 1878, a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
dwight800, Owner at Earle of Leinster, responded to this review

Even though this is our 4th year, we still feel very fresh at what we are doing and regrettably do make mistakes and can seem to be very disorganized. However, as the guest mentioned, our guests are very important to us and we do our best to make their stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible; and we always hope... More 

Baden, Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

We have never stayed in a B&B and this was a priceless place! Dwight and Cheryl are excellent hosts. We stayed in a carriage house in the back and had a completely private experience. The room had a seating area with small kitchen table, a mini fridge, micro, coffee maker and a kettle. Lovely queen size bed and a private... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cath_Mike_11
Peaks Island, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

We stayed only one night, but it was memorable, with the chatty welcomes we received from the innkeepers, Dwight upon check-in, and in the morning, Cheryl, who made a breakfast that filled us to the brim. It's in a quiet neighborhood that's about four lovely blocks to the downtown area, where we found a cozy pub for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

We had a couple of our actors stay at the Earle of Leinster, and they found it very pleasant and comfortable. The Saint John Theatre Company just put the production An Enemy of the People on and the technical and projection design stayed for the month at this nice inn. He found it very cosy and comfortable, he found the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christina G
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was great, and the property was charming. The inn is an easy walk to everything in Saint John, and we were grateful to the proprietor for some excellent suggestions for local restaurants. I would enjoy staying here again in the future!

Helpful?
Thank Jon W
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

I stayed 2 nights and found it quiet for sleeping. Breakfast is very good. During the week I never had problems with parking on the street. I would stay here again but in a different room just to see the different styles. Location was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Don C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chipman Hill Suites
Chipman Hill Suites
#1 of 17 in Saint John
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Earle of Leinster

Address: 96 Leinster St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 1J3, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Price Range: $89 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Earle of Leinster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earle Of Leinster Saint John, New Brunswick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay