We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Marlborough Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Marlborough Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
514 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel cannot control the people outside, and while I was coming in, a man was standing in the middle of the sidewalk talking to some women. I had to squeeze past him with my luggage, and I suspect he may have not been totally alert, but did not move at all. The internet has no security so perhaps others... More 

Helpful?
Thank PMahdis
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed here for 3 nights this july, what a hovel, dirty rooms, bathroom fitments falling off the wall, cracked tiles , mouldy windows and this was an upgrade god alone knows what a standard room is like. people outside the main entrance drunk and smoking so everyone gets a good lung full! white powder around the skirting boards which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kenburns
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning kenburns, Thank you for your recent review of our property, whether positive or negative I do take all seriously to try and correct any issues. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Did you bring any of your concerns to a manager while you were staying with us? If you were unhappy with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night at the Marlborough on our way to the airport. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is old but that gives it part of its character. We especially enjoyed our free breakfast in the very charming dining room. For the price and location we felt that this hotel was very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Shannon M, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, I truly appreciate any feedback which helps with our goal of complete customer satisfaction. We are in the process of completing some renovations to our hotel and I do invite you back to see the transformation in the fall. Thank you once again for your kind words... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

It was my first time in Canada and we had a horrible experience. The hotel has suspicious people in the front. Definitely not a place for a family. I didn't feel safe in any moment during my stayed. I don't know if those people stay in the hotel but they were in and out of the hotel. But I really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tifany T
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tifany T, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel I certainly appreciate the feedback and I do take all comments seriously. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as we consistently try to ensure all of our guests have a safe and comfortable stay with us, and it seems like we missed the... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time! It was okay last time, but good this time! For the price we paid it was amazing, I actually would have paid more! Clean 100 year old hotel, but great charm from the tiny old original elevator, to the large windows! Bed was amazing! Appears that renovations are taking place! Breakfast was awesome and... More 

Helpful?
Thank James M
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon James M, Thank you for your recent review of our property and I am certainly glad that it was more favourable than the last. I have taken your advice of the security and we will ensure that the front of our hotel is more closely monitored, and also make it more inviting to all of our guests. I... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

A friend of mine and I traveled to Winnipeg for a random, sort of "winging it" weekend away. We wanted something in the downtown area to be close to The Forks, and other attractions Winnipeg has to offer. We were also on somewhat of a budget. My friend booked the hotel via another website. After reading some of these reviews,... More 

Helpful?
Thank SHEENA F
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Sheena F, Thank you for your recent review of our property, and I truly appreciate the feedback that you have provided. I am certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay, and I am also happy to inform you that we are currently doing some renovations to our property that should be completed by fall. I certainly would like... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

First and foremost: I am not a picky person at all. I go camping in the middle of nowhere in Saskatchewan and absolutely LOVE it. Read my other reviews and I'm sure you will understand that I'm not picky or fancy. I went to Winnipeg for a conference and had to book a hotel on the last minute. What a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred_Leal
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Fred_Leal, First off I want to thank you for your very thorough review of our hotel as sometimes I don't get a chance to hear about the positive and negative we sometimes experience. We try and stay on top of the undesirables or "walking dead" as you eluded to with our security, but it still remains a problem... More 

delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

I am in this property from 5th june 16 for a week long, rooms on 4th floor is quite big and hotel staff < specially receptionist NOREEN KHAN is very helpful, she is allow me for early check in... also this hotel location is very good in downtown all the happeast place just walk awy. fully saticfied on my visit

Helpful?
Thank Gurnam S
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Gurnam S, Thank you for your recent comments and I certainly appreciate the kind words about our front desk agent Noreen. She has been praised for her great work and will continue to deliver fantastic customer service on your next visit. Please come visit us again after we have completed our renovations. Thank you More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival we realized the front entrance and lobby is the local hangout for down on their luck locals. People everywhere loittering asking us for cigarettes. We had to have a smoking room because of the pet which cost $10/night. Not bad right.... Well now I know why. They'll take any paying customers I'm sure. We got off the 1950's... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Amayzing G
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amayzing G, Thank you for your review, and I appreciate the honesty and I do take all reviews very seriously. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us, but I am certainly glad that Tiffany looked after your needs immediately. Our hotel is undergoing some renovations and upgrades to all of our floors, which will... More 

Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

When a person gets off the elevator the stench from the carpeting (this was the third floor) hits you and you feel absolutely sick. The rooms are quite dirty, again, old carpeting is a large part of it. My feet were dirty from the carpet. Also, a lot of wiring behind all the tables, which easily all came unplugged, due... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 350moni
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 350moni, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, I truly appreciate the feedback. We are undergoing renovations to all of our floors which includes carpeting and painting, and new furniture. I am sorry that you incurred a unsatisfactory visit with us, but I do invite you to stay with us again upon completion of the renovations. Thanks... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#13 of 64 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Hotel Royal Plaza
Hotel Royal Plaza
#53 of 64 in Winnipeg
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#11 of 64 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 64 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Marlborough Hotel

Address: 331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Price Range: $61 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marlborough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay