We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Save
Share
1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
$72
$55
View Deal
SAVE $17
Free cancellation until 11/04/20
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Official Website$72
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (85)
Room & Suite (40)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 66 hotels in Winnipeg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from CF Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 10 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the Bell MTS Place and the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge, featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes 48 state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billiard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking.
Read more
Room & Suite (40)40
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Karaoke
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Greek
564Reviews5Q+A94Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 262
  • 142
  • 89
  • 35
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Neeru H wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
They turned my 70 year old mother after I booked a room for her. She needed a room for a night as the place where she was living had become unavailable. After I booked her room, they took my money, but during check in, they turned her out and said that they can't check her in. They were so rude that they refused to explain why, citing COVID-19 and that they only allow emergency stay ins. This was an emergency situation, but they refused to listen and just behaved very badly. I am not sure how this hotel is in the hospitality business as the person I spoke to on the phone sure didn't know what customer service meant.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Responded Jun 24, 2020
Dear nhundal, I am sorry that we were unable to room you mother due to the current travel restrictions that are in place. We are not able to room people who have traveled to or live in the United States, or only have ID from another country/province. As well we were not able to provide accommodations due to the personal nature of her arrival and the reason for her requiring a room. We do try to make every exception under emergency situations but due to the extreme situation that was presented to us we were not able to provide service. Had the hotel been contacted directly and the room not booked through a third party booking agent this would have been explained prior to her arrival. I do hope that she received the care she required. Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel
Read more
535angiec wrote a review Dec 2019
Winnipeg, Canada1 contribution
Hotel's Favorite
The venue was beautifully decorated. The service was great! The food was great!! They have no problem fulfilling any special diet requests. We have been having our dinners here for years and will continue to do so!! Thank you for always making our dinners a special night!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Responded Dec 9, 2019
Dear 535angiec, Thank you for your kind review. I will pass on your comments to all our staff. We look forward to having you back for your next event. Happy holidays! Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel
Read more
Running_From_Winter wrote a review Apr 2020
Winnipeg, Canada3 contributions11 helpful votes
I decided to book a night at the viscount for my partners birthday recently, normally we would stay at another hotel but both agreed to try the viscount since it’s been renovated. We booked the room the day before we were set to arrive and prepaid for it. We arrived at the hotel around 9 pm to check in after a long day only to be greeted by the most condescending and rude women at the front desk, not only did she roll her eyes at us the moment we walked up to the front desk as if we were bothering her by simply trying to check into our room but also insisted on being as rude as possible every step of the way. I do my banking with a credit union as does my partner and they were having an issue with their debt cards not reading properly or working at many stores/vendors (I personally had replaced my card twice before being told it was an internal issue that they were trying to resolve) because of this issue we both had be carrying cash with us for the past week so that we would not be caught off guard should our card not work. After giving my name for the reservation to the extremely rude women who was the only staff available unfortunately, I explained that I had already prepaid for the room. The women then mentioned needing a credit card or debit card for the security deposit for the room, I gave her my debt card for the deposit and unfortunately the machine wouldn’t read the card again....I explained to her the situation regarding the bank having this problem all week. The women proceeded to laugh directly in my face and said “ if you don’t have enough money for the deposit there is nothing I can do”. Completely shocked that this women would even had the nerve to say that to something I repeated what I originally said and that was that my bank had been having issues with their cards for a week now and money wasn’t the issue. Frustrated and upset at how extremely rude and unprofessional this women was I asked her how much the deposit was to which she responded $200.00, I opened up my wallet and handed her $200.00 cash. The women then smirks at me as if she is enjoying what she’s about to say to me and the says “oh we don’t accept cash.” I ask politely if there can be an exception this time due to the fact my card was not working and I had already prepaid for the room, she refuses and continues to smirk as if she was genuinely enjoying ruining our night. I asked to speak to a manager to see if there was some way we could resolve this and she refused again stating there was no manger on duty. After an hour of trying to deal with this extremely unprofessional women, my partner birthday evening was completely ruined. We were not able to get a refund for the room so we’re charged for a room that we were not allowed to stay in and were treated so poorly. Again I’m completely shocked at how unprofessional this women was and would honestly never recommend this hotel based on this experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Responded Jun 16, 2020
Dear Running_From_Winter, I am sorry to hear about your experience at the hotel. I will be looking into your review further to see why we could not find an acceptable solution. In the event that we cannot provide a service to a guest we are diligent in offering a refund. If that did not occur please feel free to contact me at the hotel. Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel
Read more
Kim G wrote a review Mar 2020
Brandon, Canada4 contributions
Terrible absolutely terrible! We had to come into the city for my spouse's cancer care appt during the Covid-19 pandemic on March 18th.. There were no hand sanitizers anywhere. We booked a wheelchair accessible room and there was no chair in the shower. Plus the handi-cap room was in the furthest possible corner on the floor. Now does that make any sense at all?? At check-in, they never gave us any instructions on breakfast. Internet did not work on our computer. And this part takes the cake, there were several and I mean several long black hairs on and under our sheets. Disgusting!! Two different staff members were notified and were somewhat apologetic. They both said they would let the General Manager know (he or she was not there when we were there). To this date, no response from the General Manager. How unprofessional!!! Don't even bother trying to apologize to my rant because it is too late. The damage is done. If you were sincere about an apology, you would have called us by now. Hopefully you will do better for others in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Responded Mar 30, 2020
Dear 844kimg, I am sorry that you were not contacted by me directly. I am looking into where the failure to notify me of your concerns happened as i make it a point to respond to all our guest comments positive or negative. We have sanitizers on the wall when you check in as well as the dining room and other public areas. We sanitize all the room key cards prior and post usage, as well as making sure all non required items have been removed from the bed rooms, extensive cleaning to the floors all surfaces and further measures that have been in place for weeks. We have a number of accessories for our designated rooms available on request. I am sorry that the rooms are far from the elevator but they are the ones with the correct size bathrooms that allow for wheelchairs. I am not sure what your were needing with regards to breakfast as we have a full service dining room that was open for dining in until this past Sunday. We are happy to assist with any connections to our wireless as instructions are located on your key card. During this incredibly difficult time we are making every effort to provide a safe environment for our guests and staff to stay and work. I am sincerely sorry that we failed to do that for you on your visit. Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel
Read more
Lorilou62 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
I have been a guest at the Viscount Gort for many years in varying capacities; as a hotel guest, attending conferences, as well as social occasions. The construction is finally done and the place looks great. Great pains seem to be taken to ensure that the cleanliness and high standards are maintained on the inside of the building however, the outside of the building seems incongruous in its contrast. I was recently at the Viscount for a conference and then again socially shortly thereafter and was struck by the number of cigarette butts, cups and litter surrounding the building, some of which I am certain were there from one visit to the next. While I realize the high traffic location certainly would make it hard to control this situation, first impressions are important and while the high standards of the inside of the building are impressive once you get past the entrance ways, I fear that the condition of the outside could be daunting to some newcomers. You folks are doing a great job. Could this important detail be something you've overlooked?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Dear Lorilou62, Thank you for bringing the above items to our attention. We do make a valiant effort to make sure the exterior of the property matches the interior. Sometimes our exterior garbage, recycling containers and cigarette butt receptacles are not used and items are tossed onto the ground. We will certainly be more diligent in getting to these areas in a timelier manner. Sincerely, Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$71 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
viscount gort winnipeg, hotel viscount gort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort
LOCATION
CanadaManitobaWinnipeg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include CF Polo Park (0.5 miles), Scotiabank Theatre - Winnipeg (0.6 miles), and Jewish Heritage Centre of Western Canada (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include One Great City Brewing Co., JOEY Polo Park, and Rae & Jerry's Steak House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.