We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 21: English reviews
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

Seems to be nice clean ,front desk nice ,rooms a little small but ok ,looks like a hole from the outside but nice inside not sure about the area i arrived at nite ,rigth beside a beer store and bar i see a lot of young people around

Helpful?
2 Thank Signmanpete
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

The sign on the door that reads "no public washrooms, don't ask" tells you the kind of area and hotel you're checking into. From there you're greeted by at least three smoke butt/"ashtray" devices. After making it the the door the lobby is fairly modern and clean. Probably to give you false hope. Ascending the dirty cramped elevator we're greete... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank P_G_Alberta

Travelers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. Rooms were basic, but that's expected from a budget hotel. Room cleaning left a lot to be desired and room was noisy at night as you could hear all the movement from upstairs. The breakfast option was simply awful and I'll advice anyone to skip rooms with breakfast included because its not... More 

Helpful?
Thank djlenzyd2011
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

I know I may be overly picky about the quality of a stay at an Econo Lodge, and I know I have made some pretty poor life choices in the fact that I have given Choice Hotels enough money to be a gold member with Choice Privileges, but this has to have been one of my worst stays that I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SvrWxChaser
MN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 via mobile

We (sisters & mom) stayed here mostly because it was a decent price, everyone but me agreed that they would have rather paid more for a better hotel. The area is very sketchy, especially come night. A fair amount of police activity, at one point during the DAY, there seemed to be a police standoff at a house just down... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richelle N
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

Recently spent 3 weeks on a cross-Canada road trip, and by far this hotel was the worst of the Choice hotels we stayed at. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, however the room was not clean. The mirrors were dirty, and the carpeting had substantial grease stains. People living on our floor were coming and going very late... More 

Helpful?
Thank StevieMyers
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

I stayed here because I had a meeting nearby. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, WIFI was decent. The decors were dated, and the bedding seemed dirty. The most interesting part was seeing a police car parked in front of the hotel and police asking some people questions the next morning when I checked out. Overall not terrible... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate S
Churchill, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

The hotel was surprisingly well maintained and comfortable for the price. It is one of the least expensive in this Winnipeg area and had a lot of amenities one would expect only in a more expensive property. In room fridge, microwave, wi-fi. 24 hour coffee and tea in lobby. Full meals available at reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank albany007
Pam S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Econo Lodge Winnipeg. I appreciate all feedback from our guests, and I am especially pleased when we are able to meet or exceed your expectations. Customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities, and I am very glad that you were... More 

Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Hotel clean, staff friendly and helpful. Yes it is in an older area however no problems. One party in one of the rooms that got out of hand was handled by staff quickly once a complaint was made. Yes I would not have a problem staying there again.

Helpful?
Thank N0rthTravel
Pam S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests, and I am pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay, and that the one problem was handled quickly by the staff member on duty at the time. I am especially glad to... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I was here for one night before an appointment at the hospital. The location cannot be beat if that's your reason for being in town. The hallway was a bit dirty but the room was nice and clean. Comfy beds, new tv, mini-fridge, clean bathroom. There was no hairdryer or iron. I was warned the area is a bit sketchy... More 

Helpful?
Thank LizfromCanada
Pam S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is always great to hear that one of our valued guests has had a good experience! I am happy to hear that the location worked well for you, and that you found the cab fares reasonable as well. I hope we will have the opportunity to have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Hotel Royal Plaza
Hotel Royal Plaza
#53 of 64 in Winnipeg
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
#36 of 64 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Canad Inns Destination Centre Health Sciences Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#12 of 64 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
St. James Industrial
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#50 of 64 in Winnipeg
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
St. James Industrial
BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Econo Lodge Winnipeg is a newly renovated property across from the Health Sciences Centre, Cancer Care, and Women's Hospital. We are minutes from the new Canadian Museum for Human Rights, and close to all downtown attractions and shopping. We offer clean, comfortable rooms in your choice of smoking or non-smoking, with outstanding Customer Service - all at a great price! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 690 Notre Dame Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 0L7, Canada (Formerly Maryland Motor Hotel)
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Price Range: $67 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Winnipeg, Manitoba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay