We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oswego Hotel

Save
Share
500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (576)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (511)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Oswego Hotel
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 45 hotels in Victoria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2021 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English
2695Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,874
  • 604
  • 131
  • 51
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tour298844 wrote a review Oct 22
1 contribution
We were terribly disappointed in our stay at the Oswego. The room was not well cleaned. The bathroom floor was not cleaned as we found hair from other guests all during our stay in the bathroom and in the bedding. Kitchen appliances were streaky from being wiped with a dirty rag. Street noise was terrible and the glare from the street lights lit up the room making it very hard to sleep. The blinds are decorative and do not block out any light or noise. On our second night I asked if it would be possible to change rooms but wasn't an option since the hotel was full. The front desk did bring up eye masks and we ran the air conditioner to drown out the street noise. It is in a great location but there are lots of hotels in good locations and the street noise and light is almost unbearable. Kitchen is nice to have and we did use it. We were told very abruptly by the front desk clerk when we checked in that there would be no maid service during our four night stay. This has become common practise during Covid but I feel this should be communicated at time of booking, not at check in. This was our fourth hotel during our stay on Vancouver Island and the only hotel not to offer maid service. The restaurant brunch was very good and the waitress was very friendly - the hotel should have her working the front desk! I read through lots of great reviews before booking the Oswego and they were a factor in choosing this hotel, unfortunately our experience wasn't great. I would definitely caution booking a room facing Oswego Street. We were not ready to leave Victoria but we were definitely ready to leave the Oswego Hotel and get a good night's sleep somewhere else!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Oswego Hotel, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your detailed review, and I would like to clear up a number of inaccuracies. All linens are cleaned thoroughly with K Bro Laundry, and fresh linens are put on every bed prior to a new guest arriving, so there would not be any remnants from prior guests possible. Stainless Steel Appliances are notoriously streaky, and are cleaned very thoroughly, however it may appear streaky under certain light- we use strict cleaning protocols in suite. The Oswego is located on a quiet residential suite, and a room change was offered but was declined by you, which would have been to a different suite that is perhaps quieter. It is quite rare for us to get noise complaints, and there is normal urban neighborhood noise, but nothing that typically disrupts sleep unless it is an emergency vehicle on a rare drive by. We do make the cleaning policy clear, as we note this in the welcome email under COVID-19 Practices. There are also immense staffing shortages on the island, which we, and all properties, are doing our best to work within. We are proud of our reputation and hosting hundreds of guests who have left 5 star reviews, and I am sorry your stay did not meet a 5 star experience for you. We wish you all the best in future travels.
Read more
We6be1 wrote a review Oct 20
Vancouver, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
This is an exceptional boutique hotel. Spacious clean rooms and great location. The staff were excellent and responsive, and all aspects of check in and departure were efficient. This is a great spot a little outside the downtown core, but an easy and lovely walk.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Oswego Hotel, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your kind words and review, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Read more
realist99 wrote a review Oct 19
Victoria, Canada36 contributions12 helpful votes
What a wonderful surprise to read about Bar 500 in Eat Magazine and it's brunch menu. We reserved a table and the staff seated us immediately...check in with Covid QR and identification was quick and seamless. Having lived in the USA for a number of years, and never finding it in a Canadian menu, I was pleased to see they served "Chicken & Waffles". This was the most delicious and unique entree I've ever had. The waffle was savoury with smoked cheese and scallions, and the chicken was crispy fried served with 'nduja" hot sauce and maple syrup. My friends had the Ricotta & Lemon pancakes and Breakfast Hash and both were rated as "excellent'.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Oswego Hotel, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review, and we are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed our delicious breakfast offerings!
Read more
vanbabes wrote a review Oct 19
Vancouver, Canada101 contributions85 helpful votes
Our family of four stayed in a 2 bedroom suite over the Thanksgiving long weekend. The suite was specious and bright, and very clean. There were also lots of towels and shampoo/conditioner units in the shower rather than those little bottles which are a pain. I was surprised to see that the gym was open, and was able to book 2 sessions there. I had the gym to myself as per covid protocols, and while it's very small, it had everything one person could want. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the onsite restaurant. Two thumbs up for both meals. I would say that the dinner there was by far the best we've had in Victoria EVER. Great quality ingredients and a very creative menu. Sunday brunch was also very good. The staff at the restaurant both Friday night and Sunday brunch are super sweet and attentive. The location of the hotel is great - walking distance to downtown and along Dallas road to walk along the ocean. Having stayed at the Empress before, I would much prefer the Oswego next time - it's clean, comfortable, well-priced, great food and friendly staff. Lastly, following checkout, we received a call that a member of our party left a notebook behind. The hotel offered to mail it to us, which we happily accepted.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We chose a superior room which was the sub-penthouse level.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Oswego Hotel, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review, and your feedback on our meals being the best in Victoria made us smile! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Read more
pwheat968971 wrote a review Oct 12
1 contribution
Very clean, great having a kitchenette and close enough to the city centre to be worth it. I appreciate the fact that the shower amenities were in larger, refillable bottles which helps reduce waste. Friendly and modern.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Oswego Hotel, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your review, and we are always glad when guests notice the amenities, and enjoy!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oswego hotel victoria
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandVictoria Capital Regional DistrictVictoriaJames Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Oswego Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Oswego Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Pedaler (0.09 miles), Legislative Assembly of British Columbia (0.2 miles), and The Rolling Barrel (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Oswego Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Oswego Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Oswego Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Oswego Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Oswego Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Legislative Dining Room, Nourish Kitchen & Cafe, and Il Covo Trattoria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Oswego Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Oswego Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Oswego Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Oswego Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Oswego Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Legislative Assembly of British Columbia (0.2 miles), Craigdarroch Castle (1.5 miles), and Empress Hotel National Historic Site of Canada (0.3 miles).