We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Zed

#22 of 56 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
3110 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Zed
Hotel Zed
Panoramas (10)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 206: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Great two night visit to one of Hotel Zed's "bachelor pads." No frills, but comfortable, and met all the needs of a relatively quick trip. Nice staff, free coffee, free shuttle to downtown Vic, and of course, the Zedinator. Would have given five stars if the Ruby had been open when I was super hungry and eager to try what... More 

Helpful?
Thank John R
Pender Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For 15+ years, we've been staying at what was formerly called the Blue Ridge and is now the Hotel Zed. We used it as our home base when we were in Victoria for real estate shopping, teaching, our daughter's wedding, our grandson's birth...but no more. When the Blue Ridge first became Hotel Zed, a number of non-pet-friendly changes were implemented... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights in July 2016 with family (2 adults and 2 kids). Booking easy over the Internet, but keep checking back to see if the rate changes (we saved $70/night only because I checked back a few weeks after initial reservation). Hotel Zed is FUN and different, the kids loved it all: the colours, the retro style and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dann C
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were disappointed in the room we had as it was very small with not much room to move around in. The shower area was separate from the toilet area with a sink in between so offered no privacy after showering. Cramped to say the least

Helpful?
Thank chuck h
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hi Chuck, Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Zed. I'm sorry to hear our Bachelor Pad was a bit too small for your needs. I would recommend checking out our Zed 2 Bed or King for Night next time if you need more space. These rooms are about twice the size and come with a full... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked here for the location and price and were so happy we did! What a perfect spot, just next to the Central Park where we had a picnic and walked all around the neighbourhood. We checked in a bit early and although our room wasn't quite ready we were greeted with friendly service by the staff. Just newly opened... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lolaladivina
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hi Lolaladivina, It sounds like you checked out our new property in Kelowna and I'm happy to hear you had a great stay! We would love to see you here in Victoria too. Cheers, Jon Warrington Manager Hotel Zed Victoria More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cheap plasticky faux-mod furniture is not enough to transform this cheap roadside motel into something else. The room smells moldy, floors are perpetually damp, you hear absolutely everything in neighboring rooms and outside, and the bathroom fan (actually of 1960s vintage--how authentic!) sounds like a blender. Customer service is borderline rude, and it's not cheap, either. Newer cheap motels like... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Woodrow T
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hi Woodrow T, Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Zed and taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I'm not certain why you had a damp floor, however we have been doing carpet cleaning, and perhaps your room was cleaned prior to check in and not enough... More 

Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great ambiance, really good vibes, cool young staff, lots of colors and fun things to do, free downtown shuttle, free local yummy coffee and morning paper, free wi-if that works really well, we loved it all!

Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireKen5511
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for the awesome 5 star review, we really appreciate it! I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed our vibe and thank you for the kind words about our staff. I agree our local free coffee is to die for. Thank you again for staying with us and have a great summer! Cheers. Jon Warrington... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel stay was as described on the website. Fun lobby area and great food. The bathroom and laundry room could use a little face lift, but was a welcome sight after a week of camping. There were a lot of fees attached to our bill, which I'm told is standard, I just wish this was included in the advertised... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea B
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hey Chelsea B, Thank you so much for the great review!! Our lobby is a really fun place to hang out and I hope you also checked out our ping pong lounge downstairs too. Thank you for the feedback on the bathrooms and I'm happy to tell you we are currently upgrading our bathrooms and hope to be done later... More 

Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On our recent 'girls weekend' my best friend and I had the pleasure of staying in Hotel Zed. From the moment we checked in we felt welcomed. The staff were friendly, helpful, knowledgable and entertaining. They listened to our questions, offered great advice and sightseeing options and some top notch restaurant recommendations. The hotel is obviously not new but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cj K
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hi Cj K! This review has made my day! Thank you so much for your kinds words about our staff. We are so proud of them and the good work that they do. The staff are what make our hotel special and we are lucky to have such a good team. We love that you loved the decor and the... More 

Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great retro vibe, fun and funky. Super comfy rooms that are refitted, so don't expect modern, just comfortable. Has super fun time in the ping pong rec room! Restaurant is awesome and busy. Not totally happy with the service. We emailed ahead with request and got no response and no knowledge when we check in. Transfer service was kind of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hi Dawn R! Glad to hear you enjoyed our fun and funky vibe, the ping pong room and bikes! We are sorry to hear that we missed your request and that the our shuttle times of 9 am to 9 pm didn't work for you. Unfortunately we are not able to accommodate a night shuttle at this time but definitely... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

347 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Bachelor Pad (31)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Sweet Suite (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Cottage (37)
Viewed
Zed Twin Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#35 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 56 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We're a ridiculously fun & eclectic hip hotel in Victoria BC that is so completely awesome your mind will be blown! Ok, slight exaggeration, but we swear it's like nothing you've ever seen before: '67 VW shuttle, typewriter station, vinyl listening station, pool & waterslide, ping pong lounge, high tech media hubs in the rooms and comic books in the bathroom ... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Zed

Address: 3110 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Price Range: $93 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zed 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Zed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Hotel Victoria
Blue Ridge Motel
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#22 Family Hotel in Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay