We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Amethyst Inn at Regents Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Amethyst Inn at Regents Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 175: English reviews
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had the joy of booking our recent wedding with the Amethyst Inn. As we live out of town, we were unable to actually visit the venue until our wedding weekend. I was, however able to correspond frequently via email and my emails were always answered promptly and in an informative manner by Su. The venue surpassed everything we expected... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank P Y
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last summer and really enjoyed our experience. The breakfast was sizeable and delicious! We never felt like the service was lacking in any regard...The Victorian house was quaint and the décor matched the period well. We would stay here again!

Helpful?
1 Thank 33388Beachlover
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had such an incredibly disappointing experience over the long weekend in September 2013. I understand there were extenuating circumstances which left them short-staffed, however no one communicated that to us upon our arrival or during our stay. We left notes on the main desk in the evening when we returned to our room and phone messages during the day... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bellba
Amethyst1501, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Inn at Regents Park, responded to this review

We are deeply sorry to hear about Ms. Bell's negative experience at Amethyst Inn. It' never our intention to deliver poor service. To resolve the issue Ms. Bell raised and to compensate her, we have refunded her 50% of her payment, plus $30 for her to go to a restaurant of her choice. Below is a statement from Ms. Bell... More 

Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay and were very impressed by the friendly, accommodating staff - they offered to upgrade our room for free when we arrived since they were not 100% full and even took us to tour both rooms so that we could decide. Breakfast was DELICIOUS and very filling and served extremely fresh when we arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie B
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a very fun place to stay. Every nook and cranny of this house is filled with unique and fun decorations. The breakfasts were great and super filling. The cookies and sherry were a nice touch as well. Location is a bit far from downtown and was a bit hard to find (very small sign) just look for Charles... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Thaiguy2
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely place...we will go back and stay there again in another room. The innkeeper was kind enough to mail my prescription eye glasses back to me in the States after I lost them there. We knew immediately that we should have stayed more than one night. Luxurious and romantic.

Helpful?
Thank Jim O
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I love their breakfast and Victorian appointments. We stayed in two different rooms. The first was a walk out basement queen bed. Great bathroom. Queen bed jamed in their. Two big negatives. When the people above us flushed the toilet or put water in the tub it was quite noisy. Also I could not turn off the outside light so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank twsplace
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The innkeeper, Matthew, was so great. He does it all. very guest oriented and has a great attitude even though he works very long hours. The answer is always "yes" with him. The room was wonderful and quaint, the house is stunning, and the food was fabulous. I will return to Victoria only if I can stay at the Amethyst... More 

Helpful?
Thank FunFultons
Calgary
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Amethyst Inn offered us a wonderful two nights, the house itself is a treasure and we enjoyed checking out the many nooks, crannies and unoccupied rooms. Our room was quite lovely, well-appointed, roomy and comfortable. The breakfasts were first-rate and most filling. Also enjoyed our evening visits to the parlour for cookies and/or sherry. The Inn is a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank PatmanCalgary
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed alone at the Amethyst Inn for a week in June, 2013. My main reason for choosing it was its proximity to the Jubilee Hospital, where my husband had unplanned surgery while on a business trip. It was a stressful week and Matthew, the innkeeper, really made things a little easier for me. I arrived late at night and... More 

Helpful?
Thank S Z
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#5 of 111 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Prior Castle Inn
#36 of 111 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#6 of 111 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Truly Victorian Heritage InnAmethyst Inn is a fully-restored historic mansion dating from 1885. A few of our many features are 13 foot ceilings, period furniture and antiques. There are cosy fireplaces in most rooms. In the parlour we serve a full breakfast on antique crystal and china. To help you unwind there are jacuzzis in some of our rooms, and dont worry about your car: we have lots of secure, free parking on our property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn at Regents Park

Address: 1501 Fort St, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1Z6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Price Range: $116 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amethyst Inn at Regents Park 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing