Abigail's Hotel

Abigail's Hotel

Traveler (604)
Panorama at the Abigail's Hotel
360
Panoramas (9)
Abigail's Hotel
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
$322
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 42 hotels in Victoria
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
This property has identified as Women-owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 30-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Adults only
Baggage storage
Street parking
Special diet menus
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Polish, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Deal:Free breakfast with your stay

Location

906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Victoria Intl Airport
Inner Harbour Airport
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles1,926 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Abigail's Hotel emerges as a cherished choice among guests, who frequently commend its spotless rooms and serene, yet central location ideal for exploring the city on foot. The service at Abigail's Hotel receives high marks for the staff's warmth and professionalism, with many guests making special note of the delightful breakfast. The hotel's Victorian charm and luxurious amenities, including fireplaces and jetted tubs, contribute to its old-world atmosphere, enhancing the overall experience. Reviewers often mention the excellent value offered by the hotel, considering the quality of service and amenities provided.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Exceptional
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,926Review27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,779
  • 111
  • 27
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Greg H wrote a review Nov 2023
Langford, Canada19 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I recently enjoyed a delightful date-night staycation at Abigail's Hotel, and it was nothing short of magical. The room's cozy fireplace created a warm, inviting atmosphere, perfectly complemented by the charming antique furniture. The culinary experience was a highlight, with delicious hors d'oeuvres and treats thoughtfully delivered to our room.

Abigail's proximity to the Victoria Royal Theatre enhanced our evening as we attended a symphony, making the whole experience effortlessly romantic and convenient. The morning greeted us with an exceptional 3-course hot breakfast, a true delight for the taste buds. We also appreciated the complimentary light snacks available in the coffee room, adding a homely touch to our stay.

The hotel exudes quaintness and elegance, making it an ideal setting for a romantic getaway. Every aspect of our stay was meticulously crafted for comfort and luxury. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect staycation.

Highly recommended for those seeking a blend of romance, comfort, and culinary excellence in the heart of Victoria.

Excellent value, especially compared to the Empress. (yikes!)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David S wrote a review Oct 2020
Oakville, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Abigail's Hotel is a small, quaint, older establishment just a few blocks away from the waterfront, local restaurants and attractions. But that was OK because we wanted to spend our one night relaxing and enjoying the ambiance of the room.

We were greeted by the front receptionist, Judy who made us feel at home and explained the current protocol in regards to COVID. They offer a pre-dinner snack and breakfast with the option of eating in their small restaurant (subject to space) or delivered to the room. Later, I walked down for the afternoon snack to take back to the room but we decided to have breakfast delivered to our room.

The room was very cozy; comfortable step up bed, crisp white linens, fireplace with two fire logs, jetted tub for two, antique light fixtures and many other amenities which added to our enjoyment of the night.

Breakfast delivered by a very courteous gentleman, was presented in a basket and contained savory Scotch eggs, ham, two pieces of blueberry loaf, juice, fruit and warm coffee. Great way to start the day and a great way to end a wonderful stay.

Two things which should be taken into consideration; with three floors, they do not have an elevator so be sure you have no challenge climbing stairs. If you're looking to be situated around tourist spots, although located in a residential area it is an easy, quick walk to the harbour.

Next time we're looking for a relaxing, short get away, Abigail's Hotel will be on the list.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Island Traveller wrote a review Jul 2020
Nanaimo, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Abigail's on several occasions and were fortunate enough to spend a night there last week. Their response to Covid 19 restrictions is exceptional! We felt extremely safe and secure yet the hotel did not have to compromise any of its outstanding amenities. The staff is incredibly friendly and attentive and their attention to detail is impeccable. The delicious food has always been a huge draw for us and this visit did not disappoint. Evening appetizers are now pre-plated and we enjoyed them on the patio. To ensure social distancing, you are able to choose a time slot for breakfast service or have it delivered to your room for no extra charge. We have eaten at the top rated breakfast restaurants in Victoria and Abigail's surpasses them all! The food is freshly prepared by an in house chef and the beautifully decorated breakfast room provides a lovely backdrop for a relaxing morning. For anyone that is hesitant to venture out on a staycation during these unusual times I would highly recommend Abigail's. It was a wonderful respite away from the numerous challenges we have all been facing these last few months.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah C wrote a review Oct 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was so excited to stay here for the first few nights of our honeymoon, the photos on the website looked gorgeous and there were so many 5* reviews. Unfortunately when we first arrived at the hotel we were made to feel rather unwelcome. We were too early for check in but had checked ahead of time that we could still drop off our bags. It felt like the man at the desk was telling us off for being early and irritated by our arrival. We tried to make small talk about what a beautiful day it was but he had zero interest, it wasn’t a nice first impression of the hotel or start to our honeymoon. We came back after check-in time and were a bit disappointed that our bags hadn’t been taken to our room when it was ready, we had to take them up to the top floor ourselves. The room was pretty, very clean and the bed was comfy - but I wasn’t thrilled by the sink being outside the bathroom which felt unhygienic as well as noisy if using it at night. Also the fireplace, whilst lovely, allows all the light from the bathroom into the bedroom and also you can see through it into the bedroom/bathroom from the other room.

On the positive side, the welcome cookies and breakfast were delicious and a highlight of the stay - the breakfast staff were really friendly and chatting with them on our first morning cheered me up after the lukewarm welcome at the front desk the previous day.

Essentially we were expecting a romantic stay with a personal touch, but it actually felt much more corporate in it’s attitude, apart from the excellent breakfast service. We mentioned it was our honeymoon more than once in conversation with front desk staff but we never even got a word of congratulations. I wouldn’t expect an upgrade or freebies, we’d already booked ourselves into one of the more expensive rooms anyway, but to feel ignored was unexpected and disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Allison Fairhurst, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel
Responded Oct 14, 2022
Dear Sarah C Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with this community. I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and friendly service from the breakfast team. I am sorry, however, that your overall experience did not live up to your expectations. As a romantic boutique hotel, we strive to provide exceptional, personalized service. Honeymoons and romantic getaways are our specialty and I regret we did not provide the level of service for which we are known. I will follow up with the Guest Service Agent on duty at the time as guests are always welcome to arrive early to drop off bags off, which should have been delivered to you room prior to your check-in. Unfortunately, the limitations regarding the Rose Room category are physical aspects which cannot be altered. We do our best to describe the guestrooms, features, and atmosphere on our website through images, videos and over the phone, particularly with unique room types such as this. If you found anything misleading or absent with your reservation experience, I sincerely apologize. Should you wish to return to Abigail’s, we would be happy to assist in suggesting other room types which may better suit your travels. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you again for your feedback and patronage. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Allison Fairhurst General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brad F wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was probably one of the nicest rooms we ever stayed in, The room was an oversized victorian style with a king size 4 post bed. The room had a beautiful large stain glass window, working fire place and the bathroom was very large with a two person hot tub with shower. The stay included breakfast every morning and you could have drinks in the library, very classy.
The staff was equally impressive, everyone went out of their way to make you feel special. They were kind, helpful, courteous, and always met you with a smile. Obvious to say, we were impressed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
louisemackinnon wrote a review Oct 2020
Whistler, Canada2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at this fabulous property last week and couldn't be happier with our stay.

With a love for older Guest Houses, Abigail's certainly hit the mark with its quaint details found throughout the property, cozy library and gorgeous gardens.

The staff went above and beyond offering intimate and personable service throughout our entire stay. The highlight would be the efforts of the culinary team who had a continual supply of the most delicious house made treats which included full breakfasts with numerous selections to choose from each day. Beautifully made pastries, baked goods and fresh fruit salads along with appetizers in the afternoon. There was never a moment I was hungry!

The room was beautifully appointed with the biggest soaker tub I have ever laid eyes on, a bed so comfortable made with the softest linens, a spectacular wood burning fire place and plenty of windows with views for days.

An overall outstanding experience. I can't wait to return to Abigail's!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the gardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kfhxpal4o3 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We only had one night stay at the hotel but left there wishing it had been longer. The hotel is conveniently located close to restaurants and very near to downtown Victoria. The staff were professional, knowledgeable and accommodating. The room, (we had a room with a queen size bed) was tiny but beautifully appointed with wonderful linen, fluffy white towels and robes and all the other little things that one usually finds in a good hotel.
Breakfast was exceptionally good as was the welcoming cheese and cracker platter when we arrived
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ellen wrote a review Mar 2022
Burlington, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay at Abigail's recently, mother & daughter. It is beautifully decorated and well maintained in a quiet neighbourhood. When we entered our cozy room (Rose) there was quiet music playing (which was so lovely after a long day of travelling) and a handwritten personal welcome note. Such nice touches! Staff are friendly and helpful, and offer exceptional customer service. Breakfast was excellent and the chef kindly prepared personal dishes due to food allergies. Parking was a bit tight, but perhaps that is temporary due to expansion. I highly recommend Abigail's and hope to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eric K wrote a review Jul 2023
17 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We return to this hotel several times a year. The rooms and amenities are very good. The breakfasts are amazing and can be customized for any allergy need. The hotel goes out of their way to accommodate my wife's perfume allergy and they ensure that the room is prepared with scent free cleaners. The staff are so friendly and helpful we really enjoy coming back to see our friends on staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cherhawk wrote a review Apr 2022
Cochrane, Canada94 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great experience! This quiet, clean, well run heritage hotel has elegance that leaves you with a small town family feeling. We walked to all the main attractions (15 min) and felt at the end of the long days that we anticipated the 4 pm homemade soup time before deciding on an evening restaurant to try. I cannot even describe the chef made breakfasts included in the price and the great choices we had all 4 days we were there! This is definitely worth the $$ spent. And, they are in the process of building a new building with an elevator to suit those with limited mobility. Try it! We feel we hit the jackpot with this being the best hotel in the price range we have ever stayed in.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from abigailshotel
Victoria, BC2 contributions
Dear Linda T Unfortunately we do not offer a shuttle service, however there is a shuttle operated by Lucky to Go - Easy Ride Shuttle. You can visit their website at or call them for times and information. There are also many taxi's at the arrivals terminal. We are happy to arrange a taxi pick up at the hotel for transportation to the cruise ship terminal, please do not hesitate to contact us should you require assitance.
Bobbie B asked a question Aug 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Can we bring our dog?
Answer from Jurgen M
They do not allow pets
Answer from Janice W
Parkland, Florida24 contributions5 helpful votes
I apologize for not answering sooner. If you are referring to where the ferries come in then yes, about a 10 minute walk. If you are talking about cruise port, I am not sure but maybe map it for directions
Answer from smcewen
Calgary, Alberta13 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, there is no ground floor room in the original hotel - the rooms are all one or more levels up. It's two short flights of stairs. There is no elevator. However if you're in the newer part, the coach house, I believe there are ground floor rooms there and an elevator - why not check with the hotel? If mobility is a problem this may not be the best hotel for you as the breakfast room is in the old hotel and there are a couple stairs both front and back to get into that part of the hotel.
Marie D wrote a tip May 20
37 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"See if they have a room with a walk in shower"
Read full review
Quest03081150402 wrote a tip May 11
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look elsewhere."
Read full review
richardford2017 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Exeter, United Kingdom373 contributions116 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Any requests from guests are usually honoured. It’s the “can do-Abigail’s approach” So just ask, nothing seems to be too much trouble."
Read full review
twindates wrote a tip Apr 2024
Vancouver, Canada259 contributions83 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking on site .. bring an appetite for breakfast it’s incredible."
Read full review
jessieCanada wrote a tip Mar 2024
Vancouver Island, Canada71 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking can be limited but staff help with offsite parking."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Victoria area.
PRICE RANGE
$205 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
abigails hotel victoria
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandVictoria Capital Regional DistrictVictoriaFairfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ABIGAIL'S HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Abigail's Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Abigail's Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Russell Books (0.3 miles), Christ Church Cathedral (0.09 miles), and Royal Theatre (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Abigail's Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Abigail's Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Abigail's Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Abigail's Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fishhook, Blue Fox Cafe, and Cafe Brio.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Abigail's Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Portuguese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Abigail's Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Legislative Assembly of British Columbia (0.5 miles), Craigdarroch Castle (0.8 miles), and Empress Hotel National Historic Site of Canada (0.4 miles).
All Victoria HotelsVictoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Victoria
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars