We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

HI Victoria Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
HI Victoria Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for HI Victoria Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

We made our booking on booking.com. But when ee came at The hostel we suddenly had to pay more. They say that they cant help it. But i'm pretty sure that booking.com brings in The biggest part of their guests. The hostel was clean but it was noissy. Especially at girls dormetry where you litterly could hear what they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fitah
HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is very valuable to us. Please allow me to respond to some of your concerns and comments. First, we have been on Booking . Com for 3 weeks, so no, at this time our client base generated from booking.com is very small, but will grow I'm sure. Unfortunately, Booking .com does not allow many...

Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. It's a big dorm but quiet. I slept one week and everything was good. The hostel is located well. Breakfast 7.3 to 8.3 Good value for money. there are lockers which has provisions to secure our stuff. The showers do not allow change in privacy which is a bit annoying .The kitchen and common rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wywy34
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed September 21, 2015

I stayed there for one night in July. It was hoooorible! The staff was not friendly at all. Rooms are overcrowded with over 20 beds in one room. There was supposed to be breakfast from 7.30 to 9.30 am. When I came to the kitchen at 9 am there was nothing left! Even if it's just 30$ I wouldn't stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ungva
HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, sorry your experience with us was so negative. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service and have a very good customer service rating. The summer is very busy but we always try to answer questions and give good advise on a one to one level. Some of our rooms are large but clean as are our washroom...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

This place is cheap dirty and nasty. Drug addicts, homeless and general riff raff,the staff were rude and unhelpful. Unfortunately its a place Intrepid Travel/Peak Adventures take people to, clearly to save money but its truly a horrible place. Expect poor service, horrible staff and filthy dirty bedrooms and bathrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancy v
HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay but I feel your judgement of people staying here is a bit sewed. We do not knowingly house drug addicts, the homeless or other people of this nature. If fact unless you have official gov't ID with picture we will not check you in. We also do not accommodate anyone with a local...

Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

Avoid this place if you care about hanging out with seniors, homeless, senior rude staff and you enjoy the ambiance of a shelter for seniors. There is a lack of cool traveler ambiance here, people cooking at 4am that probably were sneaking into other people food (I caught an old lady taking someone else food and asking me if it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penelope P
HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your feedback. We cater to all age groups and do not discriminate by age as others places might. All guests we accommodate are not from Victoria or area because we do not allow locals to stay here. There are many travelers in the world over 30yrs and we welcome them if they provide the proper documentation to...

Reviewed August 15, 2015

I stayed here for 3 nights in July, I booked the female dorm as usual. Found it strange that you're not given a key, card or code to access the building or your room - pretty much anyone could walk in, I never got asked for ID or proof that I was staying there once. I also hated the dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alix L
HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Our WIFI has now been upgraded and all devices have a better connection and staying power. Our staff are extremely busy but we always take the time to help people out one on one. We have full time cleaners who clean the Hostel everyday for 7.5 hrs and then our night staff...

Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

84% on Hostelworld.com!? For what??? Most important thing to do when considering booking with the HI-Victoria is to read their policies. Somewhere in the fine print it said that single males and single females, travelling by themselves or in small single gender groups cannot book into their mixed dormitories. They confirm this in an email confirmation but of course I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joshua K
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed June 8, 2015

I really enjoyed staying in this hostel. Everybody was just so nice and helping! Of course it depends on the other guests in your dorm but all I can say that I had a great experience here. The staff was really welcoming and supportive!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mmoep
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed April 7, 2015

Hostel is very dreary - nothing going on other travellers seem to just sleep and not interact. Very bizzare that there are no keys, all that gets you in and out is a piece of paper with your name on it and all that separates the dorms are curtains (so dont bother paying more for the 4bed). Staying in an...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank twhi365
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed March 25, 2015

Hostel is fine, what you expect it to be. A bit of an odd space, old and somewhat functional, clean but not spotless. Is a good location though and I think it is exactly what you expect. Could use more information on the area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megan A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,465 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
3,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about HI Victoria Hostel

Address: 516 Yates St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1K8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Price Range: $24 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your HI Victoria Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from HI Victoria Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Probably upstairs would be quieter than downstairs dowm”
 of 5 bubbles O4021HLkathyb, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“Be prepared for bed bugs”
 of 5 bubbles nielgillespie, Jul 31, 2016 | Read review
“Didn't seem to matter - noisy everywhere”
 of 5 bubbles DebHnz, Jul 29, 2016 | Read review
“At the rear of the building away from traffic and nightlife, and in a small dorm away from showers...”
 of 5 bubbles JarrodL119, Mar 21, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a lower bunk and ask to be as far from the window (J1 - J12 bunks) as possible as there is a lot of street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles X246VUrobertb, Oct 4, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question