We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cambie Hostel Gastown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for: 1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cambie Hostel Gastown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in July. It's okay. The place was clean but it smells like urine in the corridors! Room was clean and comfortable. The showers aren't great - there were only two in the bathroom on our floor and they're not very private- the screens are almost see through and there's no area to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank CoupleOfBrummies
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Guest, Thank you for your review, we have given this feedback to the housekeeping and maintenance teams so that we can improve our overall facilities. We are planning extensive renovations of the hostel soon and will include your feedback in our repairs. I'm glad you enjoyed the bar downstairs, most of our guests enjoy having a bar downstairs with... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Cambie is a good place to stay for a few nights, it is nothing special but was great for me staying there a few nights on my own. The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfy. It is a good place to meet people as there is a great bar downstairs with decent prices and a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clarice W
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Clarice, We're glad to hear you enjoyed our venue and low prices, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back again! Regards, Cambie Hostel Management More 

Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was travelling for 3 months around Canada, and the Cambie Hostel in Vancouver was one of the worst Hostel I've ever been. There is a bar/restaurant downstairs which is actually very nice. But the staff was quite unfriendly. They put my luggage in a room, where everyone could go in and take it! The room was very big, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry for the bad experience you had while staying at our hostel. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate all guest feedback. I apologize if our staff didn't explain our luggage storage service to you, but this room is only accessible by hostel staff and all guests brought to this room are supervised. Guests... More 

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hostel I have ever stayed at. Absolutely disgustion shower/toilet room (4 stalls) shared by an entire floor. Cheap rickety bunk beds, curtains that don't close and an extremely loud bar with people yelling, music pumping and people singing in the street ALL night long, rude/incompetent reception/front desk agents. The whole experience felt every 3rd world. Absolutely no resemblance to... More 

Helpful?
Thank ehjut
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we always appreciate guest feedback so that we can improve our facilities. We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hostel and we apologize for any inconvenience and discomfort this caused you. We are currently working on updating our hostel facilities and we will be installing new... More 

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Cambie has pretty much everything you'd expect out of a hostel, good company, fellow travelers, impossibly ancient plumbing and cramped showers. That said, it's also super cheap, in a killer part of town (everything in Vancouver can be walked to from Gastown), and has a great and somewhat bizarre bar/club attached to it. About that bar, music goes 'til... More 

Helpful?
Thank DC2SF2SC
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you got to experience the hostel life and we hope to see you again. Thank you for staying with us! Regards, The Cambie Hostel Management More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not sure why so many negative reviews as you get what you pay for. I booked this place spur of the moment as my last reservation elsewhere fell through. I was hesitant to book based off the reviews but did so anyways as I needed a place that was central but also cheap. It definitely did not disappoint. The guy... More 

Helpful?
Thank hawadjie
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello, We're glad to hear you gave us a chance in spite of the bad reviews. We're happy to hear you had a good time during your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our hostel location. Thank you for your review, we are planning extensive renovations of the hostel soon and will include your feedback in... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place stank, really disgusting, and the room was not good at all, the ceiling and floor was coming off and there were no furniture apart from the bed and one chair. The smell was the worst part, it smelled like pee and rotten things(?). The staff was nice though.

Helpful?
Thank Stina L
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Stina, Thank you for your review, we will pass this feedback to the housekeeping and maintenance teams so that we can improve our overall facilities. We want our guests to feel comfortable and happy in our hostel so we're always open to suggestions. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you next time you are... More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in Cambie hostel for one night in August 2016. I'm a young traveller and not difficult to please but I wouldn't recommend this hostel. The corridors smelled of urine and the bedroom was dirty. Our window was wedged open with a golf ball and it wasn't difficult to see out through the windows which were destroyed with pigeon... More 

Helpful?
Thank Máire C
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we have given this feedback to the housekeeping and maintenance teams so that we can improve our overall facilities. We are planning extensive renovations of the hostel soon and will include your feedback in our repairs. I'm glad you enjoyed the bar downstairs, most of our guests enjoy having a bar downstairs with a great... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Cambie Hostel is very nice place to stay. Clean washrooms and beds, friendly and helpfull staff. There is a huge pub/restaurant downstairs. We tasted burgers and some beer. Plus breakfast! I can only recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Barru C
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Barru, We loved reading your review. We will pass along your feedback to our hostel staff! Thank you, The Cambie Hostel Management More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

The Cambie is probably the best hostel in Vancouver for people on a budget. I stayed here for several days on three visits. I wouldn't recommend it to people who sleep lightly or are easily annoyed by noise though. The bar downstairs is one of the most sought out bars in town and always packed. So if you're traveling solo... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nici B
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Nici, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad to heard that we are your first option when coming to Vancouver for a couple of days, hope to see you on your next visit! Regards, The Cambie Hostel Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#81 of 95 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#40 of 95 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#27 of 45 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#3 of 45 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Granville Street
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gastown

Neighborhood Profile
Gastown
A visit to Gastown is like turning back the clock and stepping into a bygone era. With the distinction of being Vancouver's oldest neighborhood, the many plaques that stud the cobbled streets of Gastown tell the story of its colorful past, giving Vancouver's history a more lively presence here than anywhere else. Having been originally founded around a popular worker's saloon, it's no wonder that today some of Vancouver's best micro-breweries, creative cocktail joints, and corner bars can be found in this area. Classical charm suffuses its many vintage boutiques and the brick-built structures that an army of creative professionals call home.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Cambie Hostel Gastown

Address: 300 Cambie St | Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Price Range: $23 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambie Hostel Gastown 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Cambie Hostel Gastown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambie Hostel Gastown Hotel Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay