We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Cambie Hostel Gastown

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cambie Hostel Gastown
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cambie Hostel is very nice place to stay. Clean washrooms and beds, friendly and helpfull staff. There is a huge pub/restaurant downstairs. We tasted burgers and some beer. Plus breakfast! I can only recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Barru C
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Barru, We loved reading your review. We will pass along your feedback to our hostel staff! Thank you, The Cambie Hostel Management More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Cambie is probably the best hostel in Vancouver for people on a budget. I stayed here for several days on three visits. I wouldn't recommend it to people who sleep lightly or are easily annoyed by noise though. The bar downstairs is one of the most sought out bars in town and always packed. So if you're traveling solo... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nici B
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Nici, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad to heard that we are your first option when coming to Vancouver for a couple of days, hope to see you on your next visit! Regards, The Cambie Hostel Management More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

The hostel rooms are dated and get unbearably hot during the night at least in the summer. It's facilities are then though food kept going missing from fridges. The bar below is well priced for the downtown location and is the saving grace for this hostel

Helpful?
Thank Cheetah1840
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We appreciate any guest feedback we receive as it helps us guide our hostel improvements. We are currently working on updating our hostel facilities and we will be installing new curtains and refinishing the flooring in our rooms. We are sorry your food went missing from the fridges but we are glad... More 

Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

This is the worst hostel I have ever been!! I have travelled for many countries, and this hostel absolutelly is the worst. The building is very old and filthy, on the first floor there is a very noising pub, that doesn't let anybody sleep. The room was dirty, with MOUSETRAPS just on the heater!!! And at night, 03 MOUSES entered... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos Tulio S
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we always appreciate guest feedback so that we can improve our facilities. We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hostel and we apologize for any inconvenience and discomfort this caused you. We are located in a heritage building in the oldest part of the city and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

Place is nice, Ioved the party downstairs, the commons, the showers and the general concept... But bedbugs? Seriously? The room mattress was full of them moving around, they have seemingly not been very bothered to hide away. It seems like there are a lot of complains about this problem, I wonder what the law is. Maybe it's time to do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nikolas S
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your review, we are always looking for ways to improve our hostel and appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our common areas and atmosphere in the cambie downstairs, however, we take bedbug incidents very seriously and we are very sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay. We... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Booked ahead of time for a private room (couple). Called a day ahead to make sure arriving at 1-3 am was okay since our flight came in late- assured it was fine. Arrived at 3am to find someone already asleep in our room. The manager asked us if it was okay and we said no- please find us a private... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sydney S
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

My friends and I stayed at the Cambie on a Friday night. The staff at the desk was great, they let us check in a little early. The room was basic. There were 3 of us, so we rented a 4 person coed ensuite room. We ended up with only us in the room. We were on the 3rd floor.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scarlettkatt
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Scarlet, We appreciate you taking the time to review us! We are glad to hear that you had a great time as a guest in our hostel. We would love to have you back! Thank you, The Cambie Hostel Management. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Only stayed 3 nights. Staff were great. Food at attached restaurant was great. Very quiet in rooms (couldn't hear parties in pub below). Free wifi. Some electrical sockets didn't work. Lockers in the rooms. Shower pressure not great. Had a great time while there.

Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Melissa, Thank you for your review, We always appreciate our guest's feedback! Regards, The Cambie Hostel Management More 

Ferrara, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

We booked the room with my friend a few months ago. Today when we came, the room was really dirty. My friend and I work in hospitality, we have never seen a room like that. The mistake we did was booking without checking the comments on tripadvisor. I let you see what was expecting us. We've been refounded and decided... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony1380
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

Small, clean and cold hostel to spend few hours. It's a good choice if you are planning to satay as less as possible. Very safe and secure, the showers commons and very funny because you practically take a shower in front of everybody around the bathroom!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerardito26
Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel Gastown, responded to this review

Hello Gerardo, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're always open to feedback and suggestions! We are always trying our best to keep improving. Thank you, Cambie Hostel Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#76 of 96 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget Inn Patricia Hotel
#71 of 96 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Gastown
Delta Vancouver Suites
Delta Vancouver Suites
#30 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Gastown
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
St Clair Hotel - Hostel
#27 of 44 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gastown

Neighborhood Profile
Gastown
A visit to Gastown is like turning back the clock and stepping into a bygone era. With the distinction of being Vancouver's oldest neighborhood, the many plaques that stud the cobbled streets of Gastown tell the story of its colorful past, giving Vancouver's history a more lively presence here than anywhere else. Having been originally founded around a popular worker's saloon, it's no wonder that today some of Vancouver's best micro-breweries, creative cocktail joints, and corner bars can be found in this area. Classical charm suffuses its many vintage boutiques and the brick-built structures that an army of creative professionals call home.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Cambie Hostel Gastown

Address: 300 Cambie St | Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Price Range: $24 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambie Hostel Gastown 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cambie Hostel Gastown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambie Hostel Gastown Hotel Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay