We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cambie Hostel Gastown

Save
Traveler (40)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent4%
  • Very good15%
  • Average29%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible33%
2 weeks ago
“Location is the only positive ”
3 weeks ago
“Pretty lousy”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Self-Serve Laundry
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
6
20
39
22
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
6
20
39
22
44
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the worst hostel I've stayed in anywhere around the world. So basic it's not comfortable. On level 2, of the two women's showers only one was working for my entire stay at the hostel. The beds were uncomfortable, linen threadbare, kitchen lacked basic...More

Thank SusieQ1950
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wouldn’t recommend staying here. The location is it’s only saving grace. Our private double room was actually just a bunk bed in a private room. The bathroom doors need to be unlocked with a dodgy key, showers are tiny with no room to put anything...More

Thank Kira S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I think for the price of the hostel compare to others, the Cambie hostal ain't really good because of the bathrooms and customer service. I have the impression that in general, after staying in three hostals in Vancouver, Canadian recepnionist are pretty apathetic and impolite,...More

Thank Jesus R
Reviewed March 2, 2018

Okay so apparently there is only one Trip Advisor page for the Downtown and Gastown locations, so for the record, my review is for the Downtown location on Seymour St. I was staying for 1 night and needed something central. Check in time is 2pm...More

1  Thank LiddleWanderer
Reviewed February 13, 2018

It's not as bad as the reviews make it seem. Didn't see any mouse, the common room is not huge but is big enough, really fast internet and the room can be really big if you're lucky. The worst on this hostal comes from a...More

1  Thank dego s
Response from Mariana B, Manager at Cambie Hostel GastownResponded March 22, 2018

Hello Dego, Thank you for leaving us a review! We're happy you didn't let the reviews affect your stay with us. We're really proud of the services we offer and it's good you noticed that! We hope to see you back again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$30 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$30 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (40)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)
Nearby
Gastown
A visit to Gastown is like turning back the clock and
stepping into a bygone era. With the distinction of
being Vancouver's oldest neighborhood, the many
plaques that stud the cobbled streets of Gastown tell
the story of its colorful past, giving Vancouver's
history a more lively presence here than anywhere
else. Having been originally founded around a popular
worker's saloon, it's no wonder that today some of
...More
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cambie Hostel Gastown staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"If you still want to stay here, avoid the second floor by all means."
Read review
"maybe the second floor to be far away from the kitchen and mouse"
Read review
"Dont stay here at all"
Read review
"Recommend 2nd floor for better sleep"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing