We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 529: English reviews
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed Here few days in The middle of Vancouver - direct on Main Shopping Street of Vancouver and quite close To a Park. You can Walk Or use Bus Lines direct from Hotel To get Arround To Harbour Or other top places in Vancouver The room Are smaller but all You Need! Bath is really small but also all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sven K
Liberec
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Howard Johnson Vancouver before and after returning from a cruise and I was disappointed only that I had not booked longer stay. The design, decor and Family atmosphere of the hotel is simply stunning and my favourite room, which had a nice sitting area, very clean bathroom and so so cozy Queen Bed. Hotel team and staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank JakubFucik
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As first ever hotel stay in Canada certainly could have picked better, first impressions are important and sadly from unwelcoming staff to noisy room it was a terrible first impression. Would not recommend anyone to stay here especially on the street side, people singing along the street at 3am, seemed to like to stand outside hotel. Granville street is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank ubiquitous7

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is located on Granville street. There is a heavy concentration of homeless sleeping on the street and drug addicts. At night, because of 2 nightclubs across the street and one next door, the street is dirty abd noisy. People getting sick on the side walk. People waiting in line use the washrooms in the lobby area. There was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob L
Hojovan, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mr Bob L. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing your review. I was surprised by the amount you paid, and you and me both know, that is not correct amount. The cost is less and also you forgot to mention that you did park at the hotel for 2 nights, not 3 nights, which... More 

Portlaoise
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was fine. But it's been a week since we stayed and HoJo still haven't returned over €250 of a pre-auth they took on my debit card, despite also charging me about €200 for the stay in a separate transaction. Had to sleep in the car one night because I couldn't access my own money before having a family member... More 

Helpful?
Thank thebarfly1
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Corridors were hot & smelled of mildew, no electrical sockets near the bed to charge phones. The toilet overflowed spilling waste on the floor and when reported to reception they offered me a plunger in a plastic bag containing previous users excrement, didn't even ask for a room number so it must be a regular occurence, emphasising the waste on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony C
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were nice enough at check in and through out the stay. However once we got up to the room it was clear that it needed renovation, badly! Then came the night, the road was quiet but the people were a whole other story, shouting all night and such. Then we discovered the next morning that Granville street was... More 

Helpful?
Thank DHouston25
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

These hotel rooms are in need of a renovation. The room smelled moldy, there were no screens on the windows, no hot water the second morning there, the bedding and furniture is outdated and woke up to someone swearing very loud the first morning there. There are quite a few homeless people that are close by if this is an... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 821tylerb
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

we changed to this hotel to give ourselves a break from the overpriced accommodations in Vancouver...what a mistake we made. The hotel is dark, dreary and the air was terribly heavy to breathe. When the air conditioner was turned on it smelled of cigarette smoke and further added to my breathing problem. After a night of coughing I was rushed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan M G
Hojovan, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review

Dear SusanM, thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We spoke with paramedics and were told that it is very common for people with asthma to get asthma attack while having common flu or cold, that's why it is highly recommended to carry... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#79 of 95 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 1,517 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#81 of 95 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 95 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
A hodgepodge of landscapes, the West End combines verdant gardens and blocky modern architecture, with Victorian bits and Edwardian bobs in between. It is a paradise for takeout food, take-away coffee, and perhaps incongruously, some of Vancouver's most languid lines of beachfront. English Bay and Sunset Beach invite swimmers, strollers, and picnic-lovers to take in dusk settling over the water, or to jog along with the sunrise, offering breathtaking views at any time of day. The West End merges together so many looks and flavors probably because it functions a hub: its the leafy pit-stop between nightlife and entertainment venues along Davie Street, and the shopping paradise that is Robson Street, offering visitors beautiful parkland to rest on, and quick, easy food to re-fuel with in between ventures.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1176 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Price Range: $65 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Vancouver
Vancouver Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay