We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 625: English reviews
Burlington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perhaps the only odd note about our three-day stay at the Barclay House was that we did not meet our host, Dennis, until the last day. He lives elsewhere and we were greeted by members of his staff, who served the generous breakfasts daily, on our arrival. However, on our departing day, Dennis was more than gracious with his time,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike P
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Never stayed at a BnB before but we stayed here as we could stay one night (post cruise) all hotels would only book for two nights. What a delight, I have been converted. This place was a fantastic location, we walked to town, it is in a beautiful street. We found the host Dennis to be fantastic, he had great... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RebekaKelen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This B&B is in a prime area with easy access to everything! Quick drive to Stanley Park and walking distance to Roebson St. Dennis is a charming host and breakfast was splendid! Note to Dennis: We accidentally walked off with the keys to our room. We will drop them into the mail as soon as we can. Sorry for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda P
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location for shops, restaurants and main attractions - excellent Cleanliness - excellent Staff - very polite and Dennis was great, very helpful with advice and suggestions. Breakfast - very good, but would have liked to have orange juice and water and staff did not appear more than once to ask Bathroom in Garden Room needs updating, would personally prefer a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz H
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our first stay at Barclay House was in 2013. When our travels brought us back to Vancouver again, we did not hesitate to book our stay at Barclay House again. Dennis and his staff are the best. The house may be old (built in 1904), but it is well maintained and clean. The rooms are spacious and "cozy". The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank SCKricket
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Good Location, good breakfast and reasonably priced for Vancouver. They have off-street parking, too. We were here 6 years or so ago and liked it then and we were happy this time too, despite a change in ownership/management in the interim. We had the front room over the porch which was quite spacious. The only drawback was an old TV... More 

Helpful?
Thank pickascreennamepicka
Eastsound, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Agree with previous reviewer that this is a difficult review to write. Upon crossing the threshold, we were presented with a charge slip for signature. While clean, the rooms could use some updating and repairs in the bathroom. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, cold store-bought muffin and an "egg-McMuffin" with lettuce and tomato on a cold bagel. This is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank jerry5162
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

My wife just stayed here with her mom, sisters, and sister in law and they all loved thier stay. This was her second time staying here and her mom/sisters first time. The beach room was beautifully decorated. Dennis was fun and engaging HIs eggs benedict were delicious. All around all five of them felt like this was a great choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Winslow2015
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

A very difficult review to write, location, staff and breakfast are all excellent and could not be faulted or bettered. The problem was with the Garden Room. Whilst the room was comfortable and clean certain aspects needs improving, the shower was lacking in pressure and the bath had large areas of damage. A Floor Tile around the bath was damaged... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PHofUK
BarclayHouseBB, Public Relations Manager at Barclay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello PhofUK, Thank you so much for taking time for the comments. And we appreciate it a lot. But its a bit confusing. We inspect all the areas you've mentioned and we don't see anything that needs to be replace. The shower works perfectly and the pressure is just right knowing its on a ground floor. Large areas of damage... More 

Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

An attractive Victorian house within an easy walking distance of all attractions. We had the room at the top which was clean, light and spacious. The extra steps to the room are quite narrow and steep. Breakfasts were varied and plentiful during our 4 night stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank GordonRoger
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

264 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (216)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#1 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 2,384 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 3,049 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,902 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
A hodgepodge of landscapes, the West End combines verdant gardens and blocky modern architecture, with Victorian bits and Edwardian bobs in between. It is a paradise for takeout food, take-away coffee, and perhaps incongruously, some of Vancouver's most languid lines of beachfront. English Bay and Sunset Beach invite swimmers, strollers, and picnic-lovers to take in dusk settling over the water, or to jog along with the sunrise, offering breathtaking views at any time of day. The West End merges together so many looks and flavors probably because it functions a hub: its the leafy pit-stop between nightlife and entertainment venues along Davie Street, and the shopping paradise that is Robson Street, offering visitors beautiful parkland to rest on, and quick, easy food to re-fuel with in between ventures.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1351 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Price Range: $79 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay