We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Save
Traveler (63)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (19)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good45%
  • Average26%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“granville street”(31 reviews)
“free breakfast”(21 reviews)
“homeless people”(14 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Laundry Service
Free Parking
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
42
109
68
22
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
42
109
68
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranville streetfree breakfasthomeless peopledorm roomown bathroomcommon areasbreakfast roomnight lifestayed here for nightsthe wi fiskytrain stationenjoyed my staybeds were comfortablefew blocksstanley parkcerealyha
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The beds are like rock and I had to bring my own pillow as its the same.the staff are less than helpful and show a lack off energy and enthusiasm like most other hostels.There is a reason that there are vacancies is because the other...More

Thank Scott M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately we were underwhelmed with our stay. Location was great as literally on the main road and short walks to Yaletown and gastown etc. We had room 124 a private room with ensuite. We knew what to expect from a hostel but we did feel...More

Thank Stevee E
Response from VCTHostelManager, Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver CentralResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I'm sorry for the disruption to your sleep by the night cleaner. The desk staff was right in that we have not had complaints about this, but I will remind our two night cleaners that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying in a dorm, and spottet a mouse jumping out of one of our bags. We were quickly moved to a new room. And we crealy got the feeling that they have experianced mice in the rooms before. Otherwise a fine but a...More

Thank Klara T
Response from VCTHostelManager, Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver CentralResponded 6 days ago

I am very sorry to hear about this problem with your room. We take all reports of pests/rodents seriously, and we have a pest control agent on contract who checks the hostel on a regular schedule to be sure that no problems have a chance...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Reception small and checkin 3pm. However reception staff inconsistent and unhelpful as did let some people checkin before 3pm, while we had sat and waited over 1hr. Location good for sightseeing, although  Vancouver has a lot of homeless sleeping in doorways and...More

Thank marieanddon
Response from VCTHostelManager, Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver CentralResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I know it can be frustrating to see someone check while you're still waiting, especially when you arrived first. Although our checkin time is 3PM, sometimes a few specific rooms or beds in dorms...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights upon arriving into Vancouver, pros; 1. Good location is regards to accessing tourist spots like Stanley park, English bay, Gastown, Davie St, etc 2. Decent breakfast, coffee, bagels, fruit, muffins, cereal. 3. Quiet night sleep - our room...More

Thank Jeb1303
Response from VCTHostelManager, Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver CentralResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and breakfast! I'm sorry to hear about the housekeeping issue -- your request was a simple one and I'm not sure how it could have been misunderstood, but I will speak to...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Details
Price range
$52 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$52 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (63)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (19)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Granville Street
Granville Street spans many, multiple city blocks and
has become so fastidiously known for its nightclubs
and watering holes that it's fondly nicknamed the
city's 'Entertainment District.' Friday and Saturday
nights are the most popular and lively, with young
revelers taking to the streets in droves and keeping
the party going until late. Granville Street, being
mostly open to pedestrian-only traffic, has a healthy
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ClubFred6
August 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from watchsmart | Reviewed this property |
I think you would feel comfortable enough at the hostel. I've stayed a few times, and there have always been a few travelers in the 50+ demo. You'll stick out, but this is a much tamer hostel than the rest in the... More
0
Votes
Harsh G
February 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from umleong | Reviewed this property |
There are local parking surrounding areas but not at hostel.
0
Votes
Rhiannon W
February 13, 2017|
Answer
Response from umleong | Reviewed this property |
Hello, we left our luggage there just after check out for a few hours only. There is a small room for our luggages. Unclear whether hostel would allow you to store luggages over a few days.My suggestion: travel light!
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Join up as a hostel memeber, you will get your money back and it has other benefits"
Read review
"look elsewhere"
Read review
"Avoid at all cost."
Read review
"Fourth floor is the quietest. There is a section on the third floor that smells like weed whenever I visit."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing