We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 685: English reviews
Hackensack, New Jersey
Reviewed September 9, 2015

Recently stayed there for four nights, found it very convenient to major attractions. Self service breakfast was excellent with hot dishes( it said continental breakfast from booking), self make waffles was my favorite breakfast each morning. You make your own in three minutes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shl12513
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast as we believe as the old adage goes, it is the most important meal of the day. We have done a great deal over the years to improve the breakfast, experimenting with different items being added...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed September 4, 2015

The hotel is comfortable and clean. They had a good offering of pastries, toast, waffles, eggs and bacon or sausage for breakfast along with juice and coffee. My only complaint is that it is priced high for just a basic place to sleep!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Kevin K, Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and our hotel. As for the rate, I am sorry you did not feel you received full value for your stay with us, we always try to ensure guest satisfaction and one of the ways we do so...

Reviewed September 3, 2015

The location was ideal. It is within walking distance to many outstanding eateries of diverse offerings and pricing. As far as the hotel itself, the bar was low. Our stay barely met it. Free wifi, parking. Clean room as far as the naked eye. But the dated decor and the obviously old upholstery and linens do warrant a once-over with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We admit that our hotel is getting a little long in the tooth in regards to the décor, however we still get a great deal of comments about how well it is kept. Being fifteen...

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed September 1, 2015

We flew in at night, stayed out by the airport and took the train into the city in the morning. Our best hope was that we could drop our bags and go exploring. Instead, we found that our room was ready and well located. Throughout our stay we were impressed by the friendly service and convenience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindarferguson
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, I am happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and service. We often provide an early check in free of charge to our guests upon availability and it is because our hard working housekeeping staff that we are usually able to do so. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with...

United States
Reviewed September 1, 2015

The hotel is very pleasant. I enjoyed the clean rooms and wifi. The lobby is on the small side and also the breakfast area as well. The breakfast was decent and enough to get you thru the morning. There is a market next door that can help fill in the gaps. The bus stop to downtown is about a 2...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, I am happy to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. In regards to the area, we often hear that our neighborhood is "rough around the edges" or less desirable, however the neighborhood of Mount Pleasant is constantly voted by local publications amongst the top neighborhoods in Vancouver, usually...

Reviewed September 1, 2015

Overall the hotel was clean, It is not really walking distance to downtown but the location is still reasonable. The parking lot was very interested, It was this small underground space and you have to be an expert driver to maneuver your car in that lot. The morning staff at Reception could have been friendlier but the girl in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mirzaasmara
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We like to operate our hotel as translucently as possible if you look over reviews there are several which point out the difficulty of our parking lot and we like to inform guests as much as we...

Courtenay, Canada
Reviewed August 28, 2015

We spent three nights at the BW Uptown. We booked via Expedia and got a reasonable rate. Check in was fast. We had a nice room on the 3rd floor. Upon first look the room was in good condition but we were disappointed to find hair on the bathroom floor and a empty pop can and plastic cup on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca967
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, I apologize for the delayed response as it appears a previous response was not approved for publishing.I am sorry to hear there were issues with your room upon check in and I would like to assure you that we do hold ourselves to a high standard in regards to the cleanliness of...

El Sobrante, California
Reviewed August 26, 2015

Great price/value but not convenient to downtown. However, if you get an all day pass you can ride buses and metro all day. Was able to see all the key tourist areas with this pass without the hassle of traffic and finding parking..highly recommend the pass. Also, there is a fantastic Italian restaurant (Italia Bella) next door to the hotel......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyMen
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that your first visit to Vancouver was enjoyable. Also thank you for your recommendation of the day pass. Vancouver transit is fantastic and from our hotel for most attractions only 1 bus is needed the number "19 - Stanley Park"...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed August 24, 2015

Hotel located beside a small shopping center and a terrific Italian restaurant. Entire hotel is very clean, rooms and beds are comfortable with fridge and Keurig coffee maker. Bathrooms have extremely short/low toilets and no grab bars. Breakfast is extensive and delicious, though seating is limited when hotel is full. Staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JBkOregon
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and for future stays we do have rooms available with more accessible bathrooms if you require it you can call the hotel direct to request these rooms. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Dave...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed August 15, 2015

Pros (not in order): friendly staff; clean; excellent breakfast; decent price/value; medium size room; refrigerator/microwave in room; decent wifi speed (whereas many motels/hotels have abysmally slow wifi speeds) Cons (not in order): very crowded breakfast room; very limited parking; questionable area crime-wise; sink drained very slowly; AC did not cool down room (complained but got unsatisfactory result/reply); try to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roadtripguyaz
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Roadtripguyaz for your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality. Though I am sorry to hear that we were not able to resolve the issue with your Air Conditioner to your satisfaction, all of our units are within 2 years old and in good working condition, unfortunately we cannot know when...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

305 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
King Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Full Room (33)
Viewed
Standard King Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (27)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (Upper Level) (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 89 in Vancouver
789 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
698 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Main

Neighborhood Profile
South Main
South Main, or SoMa, is a neighbourhood in upswing. Inhabited by young humanitarian professionals in converted lofts and studio apartments, what was once an industrial centre is now a wellspring of vintage and eco fashion shops, contemporary sawdust-floor galleries, craft beer joints, and basement acting studios. All set to an Art Deco background with a strong blue collar sensibility underpinning each new pop-up and foodie trend, SoMa is on the rise.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
***PLEASE BE ADVISED THE LOT TO THE IMMEDIATE SOUTH OF THE HOTEL IS CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION*** We expect disruptions during the day time through out the excavation period. Thank you, Dave Stevens Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > South Main , Mt. Pleasant
Price Range: $88 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“go somewhere else! - unless you normally live in an igloo.”
 of 5 bubbles AbbotsfordTina, Jan 13, 2017 | Read review
“elevator is slow”
 of 5 bubbles mishymuffincakes, Dec 29, 2016 | Read review
“We had a room that faced the courtyard on the second floor, it was really nice and quite.”
 of 5 bubbles marijas220, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“Not overlooking the busy street.”
 of 5 bubbles LeeAnger, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Best to get an upper level room however not sure how much quieter those would be”
 of 5 bubbles timl92, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question