We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sylvia Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sylvia Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,162: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for 7 nights 2 weeks ago. Part of a group of 32. This hotel is nearly 100 yrs old and therefore does not have some of the amenities of a modern hotel, eg no swimming pool and only 2 rather slow lifts. But it has charm and character and abundance. Our room was on 3 floor and was... More 

Helpful?
Thank yarrum47
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2016

Great location on English Bay - beach just across the road, you can walk the sea wall or go up into Stanley Park and visit the Aquarium - all very close.In the opposite direction a great selection of shops and restaurants. We had a "family room" one room with twin bed another larger room with queen bed the bathroom a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
About Hotel's Favorite Review
The Hotel’s Favorite Review is a recent traveler review pinned as a favorite by this property’s owner or manager.
Detroit
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recommended by a friend from Canada we're so pleased we chose this hotel. The welcome we received could not have been warmer or more informative, and the staff continued to go out of their way to accommodate any requests. The room was perfect for our 10 day stay, immaculately clean, with a king bed, and a comfortable sitting area. Since... More 

Helpful?
Thank NJArnfield
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

I enjoyed reading your review and thank-you for taking the time to write a few words about your stay. The location is often mentioned by guests as it is a perfect location to explore Vancouver. I was most pleased about your comments on the cleanliness of your room and the service offered by my crew. they all work so hard... More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was my second time staying here. This trip was with my daughter though, as my husband wouldn't be able to tolerate the crowds during the August long weekend. We got room 303 this time. This is one of the smaller rooms. Still a queen sized bed, but very little room to move around it. It was so tight, that... More 

Helpful?
Thank J0an123
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments about your stay. Fire works nights are some of the busiest nights in the west end and yes we do our best to help control the crowds and protect our guests from any issues. The plug issue is something I will look into to find out why the lamp is unplugged because that can be annoying.... More 

Galiano Island, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our first time staying at this establishment in downtown English Bay, Vancouver, b.c. It's right on the water, or should I say it's just across the street from English Bay! Old hotel, with some awful updates to the rooms. We stayed on the front rooms of the hotel...with a view thru the trees to the water....clean enough, friendly, helpful workers.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Will F
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your comments and I was happy to read that you brought your pet, I believe we are the only hotel in Vancouver that does not charge extra for pets. I am sorry you do not approve of our renovations, we have tired very hard to stay true to the past heritage. The comment you made that made me... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was quite run down, musty and in need of an upgrade The front desk staff was cool, in the aloof sense, and not helpful. They also were dressed poorly, and did not have a professional manner. The lobby had quaint photographs from English Bay 80 year ago which I enjoyed. The elevators were slow and felt like they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claude M
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

I am not sure what you were expecting in a heritage hotel over 104 years old, I am sorry that our style was not what you expected. I disagree with some of your comments but every one is entitled to their opinion. I thank you for your thoughts. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Out first time visiting Vancouver, staying for only two nights. The location was fantastic, close to Stanley Park and restaurants. It was a quiet and spacious room and we had a great night sleep after a long flight. Loved the location !!

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa V
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Well I hope that you will return as only 1 visit to the Sylvia Hotel is not enough, lots to see and do close buy. I agree with you the location is fantastic. Happy to read that you had a great sleep which is really important while travelling. Please do return and when you book always call the hotel directly... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful, old hotel in an amazing location. Unfortunately the rooms and especially the hallways absolutely reek of mold and mildew. If you are allergic or even sensitive I would recommend staying somewhere else. Within 5 minutes of being in my room after checking in I was having an anaphylactic reaction to the mold and had to use... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank turntotrip
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your room we assigned to you. I am not sure that you were smelling but we have been sold out every night all summer with out any issues. I have sent up my maintenance man and head housekeeper to see if they can identify anything. I was happy to read that the... More 

Kurmond, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just spent 2 nights at the Sylvia, our first time in Vancouver, we loved it. The location overlooking English Bay is superb, quite and picturesque but close to the bus stop for a quick trip into the downtown, close to Stanley Park, local cafes and restaurants just up the street. The hotel was very good, old world charm, nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank kenandkaren2016
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your kind words about the staff the service they provided for your stay. The location is often mentioned as we are very close to every thing and the beach is right across the street. I was happy to read the you were able to eat in the restaurant and enjoyed your room. You are correct we are a... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed twice at the Sylvia total of 3 nights beginning of September 2016. Very quiet situation with lovely view (through the trees!) of the Bay. Both our rooms were clean and comfortable. Coffee, tea machine, TV and iron and ironing board were welcome as we had just travelled across Canada by train! Staff very obliging and helpful. The bar which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally I
Ross D, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

I know that in some rooms the leaves on the trees do hamper the view of English Bay, however next month you will not need to worry about that as all the leaves fall off until next summer. I was happy to read that you found the room and all the amenities met your needs. We truly hope that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

644 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (378)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Bayside Double Full Room (42)
Viewed
King Room (36)
Viewed
King Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 95 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#38 of 95 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 95 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,256 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#17 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
A hodgepodge of landscapes, the West End combines verdant gardens and blocky modern architecture, with Victorian bits and Edwardian bobs in between. It is a paradise for takeout food, take-away coffee, and perhaps incongruously, some of Vancouver's most languid lines of beachfront. English Bay and Sunset Beach invite swimmers, strollers, and picnic-lovers to take in dusk settling over the water, or to jog along with the sunrise, offering breathtaking views at any time of day. The West End merges together so many looks and flavors probably because it functions a hub: its the leafy pit-stop between nightlife and entertainment venues along Davie Street, and the shopping paradise that is Robson Street, offering visitors beautiful parkland to rest on, and quick, easy food to re-fuel with in between ventures.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Price Range: $105 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay