We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,116: English reviews
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed December 15, 2014

Chose the hotel because of its proximity to English Bay - about 100 meters. Easy access and right in the area which is packed with restaurants and bars. Check in was speedy and our room was on the top floor with a balcony giving us a view of English Bay. We sleep with a window open and Saturday night was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeachlandCalculator
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review

Hello I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was an ideal choice to be close to English Bay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the are to your liking. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Vancouver.

White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed December 15, 2014

this hotel was located in English Bay. There are great walking, biking, running paths. Beautiful sunsets right down by the ocean. Very fun location. The lounge was really fun with 80's music on Saturday night. Great people watching. Tonnes of great restaurants around and just a 15 minute walk to the water taxi to Grandville Island.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Terry C
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review

Hello Thank You very much for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and sounds like you had some good weather and were able to take in some beautiful sunsets that English Bay has to offer on those clear nights. The Soul Train Social on Saturdays are great fun and create quite the...

Vancouver BC
Reviewed December 11, 2014

Stay at Best Western lots and found this hotel to meet same high standards as their other properties. Close to downtown with lots of restaurants and shops right in the same area. Close to beach and bike/walking trails.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WoodyTod
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review

Hello Thank You very much for the review. i am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The hotel has an amazing location close to lots of shopping on Denman and off course on the famous Robson street as well. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed December 6, 2014

This was the 2nd Grey Cup weekend stay for our little entourage. We had booked exactly a year early with Eddy who made sure all our rooms were together and that everything was in place when we arrived . We were a half hour walk to the downtown activities and Football game but Vancouver is such a neat City to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Danny M
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review

Thank You for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take in a great football game with what was almost the greatest finish ever. The Park Pub had a great vibe after the game and who couldn't go for the all you can eat ribs! It was great weekend for Vancouver and for the...

armstrong bc, Canada
Reviewed December 5, 2014

service is great and the location offers a great variety of things to do walk to Stanley park, or around the sea wall. shopping, eating and drinking.my girlfriend and I have been staying at this hotel once a year for a few years now

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne S
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to review our property and I am glad this is one of your favorite hotels. it is great to hear you make in annual trip and enjoy all the amenities that are near the hotel. Stanley park and the Seawall are spectacular and second to none. we look forward to seeing you next year...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed December 2, 2014

This is a very decent hotel with recent renovations and a really good restaurant/bar attached. Good internet and nice service. You can see the beach and ocean of English Bay and walk there in 2 minutes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tsetska
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review

Hello Thank You for the review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Plus Sands and also were also able to take in the Park Pub in the hotel lobby. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewed November 27, 2014

I am still staying in the hotel and checking out in a few hours. We have been staying here for three nights and the stay was okay in the beginning. Nothing stood out but nothing was bothering either. Unfortunately my four year old daughter has been sick since we got here and the weather hasnt been great either, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dipti K
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review

Hello Thank You for the review, I do apologize about any miss communication there was with the Front Desk. We have what is called an environmental plan and if you are staying for multiple nights you can opt in to having your room not turn downed in exchange for a $10 food and beverage voucher. I do apologize for any...

Nanaimo , B.C.
Reviewed November 25, 2014

We had a very clean and comfortable room.The beds are comfortable and the room is furnished nicely. The hotel staff is very friendly and the value and location of this hotel is excellent. We will certainly return this hotel when we plan another trip to Vancouver.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NanaimoTime
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review

Hello Thank You for reviewing the Best Western Plus Sands. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found our beds to be very comfortable. The location is second to none being only steps away from the beach and a short walk to Stanley Park. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Alberta
Reviewed November 23, 2014

Great things - The location is wonderful. It's just close enough to downtown to feel connected with the city but also near Stanley Park and English Bay. - Rooms aren't the Ritz, but they are clean and sunny and have everything you need. Staff - from the front desk people to the cleaning ladies- were cheerful and helpful. - If...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bohemian_duck
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review

Hello Thank You very much for the review, I am glad you enjoyed the stay and found the staff all to be friendly and courteous. The location is great and has everything you need. I am glad you were able to take in the Friday Night Quiz as well it is great, The host Benji is very interactive and makes...

New York City, New York
Reviewed November 23, 2014

STAY DETAILS June 4-6, 2014 1 double room Rate: $151.53/night with 20% discount at Orbitz.com I cannot recommend Best Western Plus Sands based on the room (room 419) we were given coz of the very loud air-conditioner, the small size of the room and the inefficient layout. If you still decide to book this hotel (there are some positives), do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aylee
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review

Hello Thank You for taking the time to review our property. You are correct room 419 is a smaller room with a bit of a different configuration because of the elevator. we do realize this and we charge less for this room than any other rooms in the hotel and you are correct we do rent that room out last....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

490 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (251)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (227)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (31)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Balcony (39)
Viewed
King Balcony Room (33)
Viewed
King Mountain View Room (37)
Viewed
Other (29)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
1,335 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
1,502 reviews
South Main
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
A hodgepodge of landscapes, the West End combines verdant gardens and blocky modern architecture, with Victorian bits and Edwardian bobs in between. It is a paradise for takeout food, take-away coffee, and perhaps incongruously, some of Vancouver's most languid lines of beachfront. English Bay and Sunset Beach invite swimmers, strollers, and picnic-lovers to take in dusk settling over the water, or to jog along with the sunrise, offering breathtaking views at any time of day. The West End merges together so many looks and flavors probably because it functions a hub: its the leafy pit-stop between nightlife and entertainment venues along Davie Street, and the shopping paradise that is Robson Street, offering visitors beautiful parkland to rest on, and quick, easy food to re-fuel with in between ventures.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Address: 1755 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Price Range: $92 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands staff and other travelers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Best views are on the rooms facing Davie Street; you can see a glimpse of the beach.”
992jeromec, 1 week ago | Read review
“back side is best but noisy construction project across the street (backside of motel) from 7.30-3.30pm on weekdays only.”
46carpediem, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Front of hotel has ocean views! It's maybe a bit noisier though as it fronts onto Davie, but I think the windows are new, as it was quiet.”
U316CEjasont, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Our room overlooked a parking facility, but was pleasant.”
44MVTraveler, Mar 17, 2017 | Read review
“Great views facing Davie Street, but to avoid street noise ask for a room facing the back.”
mahfamily, Feb 25, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question