We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Summerhill Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Summerhill Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Summerhill Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

Excellent guesthouse. Very convenient for tofino and the beaches and nearby food and shops. Very friendly and knowledgeable owners, made us feel relaxed and at home. Super clean and comfortable accomodation with good kitchen (we had the Garden Suite). Peaceful and quiet and nice garden for our daughter to play in.

Helpful?
Thank Sam L
Langley City, British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Excellent place to stay. Weather and surfing was great! The proprietor had useful advise to improve our stay. We would definitely stay at Summerhill again. The wild side grill was great, only downside was the line up for the taco truck was too long. Just a reason to return. Thanks Harold!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jenniplus1
New Mills
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

We had a great stay in Tofino and Summerhill was a great base to explore the area from. Harold was a great hos and made some excellent recommendations. Location is very quiet and peaceful. You can walk downtown but it is close on a 30 minute walk. There are facilities closer by and easy access to two fine beaches. All... More 

Helpful?
Thank BandiB
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

We enjoyed a wonderful visit and our stay at Summerhill was perfect - absolutely everything was done to provide for our needs - we were so well looked after and the suite was spotless and comfortable. Terrific hosts and a warm welcome. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mattdY5387VJ
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

This accommodation was clean - but unfortunately not exactly what we were looking for. Our mistake. The room was adequate - the bathroom was very large and fitted out well. This was not close to the water (another of our "wishes"). The toaster did not work, the expectation was that dishes were done in the bathroom hand basin. There was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am sorry that you found the suite lacking some of the things you really wanted. This is our smallest and least expensive room and I know that you were hoping for something larger, but as we had discussed it was all we had open at the time. If you plan to... More 

Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

These guest houses are situated in a beautiful and calm location. They are clean and well organized, as well as close to several amenities that we used (Live to Surf, Tacofino, Black Bear Kayaking). The owners were very helpful with any questions we had.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank beatrice_lunkenbein
North Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

The sleeping area was adequate and the bathroom was extremely spacious. The flooring and bedding could use with an update to give the space a fresher look. The small fridge was not working well and our food and beverages were not as cold as we would have liked. TV was available for watching DVD but there was no cable. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David T
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that overall you enjoyed yourself and had a pleasant stay. I am sorry that I forgot to warn you about the fridge. I had a new one that was delivered right at the end of your stay and we have since replaced the faulty unit. I would like to have had it... More 

Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We really enjoy our stays at this guest house. The owners are very friendly and you can't beat the proximity of this location. Our baby loved playing in their yard. We loved playing in the waves of the beach around the corner. We will be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank westenders2015
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves, and it was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Harold was a great host; he offered good suggestions for places to eat and things to do. There was also a good resource binder in the room. Room was clean and sufficient for our needs & good location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank schmoo99
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you! More 

Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Stayed at the Kitchen Garden suite for 3 nights. The hosts are very hospitable, the kitchen large and very well equipped. The location is very convenient - close enough to Tofino, without being at the center of the noise. Cons: The beds are small, squeaky, and the mattress uncomfortable - especially the extra bed. The towels and the sheets were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yaron P
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Guesthouse. I am sorry that your visit was not completely satisfactory as we know how much planning and expectation goes into any vacation. We are surprised that you found the beds small, as they are as advertised: 1 full queen size and a futon (double) bed. The Queen... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 18 in Tofino
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 18 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 stars 926 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Summerhill Guest House provides 2 convenient, self-contained suites in a private woodland setting. Our well-maintained suites each include a private porch entrance, complete kitchen or kitchenette, fireplace, queen bed, double-futon, full bathroom, sitting room with TV/DVD & wireless internet. Newly added Romantic room featuring antique queen-sized brass bed with ensuite, private entrance, DVD & Wifi, bar fridge, microwave cart with other food-preparation amenities Secluded, gorgeous woodland/garden property with 'play' space for all ages, including badminton, the BIG sand box, and firepit/picnic/starwatching area. Enjoy the dozens of bird species which are attracted to our various home-made birdfeeders. Located minutes from sandy Pacific Ocean beaches and Pacific Rim National Park, our suites are the perfect 'Home away from Home' for visiting families, couples & friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Summerhill Guest House

Address: 1101 Fellowship Drive | PO Box 512, Tofino, British Columbia British Columbia, V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Price Range: $70 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing