We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Prince George, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There was no air conditioning and they did not have enough fans. We booked 3 rooms but only had a fan for one room. It was frustrating that staff at the front desk did not agree whether 4 people was their maximum per room or 5 people if it meant 1 was a child. The cots we asked for were... More 

Helpful?
Thank kirstydot
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I wouldn't stay at this place again. For the price you pay here you could get the same from a $65 dollar room. Not worth the money spent. This things wants me too at more info. I know this is an older hotel but is looks like they did nothing to this place ever

Helpful?
Thank Harry G
rosemanagerw, Guest Relations Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Harry G, Very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. In fact we have made several changes over the past year including adding fridges, microwaves and flat screen TVs to our nonsmoking rooms. We recently upgraded all our nonsmoking bedding with duvet and skirting as well including new pillows etc. We continue to make changes to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Prince Rupert hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Worst service and stay, I've ever had, and thats saying something as a traveling business individual. I've stayed multiple times due to necessity and would rather stay in my rental vehicle if I have to do it again. 1. One of the two elevators was broken and due to cost of fixing or replacing it they are going to stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cody C
rosemanagerw, General Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Good day Cody C. I am very sorry to hear that your 6 night stay at the Hotel was not to the standard that you rightly expect and I can understand that you felt a “Review” was required. It is a shame that the various issues were not bought to my attention (my card with contact information is always on... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

Hotel is not bad for a budget hotel, but it isn't in the best part of town any more. The rooms are adequate, ours had a balcony and overlooked the town and sea. The public areas are a bit unloved and would benefit from a bit of decorating. Outside, the whole building looks dirty, which gives an unfair representation. Only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jimbo999186402
rosemanagerw, Guest Relations Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jimbo, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. It is true that the natural beauty of Prince Rupert has not changed however the economic energy is not the same as it was a few years ago. So happy that you enjoyed the balcony and the view. All of our rooms include large balconies and it is a favorite... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

Only room left in town! Old, very tired and dirty! Front desk unwelcoming and lady was on a personal call the entire check in process. Room large with wonderful view, but carpet had not been vacuumed..dirty muddy boot prints across it; broken glass on balcony and just inside the patio door that did not close tight. Worn, skimpy towels and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 128BobbiK
rosemanagerw, Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Good day. The Hotel has received your review posting; we always try to respond to reviews as we greatly value "feed back" (both positive and poor feed back) because it always helps the Hotel in striving to continually improve in every area of our operations. Unfortunately there was not any information pertaining directly to yourself (in the review) so we... More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

Last month I had to visit Prince Rupert for a couple of days on business and I stayed at the Highliner. Outside it looks a bit old but once inside it was very good - polite, attentive and good service (Desk & Restaurant). My room was a great size with a Balcony and amazing view over the water; the bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank dave32146
rosemanagerw, Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Dave32146, Thank you for your comments. We will definitely share with the staff as it means so much when guests like yourself take the time out of your busy day to provide compliments. It is true that the building is a 17 story concrete high-rise and therefore it doesn't have that cute 'inn' feel. However it has amazing balconies... More 

Kamloops, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

The room was unbearably hot and didn't have AC. When I opened the balcony sliding door to cool off the room (27C @ 4:30), the lovely sound of an industrial fan serenaded me for the remainder of the night. Stay somewhere else! This was not worth the $135 per night.

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
rosemanagerw, Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello Steve R, Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. It is true that we do not have air conditioning based upon the area in which we are. The fact that the area hit such a high temperature is incredible. Unfortunately we are not familiar with an industrial fan that could create this noise. We are proud... More 

Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

Not to impressed with the increase in the corporate rate. Regular business travelers shouldn't be penalized for the change in season. Restaurant downstairs is very good,breakfast always tasty. Also the security deposit policy bothers me, especially since I'm here every month, not like I'm busting up the place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
Tammy W, Public Relations Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, We very much appreciate your business. It is great to hear that you come on such a regular basis. I hope you are finding the new amenities of a fridge and microwave in your room some convenience. We are very happy that you are enjoying the dining room and will pass this on to the staff. To address... More 

Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Got a good price on Expedia.com. Too good to be true? Yup it is the dirtiest hotel I have ever had to stay in. Didn't notice our rate was for a smoking room. Who has smoking rooms? My husband asked if we could move. They wanted more money. We said forget it. Rugs were dirty and stained and so was... More 

Helpful?
Thank wendybikermom
Tammy W, Guest Relations Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Wendybikemom, Thank you for your observations as all feed back is very useful to the Hotel. The Hotel does post our Smoking Rooms on-line at a reduced rate due to the fact the additional amenities of fridges and microwaves are not included. For a number of Guests this reduced rate is the attraction. There is still some demand for... More 

Rainy Prince Rupert
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015 via mobile

This place is outdated and loud! And this hotel has had it named changed many times. I can see why those other hotel chains left and don't want their name associated with this hotel. I booked thru booking.com. When we arrived they gave us a smoking room. What hotels have smoking rooms these days. They upgraded us to non smoking... More 

Helpful?
Thank DilltheThrill
Tammy W, Public Relations Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear DilltheThrill, It is clear from this review that you were very disappointed with the stay and how the staff handled the situation. For that we are sorry. Not sure how long you have been visiting the area but the hotel has not been a Howard Johnson since 2005. We do sell our smoking rooms at a lower rate then... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel, a 17 storey high-rise, has the following convenient features: Hair salon, car rentals, wireless high-speed internet access, 24 hour front desk, safety deposit boxes, automated wake-up service, guest room voice mail, complimentary newspaper, self-serve guest laundry facilities, free underground parking and pet friendly rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony with various views of the mountains and water. For your convenience our nonsmoking rooms have a mini fridge and microwave. It is our pleasure to welcome you to Prince Rupert whether this is your first time here or many returns. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 815 1st Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Price Range: $91 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highliner Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay