We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 78: English reviews
Prince George, Canada
Reviewed October 18, 2016

I picked this place partly due to the price and the picture of the room. The old adage, "a picture is worth a 1000 words", is false. Very dated and a tired room and lobby! There needs some serious renos to be done. The washroom tap was very faulty and it was hard to find hot water. Very misrepresented and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
rosemanagerw, Public Relations Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Neil M, Very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We took our pictures approximately 6 months ago in an effort to provide a 'true picture' of what we have to offer. However, with that in mind we are in the planning of stages of renovating our public areas and the guest rooms. We actually...

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

From the distance the hotel looks like some Cold War East German building standing tall on the harbor front. When checking in and out,the staff was most helpful and service minded. The room was worn, but spacious with a balcony and well cleaned.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niels L
rosemanagerw, Guest Relations Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to let us know your impressions. Extremely happy to hear that you found the service to be helpful and service minded as this is the culture we strive for.

Prince George, Canada
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

There was no air conditioning and they did not have enough fans. We booked 3 rooms but only had a fan for one room. It was frustrating that staff at the front desk did not agree whether 4 people was their maximum per room or 5 people if it meant 1 was a child. The cots we asked for were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirstydot
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

I wouldn't stay at this place again. For the price you pay here you could get the same from a $65 dollar room. Not worth the money spent. This things wants me too at more info. I know this is an older hotel but is looks like they did nothing to this place ever

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry G
rosemanagerw, Guest Relations Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Harry G, Very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. In fact we have made several changes over the past year including adding fridges, microwaves and flat screen TVs to our nonsmoking rooms. We recently upgraded all our nonsmoking bedding with duvet and skirting as well including new pillows etc. We continue to make changes to...

Reviewed July 25, 2016

Worst service and stay, I've ever had, and thats saying something as a traveling business individual. I've stayed multiple times due to necessity and would rather stay in my rental vehicle if I have to do it again. 1. One of the two elevators was broken and due to cost of fixing or replacing it they are going to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cody C
rosemanagerw, General Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Good day Cody C. I am very sorry to hear that your 6 night stay at the Hotel was not to the standard that you rightly expect and I can understand that you felt a “Review” was required. It is a shame that the various issues were not bought to my attention (my card with contact information is always on...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 3, 2016

Hotel is not bad for a budget hotel, but it isn't in the best part of town any more. The rooms are adequate, ours had a balcony and overlooked the town and sea. The public areas are a bit unloved and would benefit from a bit of decorating. Outside, the whole building looks dirty, which gives an unfair representation. Only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo999186402
rosemanagerw, Guest Relations Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jimbo, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. It is true that the natural beauty of Prince Rupert has not changed however the economic energy is not the same as it was a few years ago. So happy that you enjoyed the balcony and the view. All of our rooms include large balconies and it is a favorite...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed May 11, 2016

Only room left in town! Old, very tired and dirty! Front desk unwelcoming and lady was on a personal call the entire check in process. Room large with wonderful view, but carpet had not been vacuumed..dirty muddy boot prints across it; broken glass on balcony and just inside the patio door that did not close tight. Worn, skimpy towels and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 128BobbiK
rosemanagerw, Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Good day. The Hotel has received your review posting; we always try to respond to reviews as we greatly value "feed back" (both positive and poor feed back) because it always helps the Hotel in striving to continually improve in every area of our operations. Unfortunately there was not any information pertaining directly to yourself (in the review) so we...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed May 4, 2016

Last month I had to visit Prince Rupert for a couple of days on business and I stayed at the Highliner. Outside it looks a bit old but once inside it was very good - polite, attentive and good service (Desk & Restaurant). My room was a great size with a Balcony and amazing view over the water; the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave32146
rosemanagerw, Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Dave32146, Thank you for your comments. We will definitely share with the staff as it means so much when guests like yourself take the time out of your busy day to provide compliments. It is true that the building is a 17 story concrete high-rise and therefore it doesn't have that cute 'inn' feel. However it has amazing balconies...

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed April 21, 2016

The room was unbearably hot and didn't have AC. When I opened the balcony sliding door to cool off the room (27C @ 4:30), the lovely sound of an industrial fan serenaded me for the remainder of the night. Stay somewhere else! This was not worth the $135 per night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
rosemanagerw, Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello Steve R, Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. It is true that we do not have air conditioning based upon the area in which we are. The fact that the area hit such a high temperature is incredible. Unfortunately we are not familiar with an industrial fan that could create this noise. We are proud...

Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

Not to impressed with the increase in the corporate rate. Regular business travelers shouldn't be penalized for the change in season. Restaurant downstairs is very good,breakfast always tasty. Also the security deposit policy bothers me, especially since I'm here every month, not like I'm busting up the place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick B
Tammy W, Public Relations Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, We very much appreciate your business. It is great to hear that you come on such a regular basis. I hope you are finding the new amenities of a fridge and microwave in your room some convenience. We are very happy that you are enjoying the dining room and will pass this on to the staff. To address...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.1 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel, a 17 storey high-rise, has the following convenient features: Hair salon, car rentals, wireless high-speed internet access, 24 hour front desk, safety deposit boxes, automated wake-up service, guest room voice mail, complimentary newspaper, self-serve guest laundry facilities, free underground parking and pet friendly rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony with various views of the mountains and water. For your convenience our nonsmoking rooms have a mini fridge and microwave. It is our pleasure to welcome you to Prince Rupert whether this is your first time here or many returns. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 815 1st Avenue West, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Price Range: $88 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highliner Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't use the picture for selecting this hotel,”
 of 5 bubbles neilm617, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“Go to the Prestige or the Inn on the Harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles , Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles Jimbo999186402, Jul 3, 2016 | Read review
“...if you must, ask for water view..it's stunning”
 of 5 bubbles 128BobbiK, May 11, 2016 | Read review
“Water side has great views but I believe all rooms have balconies”
 of 5 bubbles dave32146, May 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay