We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Carmel Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1502 Highway 97 (South), Prince George, British Columbia V2L 5L9, Canada
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Carmel Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Jasper National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A spot to stop while travelling. The staff at the desk were friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. I was travelling with my 2 dogs and they were welcomed. The breakfast was disappointing since you basically had a choice btwn coffee/tea, toast/muffin and fruit .

Helpful?
Thank mtncatt
Carmel-Inn-Manager, Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much mtncatt for your kind review! I am very glad to hear you had a good comfortable stay while you were here! We look forward to welcoming all guests and their furry family members. I am sorry to hear that the continental breakfast was not what you were hoping for, however there is also the option of... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not what it would appear from the on-line rating. VERY noisy as major highway goes right by. Supposedly non-smoking but most people are outside smoking by open room windows - so, therefore rooms are filled with smoke. Very old - badly in need of renovations. Continental b'fast ??? Get a choice of four items (one of them is coffee) -... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Carmel-Inn-Manager, General Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this review

Hi, We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us during your time in Prince George. Our motel opened in 1983 however, a full renovation was completed in 2013. Our pictures on our website truly reflect the standard of our hotel. It is very unfortunate that our continental breakfast did not meet your expectations... More 

Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was nice - had all of the expected amenities and more. The a/c was a little tricky to figure out, having a control switch on the opposite side of the room....but, in the end, a decent room for the price. I would stay there again. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful - check-in / check-out was a breeze.

Helpful?
Thank SFU_Geography
Carmel-Inn-Manager, Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this review

Hi SFU_Geography! Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this motel because it was pet friendly and located close to the highway. At checkin we discussed our dogs and the pet policy of the motel. We paid for a pet friendly room. After leaving, a I noticed an extra charge on my credit card and contacted the front desk. We were told it was a penalty for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank raegan1215
Carmel-Inn-Manager, General Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Further to our other conversations. It is unfortunate that you decided to give us a poor review due to this situation. We have a very clear pet policy at our hotel with designated pet rooms, all guests whom check in at our hotel with pets are assigned to pet rooms, without exception, also they are advised of the... More 

Hawthorne, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good place to stay after a long drive north. Right on the route to connect to Highway 16, to Prince Rupert. Good restaurant next door. this was a kitchenette room half size refrigerator but froze my ice packs just fine. only a hot plate and a good coffee maker. We slept good. Nice and quiet.

Helpful?
Thank David M
Carmel-Inn-Manager, Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this review

Hi David M! That is great to hear that you had a good rest before another long day of travel! Hope you had a great trip! Glad to be apart of your journey! It is always nice to hear from our guests who have travelled such a great distance and stayed with us. Safe travels and thank you for the... More 

Penticton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I liked that the rooms had the sink separate from the bathroom. The rooms have a micro wave, refrigerator and great coffee. We decided to drink our coffee before going to the restaurant. I liked that we had breakfast included. You had a choice of 3 items or you could for a small... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CampbellPenticton
Carmel-Inn-Manager, Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you CampbellPenticton for your review! So glad to hear that our in room amenities suited your needs. Our guests comfort is our number one priority and we are very glad that we were able to deliver on that for you. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was traveling with my grandparents and they are very picky about where they sleep. We arrived and were checked into our non-smoking rooms. My grandfather swore he smelled a faint odor of cigarettes. The owner, instead of getting frustrated, used this machine to clean the air in the room! I was amazed. It took about twenty minutes and then... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Annie O
Carmel-Inn-Manager, Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this review

Wow Annie O!! thank you very much for your great review!! We are very glad to hear that we passed your grandfathers inspection! Your comfort is our priority! We always like to welcome our guests to enjoy all the festivities that Prince George puts on for Canada Day. Especially if you can watch the fireworks right from your hotel room,... More 

Bellingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was worried about noise when our room was right by the stairs. never heard a thing. they have some very strict rules and the place is well taken care of. Free breakfast was a bonus. cute office dogs too. Just when you are missing your pets, you can go pet them. :-) definitely would stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Harold S
Carmel-Inn-Manager, Manager at Carmel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Harold S for your review! Nice to hear that you had a peaceful evening while in Prince George. Our "Lobby Greeters" Rex and Roni say thank you ;) See you again in the future! More 

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms were comfortable in a good location. Price was good and request honored. Wasn't fancy but it was clean. It had a microwave, small fridge and coffee. A breakfast voucher was available to the restaurant next door but we didn't take advantage of it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janice G
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Clean and nice hotel. Great location as a central stop for business I was able to return back several times during the day without disrupting my sales calls. Room was a little musty but aired out quickly. Would stay again on my next trip. Has a kitchenette and fridge but didn't use much

Helpful?
1 Thank corrywl
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince George hotels
1.3 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#3 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#2 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Prince George Goldcap BC
0.3 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#5 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Prince George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Carmel Inn

Address: 1502 Highway 97 (South), Prince George, British Columbia V2L 5L9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Price Range: $67 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmel Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Carmel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Prince George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay