We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Colonial Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Colonial Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Colonial Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed here in May, 2012 for just one night. I chose it because of the price, and it was certainly "adequate." It was clean, though dated, and the managers were pleasant. There is nothing whatsoever special about the motel; it reminds me of a small town motel back in the 70s or 80s. No breakfast was included, and I suspect... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TourProDon
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Colonial for four nights as we considered moving to the lovely city of Nanaimo. Hesitant at first, as its the tiniest motel we'd ever encountered, we were immediately pleased. As others have written, our room was spotlessly clean and the pleasant owners made us feel welcome. They strike the right balance between ensuring... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieClark
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The owners of this small motel were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rate was most reasonable and the room was spotlessly clean. It's well equipped with small frig. and microwave, free high-speed wireless internet, TV, and other amenities. The back rooms on the upper floor face a small garden and trees, and are quieter. I'm a light sleeper and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane V
fort mcmurray
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here on a business trip. The rooms were clean, but the real attraction was the level of service. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Friendly smiles, attention to detail, simply better than most. The building is smaller than nearby motels, but do not let that stop you from... More 

Helpful?
Thank garywFortMcmurray
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We had a nice stay at the Colonial the rate was low, service friendly, beds comfy. All amenities were provided and the lady at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. The water pressure in the shower could be better but that is hardly anything to complain about. Its a lovely 20 minute stroll down the sea wall to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank CandyGnomad
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

If you need a 50 (52) dollar room that is actually a 50 dollar room this is your place. I went to 3 other hotels in the area that advertised this price, once I got in, they said it was a seniors rate. The staff has been extremely courteous, the place is always clean, its cheap. Its a busy street,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tsferg
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

A few friends and I had just finished the West Coast Trail and had made our way to Nanaimo for our flight back to Calgary. We had a couple of days in Nanaimo and had booked this place online. BAD IDEA! This place was a dump, in a very sketchy area of town AND had the worst customer service ever.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank hiker019
jchiNanaimo, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your common. Manager can't recall your case. Please summit your proof of stay. If you did find we miss some spot in our room. Please accept our apology. I understand your anger, you should ask for refund. Thanks. More 

Travelers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I stayed there in route to Tofino we got a room at upper level. Nothing fancy about it but if you are booking this low budget motel you don’t expect too much either. The room was clean but this little motel is situated right trough main Street so is quite noisy. Probably it is in very bad area too otherwise... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank gigiduru
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

great service and unbeatable prices! we will only be staying here in the future!!! clean and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank ldoherty3
San Dimas, Ca
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

This is a nice, small motel on the main road through Nanaimo. Not a lot of units, but clean and neat. The proprietors are friendly and the rates are good. The rooms have internet reception, good lighting and cable television. The unit we stayed in had a compact kitchenette with small refrigerator/freezer. We would stay there again when in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SDMRT
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our friendly, comfortable and affordable motel is located in a walking distance from Terminal Park Shopping Plaza and the Sea walk trail; and only few minutes' drive from Downtown Nanaimo and the Nanaimo Golf Club. We have been fully upgraded in 2005. High quality Sealy Posturpedic king and queen sized beds in all rooms. Acrylic one piece Tub/Shower Surrounds. All rooms come with fridges, microwaves, hairdryer and kettles. Non-smoking property. Cable TV with full cable. Wireless telephones with voicemail. Free high-speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 950 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4K4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Price Range: $65 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Motel Nanaimo
Colonial Hotel Nanaimo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay