We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 459: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Havent been to Deep Blue Restaurant before; did you know Dorchester even had a restaurant... We didnt. I met a lady in a line up and she talked it up so good we had to try it. Wow. What a gem we found! It hasnt hit the streets of Nanaimo yet, but will explode when it does! The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank HudzonVI123
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, friendly service. Probably the smallest room I have ever stayed in, however. If you are just there for a visit, and won't have to work or spend any time in your room, then I would suggest this location.

Helpful?
Thank Jon_Braithwaite
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very nice hotel with lots of character and charm in the centre of a small seaside town. Great to stay in a spot that is in the heart of Nanaimo with plenty of fantastic restaurants and shops only walking distance away.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rod B
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location with lots in walking distance,Restaurants,Museums,Old city quarter and harbour walks and parks. Clean hotel and rooms and try to get a harbour view room.Restaurant in the hotel is pricey and not very extensive with its menu.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a great location close shops, to inner harbour and seaplane base. The old saying that you cannot tell a book by its cover applies here. Average looking but clean exterior outside but a neat boutique style hotel inside. Very friendly and efficient staff. Neat and clean. Excellent value.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived on last weekend after a very frightening drive from the ferry terminal. My car had suddenly started losing power when exiting the ferry at Duke Point. Arriving at the hotel shaking and scared, the desk clerk, Bruce, took it upon himself to call a repair shop for me, explain my trouble, then very carefully wrote out directions to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wdnsdyschld
campbell river, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

they gave our team one rate then charged us all different higher rates.some rooms were at the quoted rate and most were 50.00 to 60.00 dollars more and they wouldn t change it.the on line rate was 119 .00 but we were charged 139.00

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wes S
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wes S, Thank you for staying with us and bringing your concern to us. There must be some misunderstanding with your group organizer. The group booking was for the Harbour view with 2 Double beds at the rate of $139 including 2 Breakfast vouchers that were $12 worth of each. The organizer requested all the rooms with 2 breakfast... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this hotel has been renovated since my last visit and it makes a difference. the lobby is nicer and the rooms more modern and clean looking The rooms looking out at the harbor are a nice view.Quiet as well Comfy bed and nice clean bathroom with tub & shower The hotel is in a good location,close to the theatre or... More 

Helpful?
Thank islandrockin
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear islandrockin, I'd like to appreciate for recognizing our improvement and glad to know that you were able to enjoy our convenient location. I'll share your comment with our front desk team for improvement. Again, we appreciate your time for writing this review and will look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit! Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager... More 

Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall experience was pleasant. Older hotel but the interior has been updated. Rooms are quiet & clean, bed was comfortable. Restaurant was nicely appointed, menu was more than adequate. At check-in the desk clerk took an imprint of my credit card & indicated that all charges would be processed on check-out. In all my years of travelling I have come... More 

Helpful?
Thank Localresident99
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Localresident99, Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to your concern over payment, I think what you are referring to is not an actual charge, but the pre-authorization we process at check in. If the credit card pre-authorization was processed at check out for payment, it... More 

Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel, staff and views were great, from check in to breakfast. The desk manager was thoughtful enough to recommend I stay parked in loading zone, while I take my bags to my room first, then park as there are a few stairs between the hotel and the parking lot. The only negative was the hot water gave out in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rayswt
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rayswt, Thank you for your great feedback. I'm glad to know that our staff served you well and we'll look into the shower issue that you have informed us and seek for improvement. Thank you for writing this review, and will look forward to welcoming you again, Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager Best Western Dorchester Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,144 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
288 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel

Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Price Range: $93 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
vancouver island
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Harbour view rooms are nice”
 of 5 bubbles islandrockin, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Choose a room with ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles Localresident99, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“You MUST ask for a harbour / ocean view or you should not be staying here.”
 of 5 bubbles Mr_Jones2, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“Beds were very uncomfortable ”
 of 5 bubbles annedR913ID, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Room 424 was perfect with a great view of the harbor. We left our windows open at night and amazed at how quiet it was.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanZ52, Sep 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay