We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

675 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 625: English reviews
Cloverdale, British Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to the South Thompson during the winter months. It was a true winter wonderland in the scenic hills east of Kamloops. The Inn was cozy and warm and offered the usual great hospitality as enjoyed during our spring and summer visits. Some recent changes have made the Inn even more enjoyable. The Bourbon Lounge has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theshelleyhepburn
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear theshelleyhepburn, How great is this! Thank you so much for your very detailed and very kind words about your stay with us. Love the “home away from home” comment. I love that you started out visiting us for your business planning and now return for a relaxing winter get-away. Thank you for being a very loyal guest! You know...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have to say, we weren't expecting much when we arrived in Kamloops itself but after just spotting a beautiful black bear and then arriving in the parking lot of the South Thompson Inn, everything started looking up!! The Inn itself it out of this world, full of "Southern Charm" and the most romantic looking place I have ever been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CathyMo
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear CathyMo, “Just wow!!!” back! We all appreciate all of your very positive and flattering words about your experience while staying with us! Our team will appreciate you noticing their care as will Peyton, named after Peyton Manning. He’s the fabulous dog owned by our daughter. Thank you so much for taking your time to share your comments about your...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Slightly outside of Kamloops along highway 1, this is an inn worth staying in! Comfortable, clean and beautiful, the service is fantastic! Very clean and comfortable, plenty of parking, gorgeous scenery. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rayden V
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Rayden V, Thank you for taking your time to write a short and very very sweet review about your experience with us. We all sure appreciate your comments and love that you highly recommend us! Thank you again. David

Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

Very nice pet friendly hotel, service was good. My only complaint is after reserving a dinner we were seated in the bar area instead of the dining room, where people were playing cards loudly. While the food was excellent, the experience was off putting for celebrating my husbands birthday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsisvixen
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear rsisvixen, I appreciate your positive comments and want to apologize about your dining experience. I was told about this the next day and had no idea why you were set in the lounge for dinner. Our server made a mistake and compounded it by not asking the other guests to please be more considerate. It is totally unacceptable how...

Homer, Alaska
Reviewed November 30, 2016

A little out of the way when traveling north through Kamloops but worth the driving inconvenience. When you turn through their gate onto the property there is a peace and tranquility expressed in the pastures, horse barns, and corals as you navigate the lane that is winding its way leading you to the Hotel. Although not fancy, it is in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimblaine53
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear jimblaine53, Wow what a great review! Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your positive comments. I really love your title and I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review. Best in Canada. How great is that! We were satisfied before being “Best in Kamloops”. Karen, our Executive Chef will love your lamb comments. Service is our focus...

Reviewed November 16, 2016

My family of 5 booked a room here on our way out to the Island. Right from the moment you drive it is a wonderful experience. The grounds are beautiful! We were helped by Cody at the check in and he was so pleasant and kind, offering us many options to make our stay better including asking if we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mommabear865
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Mommabear865, Wow! Thank you so very much for your very positive and detailed review about your stay with us! I enjoyed reading your review very much! Cody, Brody, the chef you met, and my daughter Debra will be thrilled to read your comments about their part in making your stay so great. I would like to thank you for...

Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

When I had arrived there was a wedding party going on, because I was not part of the wedding they had put me on the far side of the hotel and in he upper floor just so I would not be disturbed by the wedding. It was quite nice of them, the room was clean and the view from getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tristan W
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Tristan W, thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am so happy you stayed with us and so very happy you would recommend us. I appreciate you mentioning our team looked after you and made sure you had a quiet room Thank you again! David

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed October 31, 2016

This hotel gets 5 stars for the staff and location, and 3 stars for the building itself and the food. First, the good: excellent customer service - friendly, efficient and hard-working. Everything my group needed was provided quickly, without fuss, and with great personal attention. Overall, the staff bent over backwards to take care of our needs and make our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gonin60seconds
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear gonin60seconds, thank you for your detailed comments about your time with us. Sure appreciate hearing that you give our staff 5 stars! They truly care about our guests and I am so happy that it shows. It sounds like you may have stayed in one of our Laura Ashley rooms. We have only a handful of these as all...

Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our way home from a road trip. Such a cute little hotel! The service was great and we loved Payton the dog and his owner at the front desk! No complaints, room was clean and very homey, service was awesome. Would definetly recommend it if you are traveling through Kamloops!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LISA G
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear LISA G, thank you so much for the 5 out of 5 review! Debra, my Daughter, and Peyton will love hearing that you mentioned them in your review. Well Debra anyway. She will pass on to Peyton. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again! Appreciate you mentioning the “service was awesome”. Thanks David

blaine,wa
Reviewed October 22, 2016

We arrived at the South Thompson Inn and Conference Center mid-afternoon on a Sunday on the way to Lake Louise, BC. It's a "themed" hotel offering a Southern Kentucky style property. The room was clean and simple and not expensive. The location along the river was quiet and enjoyable. The thing that made this a great "stop-over" place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank myopinionBlaine_wa
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear myopionBlaine_wa, I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us on the way to Lake Louise. Wow how great is that when our team understands how to look after our guests. As you saw first hand they have total authority to look after you. I am also happy that our staff took such good care of...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

707 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (215)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
King Romance Room (52)
Viewed
King Room (51)
Viewed
Manor King Room (45)
Viewed
Queen Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Finley Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kamloops
888 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Golf course
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: $66 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Chester, United Kingdom
Castro Valley, California
over a year ago
Herzelia
8 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Both Mountain view or River view rooms are well appointed and cozy.”
 of 5 bubbles theshelleyhepburn, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Each room is unique and follows a theme. All have views and balconies!”
 of 5 bubbles jimblaine53, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“I don't know if the upper floor had rooms facing away from the river (and railway tracks) -- worth enquiring if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Tansay, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“River view best”
 of 5 bubbles happytrippers20, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“A view of the farm on one side with little traffic vs the river i with a highway on the other side of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeNWUSA, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay