We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 621: English reviews
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A little out of the way when traveling north through Kamloops but worth the driving inconvenience. When you turn through their gate onto the property there is a peace and tranquility expressed in the pastures, horse barns, and corals as you navigate the lane that is winding its way leading you to the Hotel. Although not fancy, it is in... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimblaine53
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family of 5 booked a room here on our way out to the Island. Right from the moment you drive it is a wonderful experience. The grounds are beautiful! We were helped by Cody at the check in and he was so pleasant and kind, offering us many options to make our stay better including asking if we needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mommabear865
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Mommabear865, Wow! Thank you so very much for your very positive and detailed review about your stay with us! I enjoyed reading your review very much! Cody, Brody, the chef you met, and my daughter Debra will be thrilled to read your comments about their part in making your stay so great. I would like to thank you for... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When I had arrived there was a wedding party going on, because I was not part of the wedding they had put me on the far side of the hotel and in he upper floor just so I would not be disturbed by the wedding. It was quite nice of them, the room was clean and the view from getting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tristan W
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Tristan W, thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am so happy you stayed with us and so very happy you would recommend us. I appreciate you mentioning our team looked after you and made sure you had a quiet room Thank you again! David More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel gets 5 stars for the staff and location, and 3 stars for the building itself and the food. First, the good: excellent customer service - friendly, efficient and hard-working. Everything my group needed was provided quickly, without fuss, and with great personal attention. Overall, the staff bent over backwards to take care of our needs and make our... More 

Helpful?
Thank gonin60seconds
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear gonin60seconds, thank you for your detailed comments about your time with us. Sure appreciate hearing that you give our staff 5 stars! They truly care about our guests and I am so happy that it shows. It sounds like you may have stayed in one of our Laura Ashley rooms. We have only a handful of these as all... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on our way home from a road trip. Such a cute little hotel! The service was great and we loved Payton the dog and his owner at the front desk! No complaints, room was clean and very homey, service was awesome. Would definetly recommend it if you are traveling through Kamloops!

Helpful?
Thank LISA G
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear LISA G, thank you so much for the 5 out of 5 review! Debra, my Daughter, and Peyton will love hearing that you mentioned them in your review. Well Debra anyway. She will pass on to Peyton. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again! Appreciate you mentioning the “service was awesome”. Thanks David More 

blaine,wa
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2016

We arrived at the South Thompson Inn and Conference Center mid-afternoon on a Sunday on the way to Lake Louise, BC. It's a "themed" hotel offering a Southern Kentucky style property. The room was clean and simple and not expensive. The location along the river was quiet and enjoyable. The thing that made this a great "stop-over" place to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank myopinionBlaine_wa
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear myopionBlaine_wa, I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us on the way to Lake Louise. Wow how great is that when our team understands how to look after our guests. As you saw first hand they have total authority to look after you. I am also happy that our staff took such good care of... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2016

We stopped here en route from Vancouver to Jasper and it suited us just fine. It was easy to find and situated by the river with the opportunity to walk around the grounds. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meal. I guess you could drive into Kamloops in 20 minutes or so but we chose not to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bobsk1
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Bobsk1, I am very happy that you stopped on your travels to spend a night with us. Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor for other potential guest to read. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. David More 

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Attended a family wedding at South Thompson Inn over the past weekend. Accordingly experienced the facility, rooms, banquet services and wedding services. The rooms are clean and comfortable, although the building is not the most sound proof. There is an additional building available for rent (the manor), and the wedding party rented that. It was large and spacious and had... More 

Helpful?
Thank LHubich
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear LHubich, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, our team really appreciates your kind words. Especially the mention of the excellent food and service. The manor house does work well for weddings, golf groups, family reunions, etc. Hope you will return for another visit. Thank you again! David More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We stayed here one night only on a recent road trip to the west coast. Very attractive property overlooking the river, with a small restaurant of perhaps 10? tables. As it is some distance from town and we got in late we chose to dine in; having made reservations for dinner, it was a cute touch that the menu header... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tansay
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Tansay, I appreciate your very detailed review about your stay with us. Thank you for all of your positive comments. I am sorry about the dogs outside of your room. We do ask our guests to keep their dogs leashed while outside their rooms and this guest did not follow that rule so again I apologize for that. If... More 

1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

I am randomly traveling around Canada for my vacation. Stopped here for the night and I am very impressed with the staff, accomodations and food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds must have had new matresses as I get an excellent sleep that night. The food (I had the baby back ribs)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Michael W, thank you so very much for your very complimentary review! I am so happy you chose us for an overnight stay. I am also very happy you had a good nights sleep. We hear this a lot. Things like "best sleep ever": I think this goes along with peaceful and relaxing which we also hear a lot.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

708 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (215)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
King Romance Room (52)
Viewed
King Room (51)
Viewed
Manor King Room (45)
Viewed
Queen Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Finley Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kamloops
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd East, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range: $72 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
Thompson Inn Kamloops
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Chester, United Kingdom
Castro Valley, California
over a year ago
Herzelia
7 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Each room is unique and follows a theme. All have views and balconies!”
 of 5 bubbles jimblaine53, 2 days ago | Read review
“I don't know if the upper floor had rooms facing away from the river (and railway tracks) -- worth enquiring if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Tansay, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“River view best”
 of 5 bubbles happytrippers20, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“A view of the farm on one side with little traffic vs the river i with a highway on the other side of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeNWUSA, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river have a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles R703RZsandral, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay