We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Hotel Chilliwack

Save
Share
45886 Wellington Ave, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 2C7 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$120
Hotels.com
Travelocity$120
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (84)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (9)

About

#3 of 8 hotels in Chilliwack
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Welcome to the Royal Hotel. A small boutique style heritage hotel full of charm, located right in the heart of downtown Chilliwack. The area is full of boutique style shops, restaurants, book stores and pubs including one that is part of the BC Ale Trail. It's an easy walk to Prospera Centre, the Law Courts and a short drive to dozens of other Chilliwack, BC attractions. The Royal Hotel is more than just a place to sleep. It's an experience. Our accommodations feature hotel rooms with authentic period details including hardwood floors, vintage furniture and some offer clawfoot tubs. Bring your own lap top and stream to your TV (wireless is great, no cable TV), or soak in a clawfoot tub with your favorite book. Enjoy a stroll down the street for a delicious breakfast or an incredible meal at one of the many restaurants nearby. Most of all, the Royal Hotel is a place taken care of by people who truly value your business. Every guest is special to us and every stay deserves to be unforgettable – we’ll give you a number for your personal contact throughout your stay.. Book one of our historic Royal Hotel rooms today.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bowling offsite
Tennis court offsite
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Banquet room
Street parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
317Reviews1Q+A81Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 158
  • 109
  • 31
  • 10
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
tomvalcke wrote a review Dec 2022
Stratford, Canada4 contributions
The adage: "You only get once chance to make a first impression," rings loudly in my mind regarding my first stay in Chilliwack's Royal Hotel. I spent the last week of November/2022 there, and checked in after having a day that I wouldn't wish upon my worst enemy, and I'll leave it at that. A young, pleasant, patient, empathetic woman named Abigail was at the front desk, greeted me with a warm smile, almost as though she knew it was exactly what I needed, checked me in promptly, gave me a room on the first floor (I am disabled and they have no elevator - it is an old, but charming hotel), a very fair rate (I had no reservation), and even helped me carry my luggage up the staircase to the first floor. The hotel is in the midst of a major renovation, and whoever is on at night, in addition to manning the front desk, has been doing everything from painting to grouting! That impressed me doubly, because of her team approach, and because she listened to me recant my day, when truly, she did not have the time for that. But she acted as though she had all of the time I needed. The fact that I found out a day or two later that she is actually the GM of the hotel just blew me away - talk about leading by example! The hotel has century old photos in its glorious lobby, and I learned that it was Chilliwack's very first hotel. It looked palatial, and any prominent guest would have been quite pleased with its elegance. You could have conducted a wedding ceremony in the front lobby. Of course, it is somewhat dated now, and the rooms are smaller than ideal, but the excellent service I received from every staffer I ran into, more than made up for those minor matters. Les was another midnight-oil burner, and he gave me similar service to Abigail's, and when he learned that I had all of my earthly belongings in the rental vehicle that I parked out front, he insisted that we bring it all inside, and store it in the hotel. He came outside and helped me like I was his brother. I can't wait to see the reno project completed, because, given what it once was, and given the staff they have in there now, that give you a Pettycoat Junction-type experience, I'm sure anybody will enjoy it as much or more than I did. Thank you Abigail, for your kindness, softness, and genuine friendship, and Les, and the rest of people here and there who just couldn't do enough for me! If you wish to reach me, I stand by this and my cell is 519.703.4088, and my email is coachtomvalcke@gmail.com
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Try to imagine the Royal Hotel a hundred-plus years ago when it opened. It still has the original...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
EC_Inversnecky wrote a review Oct 2022
Inverness, United Kingdom48 contributions73 helpful votes
This Hotel is largely un-staffed, we arrived late at night after 36 hours of travelling to find the security entrance code would not work, and no-one would answer the Hotel Emergency out of hours service. We eventually tracked someone down after a stressful 1/2 hour of thinking we would be sleeping on the street. The room itself was dated, varnish worn off the table top etc but functional, and clean... but read on. We stayed 7 nights and despite asking for the room to be refreshed twice, Les the manager never bothered to arrange it, so we spent the whole week with the same towels and bedding, very Lazy!! It has the look of a place inherited by a next generation who don't have the skills or interest their parents had On a positive note we had comfortable sleeps, on a good bed. So if you are looking for a basic budget no frills stay this could be for you
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: This Hotel is very central and there are a few cafes in the area
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
NolP wrote a review Apr 2022
43 contributions46 helpful votes
Was quaint and classic but no on site staff really lacked for me big time. Was quite loud overall and no fan to draw out noise and the heat came on and off and on and off all night long! Barely slept! Soaker tub upgrade cause of a screw up on my original ask had jets barley working to help fix back. Just a big tub! NO cable tv, NO SPORTS to please note! Worst was that the internet really lacked big time as was super slow! Barely got any emails done!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonard Wiens, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack
Responded Apr 29, 2022
Thanks for the comments. We did upgrade to the Royal Suite because of a booking mix up. Disappointed that that didn't meet your expectations. We'll check to make sure that the tub works. Our internet should be seamlessly easy to use - we keep monitoring to ensure it's working correctly. Our TVs all use the Roku streaming which provides a wide variety of options including sports for great entertainment selections. Trust that the rest of your trip when well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Spence R wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
My fiancée and I enjoyed the hotel, but Loved the bar! Excellent staff and very well kept. Enjoyable to pop in for a drink! It’s located right downtown Chilliwack, on Wellington street. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonard Wiens, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack
Responded Apr 29, 2022
Thanks for enjoying the hotel and the entertainment and socialization. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole B wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I stayed with my husband, it’s a beautiful hotel in a convenient location. We only had to go right downstairs to find a cute little bar where we went for drinks and music. I definitely recommend going here with friends or your spouse for some much needed time out!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonard Wiens, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack
Responded Apr 29, 2022
Thanks for the comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rickybobbys wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Love the pub friendly staff. Had a great time in st Patrick’s day celebrating with the Irish stout on tap. Good vibes great music love it here. Will come back whenever I’m in town and stay at the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonard Wiens, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack
Responded Apr 29, 2022
Thanks for the comments. See you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim wrote a review Feb 2022
Abbotsford, Canada1 contribution
First time staying at the Royal Hotel. My wife and I were doing some things in Chilliwack for our anniversary and stayed here for the night. We did find the check in process a bit strange but it was easy. A step back in time. The antique room with the claw tub was quite charming. My wife loved her bubble bath in it. There was a TV in the room with a Roku attached. Just remember your login details for Netflix, Prime or whatever service you want to view. A nice find in downtown Chilliwack.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonard Wiens, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack
Responded Apr 29, 2022
Thanks for enjoying your special time with us! Appreciate your careful comments. Look forward to your next visits.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark M wrote a review Aug 2020
Vancouver, Canada235 contributions113 helpful votes
I registered my reservation with AIRBNB- given the 3 night price, hit all the buttons, end of story. Get to the hotel- they say they have no reservation. It was only thanks to the head of the onsite sushi restaurant and her kindness that I turned back from walking off the site in disgust originally- back to that later. So there was no staff to welcome guests- very unimpressive, and the owner , Leonard, agreed to come down so I could get a room. The room that I'd though I'd reserved was not available so he offered me another- turned out to be a dismal little, side room with on air conditioning and the deal breaker- NO TV. Leonard defended his position on this by saying "Well, you can go out and do things like hiking" Fat lot of good that does after sunset! I immediately told him that was it and I refused to stay the night. In fact I got a much better hotel nearby as a result. Last year when I came- great stay but now with the owner switching to this AIRBNB nonsense- forget it
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Yes, go to another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonard Wiens, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack
Responded Nov 25, 2020
Mark, I'm pleased that you were able to find something that was more to your liking. You are correct, we have made some adjustments to our operation in order to remain viable and in operation at this time. When you make your reservation and complete it in whatever online system you are using or if by phone call, you will receive a request to send us an estimated time of arrival so that we can be there to greet you and look after your needs. And that's all it takes - an estimated time and, if that changes, send us an update and we're happy to adjust. (Mark, your reservation hadn't completed and so we nor you had received any follow up info. Not sure why.) As to the room you were given, it was the same room type as you had tried to reserve and it does have A/C (all our rooms do). There is a TV in the room but at this time we do not have cable TV available. While that may change, what we have learned is that many of our guests want good internet (and we do have that) in order to live stream or enjoy their personal accounts such as netflix or others. We do provide HDMI cables if needed. We look forward to travel restrictions easing to welcome many more guests to our unique hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jazzaferri wrote a review Mar 2020
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada240 contributions88 helpful votes
This 111 year old hotel is pretty original though the rooms have been updated. Clean cozy room. My wife loved the bed, I found it a bit on the hard side. Pillows were a good size for sleeping and soft. Right in the heart of old Chilliwack, very nice and helpful staff. The included breakfast, gave several choices. We each had the traditional and could actually have comfortably split one between us. Definitely on the hungry man side. We really enjoyed our stay, took me back to my youth.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack
Responded May 29, 2020
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to having you here again. As I write this, we're readying to open after the pandemic closing. As we re-open, there are changes. Our cafe operation has changed and no longer will breakfast be offered in the cafe nor included in the stay. There are some very good options in the area that we can direct guests to. In addition, we'll be welcoming guests individually upon their arranged arrival time as we'll no longer have a 24 hour front desk service. We'll make sure that contact info is available to our guests to ensure their stay is a great as it's been for more than 100 years. We look forward to welcoming guests!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explore47622143070 wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
The staff was very friendly, the room was cozy and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. Would recommend this hotel highly. The historic Royal Hotel. Has a nice atmosphere. Nice place to stay in a good location,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack
Responded May 29, 2020
Thanks for your comments and for enjoying your stay. As I respond to this, we're at the point of re-opening after the pandemic shut downs. We will be changing how we operate going forward including of course making sure our protocols are changed to ensure that guests are safe. In addition we will no longer have a full time front desk so we will be welcoming guests individually upon their arrival and making sure they have a contact to reach during their stay. We look forward to welcoming guests!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$97 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaChilliwack
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ROYAL HOTEL CHILLIWACK $108 ($̶1̶2̶0̶) - Prices & Reviews - British Columbia

Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Hotel Chilliwack
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Hotel Chilliwack?
Nearby attractions include Lolly's Fashion Lounge (0.03 miles), The Book Man (0.05 miles), and Chilliwack Museum and Archives (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Hotel Chilliwack?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bravo Restaurant & Lounge, Prestons Chilliwack, and Chilies Thai Cuisine.
Does The Royal Hotel Chilliwack offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Hotel Chilliwack?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kilby Historic Site (4.4 miles) and Chilliwack Cemeteries (2.3 miles).
Does The Royal Hotel Chilliwack have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.