We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tonquin Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tonquin Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 839: English reviews
Start your review of Tonquin Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in two room kitchenette family suite from Tuesday to Friday in February as a personal retreat. Quite lovely and so very peaceful. Because it was mid-week and I was a repeat customer, I was thankful to receive an awesome nightly rate. Thank you Tonquin :) Although I only used the microwave, the kitchen with its full sized sink, fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M G
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rates were ok for the time of year. Desk staff were very helpful and cheerful especially after a winters drive. The rooms were basic and the smell of the days gone by when smoking was allowed still lingers. I'm used to this but it's still evident. It would have been nice to know that the restaurant/ lounge had closed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vagrant385
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was an average hotel, with a great price. We loved the outdoor hot tubs and the swimming pool area. Our hotel room was nice, average, but nice. We had a lovely view of the mountains which made the whole trip that much better. We would be back for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staceyalexansra
North Royalton, OH
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place. Not spectacular but within walking distance of downtown Jasper. Close to the RR tracks yet not noisy. Rooms a little small but decently clean. I mention the RR as I love trains and did get to walk up to and see the VIA passenger train as it came in to the Jasper station (travels from Toronto across to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMT
Spruce Grove, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Outdoor hot tub, included breakfast and about a ten minute walk from downtown. Good access to trails. The hotel is disconnected a bit and so you leave your room to go eat and get ice pr snacks, and it's two levels high

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ash b
Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Tonquin in January 2017 for a ski weekend at Marmot Basin. Been there last year but in a different part of the hotel. Not a lot differentiates the Tonquin from the rest of the "second tier" of hotels in Jasper (Marmot Motor Inn, Mount Robson, etc). Overall it gets a "little better than average" rating. Value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank energizer0_0
Management response:

Dear "energizer0...0" Thank you for your detailed review of your stay at the Tonquin Inn and there is not much more to add to what you have already noted. Our team does its best to maintain high standards guest services or room cleanliness and we are pleased to note that most everything ("everything worked") in these areas were up to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Romantic, real wood fireplace. Drank champagne in the outside tub under the stars.....loved it. Only complaint would be they didn't advertise the horse carriage ride...which I would have loved to go. And makes sure to make reservations for Christmas night dinner.....turned away by 2 different restaurants...very embarrassed. Other than that fantastic time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
Management response:

Dear Amber, Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us in Jasper and we are pleased that our outdoor hot tub and fireplaces contributed to a positive experience. Thanks again and kind regards.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The booking experience was frustrating, I thought I had gotten the room for $118 for the night but this was actually USD and so ended up paying $156 for the night. This was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, very cramped, the sink was right beside the bed, with three people in the space we were tripping over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
Management response:

Dear Kathy, Thank you for making the effort in submitting your comments following your recent stay in Jasper and we are sorry for your being disappointed. We do however take some comfort in knowing that the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Naturally, there is little we can do in terms of room size but we did look into...

Reviewed January 19, 2017

Having booked a two bedroom unit, we drove up to the Inn and began to wonder if we had booked the right accommodation, but on entry to the unit, we were pleasantly surprised with the most wonderful accommodation for a family. Not only was it two bedrooms, there was enough living space for the four of us to relax and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul M
Management response:

Good Morning Paul, Thank you for taking the time to express your pleasure with our services and accommodations following your recent stay with us in Jasper. We hope to see you back at the Tonquin Inn in the foreseeable future and in the meantime, please accept our kindest regards.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed January 11, 2017

Booked online through Trip Advisor which jumps to Booking.com. If I wanted to use Booking.com I would go there directly. Traveling with 2 adults and 2 children however be aware that room pricing increases depending on age of children which is an absolute scam as it is still the same amount of people in a room. Initial price was 109...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zaytajett
Management response:

Dear Zaytajett, We are very sorry you did not have a positive experience upon your recent stay with us in Jasper. Our team tries very hard to offer a warm welcome to our guests, a pleasant stay with clean and inviting accommodations and we certainly do not intend to mislead anyone with hidden charges as we believe in being transparent...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

530 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (197)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (325)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Hot Tub (5)
Viewed
Kitchen Two Twins One Queen (51)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Standard King Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Executive Suite (60)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Executive Suite with Dry Sauna (72)
Viewed
Two Queen (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
822 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#12 of 16 in Jasper
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
1,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Price Range: $82 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tonquin Inn staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Tonquin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a mountain view on an upper floor”
  • Family Kitchenette - Entry, TV stand & Table for 4
  • View outside Room entry
  • Family Kitchenette - Queen bed in bedroom 2
  • Family Kitchenette - Loveseat & Queen bed by entry
  • Family Kitchenette - desk & dresser in bedroom 2
  • Family Kitchenette - Full sized fridge and microwave
  • View from reception
  • Family Kitchenette - Kitchen stove sink coffee maker (toaster in cupboard)
 of 5 bubbles mgI6736PC, yesterday | Read review
“Parking is terrible arriving early may help if you a lot of gear with you”
 of 5 bubbles Zaytajett, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the top floor may be quieter, as the hotel is close to the road”
 of 5 bubbles waisikmau, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms look over car park - check when booking if you can have room with mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles ctimes2, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“Request the top floor so as not to hear the footsteps of guest above.”
 of 5 bubbles kellyndave13, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question