We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Gate Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Gate Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 327: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean Gate Resort
 Click to rate
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Reviewed March 10, 2017

This is an ideal place to take your Hubby if he is a HUGE Maine lover like mine! This lovely family owned island resort has so much charm and woodsy appeal with breathe taking views of the harbor! Nice trails to explore the 45 acre resort for hubby's early morning adventures while I enjoy a nice cup of coffee on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna S
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed October 21, 2016

My wife, I and small dog spent 8 days at Ocean View in early September and we loved it. We had stayed elsewhere several times on SouthPort Island and in BoothBay Harbor, and Ocean Gate has become our favorite. Indeed, we liked it so much we have planned a family reunion for next June. It is a little more rustic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank malyoung3226
Temecula, California
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

If you want a well kept resort that is Family owned and operated ocean gate resort is it. Close to town but away from crowds. This resort offers fantastic new England views, hot breakfast, boats to use and very clean overall this is it. We have stayed here twice and have not been disappointed. We give it five stars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ron g
Matamoras,Pa
Reviewed October 3, 2016

THE resort is almost a mile from the main road RT27,nestled amongst the pines as you drive in. They offer several different types of accommodations and buildings for your stay. .A pool in season as well as a hot tub tennis, kayaks and canoes , GREAT BREAKFAST INCLUDED . THE PROPRIETORS FRANK,BEERNIE AND SHERYL ARE TOP NOTCH AND MAKE SURE...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lance B
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for you kind comments about your most recent stay with us. We are always so happy to see familiar faces from the many guests that call Ocean Gate their "island Home"! Look forward to seeing you again next year! Frank, Cheryl and Bernie

Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Decided to go to the Boothbay area for our weekend honeymoon since the Bar Harbor area was mostly booked. Found this hotel on trip advisor and it had good ratings so we decided to give it a try. It is in a nice location and we had a great room in the cedar building, but we were disappointed with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to comment on your visit. We are very glad to hear that you were pleased with your room and enjoyed the great views. All of our rooms are situated a bit differently with the particular rooms in your location having an entrance off of your private patio with a common...

Abbot Village
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

I have stayed in many places usually nothing but positive experiences ! This hotel is absolutely horrible ! I thought this would be great for my anniversary weekend turns out it's horrible I requested one king size bed online ended up with queens two of them in my room. Then tried to use the hot tub at 7 pm and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsay S
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that you were disappointed in your recent visit. You had booked your reservation through a third party online site which explicitly stated that bedding types were by request only. Unfortunately, we were unable to accommodate that request due to high occupancy. Guests that book directly with the Resort or on our website are...

Locust Hill, Virginia
Reviewed September 30, 2016

After 7 days in Bar Harbor, we stayed 2 nights here, and wished it could have been longer. Extremely pleasant staff, good breakfast, nice grounds. Maybe reaching to call it a resort, but we were very satisfied. The owners obviously care, and want you to have a good stay. The views over the water are great... birds, ducks, working boats,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrNoah
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

It's really wonderful that you took time to let us (and everyone else!) know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It especially nice to hear that all of our staff were pleasant and accommodating during your visit. We also wish that you could have stayed with us longer and hope that we will be at the top of...

New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed September 28, 2016

Just spent half a week at Ocean Gate and enjoyed it completely. Our only regret is we didn't take the time to enjoy some kayaking or canoeing. Next time we'll plan more days to spend at this terrific spot. Staff is excellent and very well trained (congratulations!) and the rooms are very comfy, if not luxurious. The view from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James N
Rome, New York
Reviewed September 27, 2016

This hotel is on a peninsula. Beautiful wooded grounds to stroll around on, but many of the rooms directly over looking (just feet from) the bay. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. Nice private balconies where you can sit, relax, and enjoy the bird life and bay views. Only a couple miles from restaurants and quaint shops to explore in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cat53052
Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewed September 24, 2016

Even though Originally had single bed room upstairs, keeper switched us to a double on the lower floor. Very comfy room and grounds. Fog prevented us from seeing lots or trying our canoe skills. Included breakfast was quite a spread and very tasty. Set us up for the day. Ate lobster at Robinson's Wharf restaurant. Very good. Good atmosphere. Explored...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MinJenTX
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review

So glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself here at Ocean gate and that your room was comfortable and that you enjoyed our full, hot breakfast buffet. Sorry that the San Francisco :) fog rolled in and prevented you from enjoying the spectacular view but even a foggy day is beautiful here on the Maine coast! Hope to see you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (185)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
345 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
418 reviews
2.1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
458 reviews
4.1 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ocean Gate Resort is a 45-acre oceanfront resort surrounded on 3 sides by tidal inlet and less than 3 miles from Boothbay Harbor. The nine buildings are nestled among the majestic pines and perched on the rocky coast line of Maine. All rooms include a full breakfast, refrigerator, coffee maker, A/C, cable TV. On-site free amenities include a heated pool, canoes, kayaks, fitness room, mini-golf course, tennis and basketball court, playground, and stocked fishing pond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Gate Resort

Address: 70 Ocean Gate Rd, Southport Island, Southport, ME 04576-3053
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport
Price Range: $116 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Gate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Gate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gate Hotel Southport
Ocean Gate Boothbay Harbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Gate Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“room 201 has a fire place wood burning,”
LanceB570, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“We were in building 1, and very satisfied. The building just below the building where breakfast is served, was also desirable..”
DrNoah, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
“Cedar Building rooms are less busy”
jamesn241, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“Many rooms directly bay front, but no beach per say.”
cat53052, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“End unit we stayed in was where water heater was located choose an inside room.”
ShirleyGirl2014, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question