We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Grande Prairie

View Deal
06/30/2017 07/01/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Grande Prairie
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 231: English reviews
Start your review of Super 8 Grande Prairie
 Click to rate
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed April 5, 2017

Room was outdated, had cracks in the walls and the breakfast was poor. Our hockey team was moved to another local hotel after the building's water main broke and flooded the main floor. Elevators flooded with people inside. This wasn't under the hotels control, but definitely wont have us stay here again. Super 8 was quick to relocate us and...

Thank Greg K
Spruce Grove, Canada
Reviewed February 14, 2017

Room was very clean and well kept, also was very quiet. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. I found the location of the hotel to have easy access off of the main highway. Excellent complementary breakfast.

Thank CylviaJ
About Hotel's Favorite Review
Management response:

Hi Cylvia, Thank you so much for your awesome review of our hotel. I most definitely share your comments with our staff members who work very hard to please our guests. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Olds, Alberta
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile

Front Staff is great and that's what gets it to 2 star. The issue that negates all the positives. Cigarette smoke. You are blasted with it when you enter the front door. 2nd floor hall way, THE FITNESS ROOM. Fortunately my clean but dated room did not smell of smoke but practically everywhere else I was in th hotel did....

Thank nicpel222
Red Deer, Alberta
Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile

This is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in to date. The shower backs up and the heater barely works. I will not stay here again I'll sleep in my truck first. The front end lady is a total jerk rude

1Thank Ryan O
Management response:

Hi Ryan, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so sorry to hear you were unhappy and we will look into the issues you have highlighted and try to resolve them as soon as possible.

Manning, Canada
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

Super 8. You've gone down hill. I remember we used to be excited to stay here. Now you're outdated. Ripped wallpaper. Doors don't align. Bathroom doesn't lock. Scuffs and gunk on walls. Air condition/heater dirty and dusty. Smell of cigarette smoke on main floor was atrocious. Was looking forward to waffle breakfast and fresh fruit and we might as well...

1Thank Stephanie J
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. So sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We are in the process of some renovation to upgrade some rooms. We will certainly look at our breakfast options and consider making some changes.

Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

Was the worst staff and management I have ever encountered. Rude ,filthy ,and looked like they where on drugs. Seemed like alot of crackheads around. Made my girlfriend cry and many outsiders hanging about causeing trouble. Making you feel unwelcome. Do yourself a favour ... .Sleep on the street before sleeping here.

4Thank superrobot11
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile

The 2 bedroom family suite isn't worth your money spent. Too small. Tiny bed. Bunk bed squeaked when the kids moved on it. Top rail of bunkbed really loose. Tv in kids room didn't work. Won't be back.

1Thank Angela S
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Super 8 Grande Prairie recently. We apologize for your inconvenience. We will work hard to fix these issues. Your feedback is very important to us and this will certainly helps us to improve. We would very much like to welcome you back in the near future. Joanne, Guest Service Manager

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

This place was not clean. Toothpaste splatter, snot, hair, visible dirt and spills in bathroom and main room- on carpet and walls and dark stains on the bedding. The worst place I've ever stayed in, in that regard. They are renovating rooms which is needed. The wear and tear on the room wasn't a problem, however, but that the room...

1Thank MJ G
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy, we addressed these issues and we will ensure we will do a better in the future. We are in the process of having a renovation in this...

Reviewed December 14, 2016

The room set up wasn't impressive. There was a hole on the door and room heating was terrible. They had to move us to another room...we were so tired.. not impressed...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1Thank Ronke2016
Sreejith N, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with Super 8 Grande Prairie for your recent visit. We apologise for your inconvenience. We will work hard to fix these issues. Your feedback is very important to us and this will certainly helps us to improve. Please give us a chance to serve your in near future. Yours in Hospitality,

Blueberry Mountain
Reviewed November 30, 2016

We rented the family suite for the night before flying out on vacation. The suite was clean and well maintained. We appreciated the extra room with 2 teenagers. The checkin was expedient. The hotel is showing some age but the service was good. The pool was closed as the heater wasn't working.

Thank Andrea M
Sreejith N, General Manager at Super 8 Grande Prairie, responded to this review

Hello Andrea, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay. Our family suite is one of the best selling suite we have and everyone enjoys. Super 8 Grande Prairie is a perfect fit for families. Our swimming pool is a great addition as well. Unfortunately heater wasn't working on the day of your...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (9)
Bathroom (1)
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Room/Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (2)
06/30/2017 07/01/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grande Prairie hotels
0.1 mi away
Pomeroy Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Best Western Grande Prairie Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 24 in Grande Prairie
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Podollan Inn & Spa
Podollan Inn & Spa
#2 of 24 in Grande Prairie
342 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Grande Prairie
Days Inn Grande Prairie
#11 of 24 in Grande Prairie
300 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Grande Prairie
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton G...
#1 of 24 in Grande Prairie
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You will find many economic hotels in and around Grande Prairie Alberta, but only Super 8 Hotel offers outstanding value for your travel dollar. Centrally located, we offer clean, comfortable, newly renovated rooms at Pride of Super 8. We constantly upgrade our property to exceed our guests' expectations. Families will value our double queen beds rooms with bunk beds and efficiency suites equipped with full kitchens, which is also perfect for your longer stays. Our goal is to make you feel at home. Super 8 Grande Prairie offers complimentary Superstart(R) hot breakfast, free high-speed Internet, free parking, in-room refrigerator, microwave and guest laundry facilities. Our on-site gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your travel itinerary and if you need to unwind from a long stretch on the road, benefit from out hotel's heated indoor pool and waterslide. We offer non-smoking and smoking rooms as well as a handicapped-accessible room. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. We also are a pet friendly hotel. Grande Prairie's own Muskoseepi Park is only 2 minutes' drive from the hotel, featuring fishing, hiking, tennis, lawn bowling, horseshoes, miniature golf, disc golf, community Skate Park, ice skating, snowshoeing, sliding and cross country skiing. Other activities in the city include but are not limited to championship golf courses, shopping centers (we are located 5 minutes' walk from Prairie Mall), Jump Yard, Eastlink Center and Grande Prairie Live Theatre. We are also located 20 minutes' drive from the Philip J. Currie Dinosaur Museum and Nitehawk Recreation Area. Within .5 miles of the hotel, you will find various excellent dining options such as Prairie Sushi, Mr. Mikes Steakhouse, Subway, Tim Hortons, McDonalds, Taco Time, Prairie Mall (food court and Moxies) and The Office. Do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly should you have any questions, our friendly staff will happily assist you with your reservation needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Grande Prairie

Address: 10050 116 Ave, Grande Prairie, Alberta T8V 4K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Grande Prairie
Price Range: $75 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Grande Prairie 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Grande Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Prairie Super Eight
Grande Prairie Super 8
Super Eight Grande Prairie
Super 8 Grande Prairie Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Grande Prairie staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Grande Prairie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Visually check your room before agreeing to stay in it, if you are unhappy let the desk know a ask for a change of room.”
F921TQgarym, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“Smoking rooms are on ground floor, so non-smokers should stay on the 3rd or 4th level to avoid the smoke.”
K9Friends4U, Jul 19, 2016 | Read review
“the entire hotel is well monitored and there are very good views of the parking which is under video serveliance at all times.”
B7742MMkenc, Mar 22, 2016 | Read review
“Probably on the right side of the rooms it's a nice view and more just I guess nice.”
692bobg, Mar 8, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at south bottom have their own private doorway, makes coming and going less stressful, made easy to unload your baggage.”
D5179ZHandrews, Jan 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
$74* /night
View Deal
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates