We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sandman Hotel Edmonton West

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel Edmonton West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My sister and I brought the kids, we wanted something affordable and close to the mall. The room was fine, the kids made a mess and the staff had it back to the normal the next day :) The pool and hot tub were a plus, kids liked it. Having a fridge and microwave in the room were very convenient....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cottagegyrl
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am honoured you would recommend my hotel. It was great to hear your family enjoyed the pool as well as the amenities in the room. Thank you once again for leaving a review and I hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, William Veidemanis General...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights as I do some business in Edmonton and also visiting friend. I find this hotel a good place to stay. The room and the bathroom were clean and tidy, and spacious too. Bed was soft and comfortable. Staffs were very polite, and the front desk was a really a pro, I had quick check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coachdevonlai
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your very kind words regarding my team and I will be sure to pass them on. Thank you once again for leaving a review and I hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, William Veidemanis General...

Parksville, Canada
Reviewed October 28, 2016

We arrived at the Hotel at 3.50pm. Check in was 4pm. The rather unfriendly Andre, not rude exactly, but close to it, finally said he would let us go into the room. He was unnecessarily awkward about the payment of the room. I had held the room with my M/C but my partner was paying for all the Hotels with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 191penny
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I appreciated your kind words regarding Melanie I will be sure to pass them on. It was great to hear you enjoyed the fabulous CHOP restaurant and your Denny's experience. I was disappointed to read about your check in experience...

Sylvan Lake
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

Loved this hotel! We met up with my husband coming back from work. The rooms are very modern and spacious and our balcony was ground floor that opened up to a beautiful courtyard with a pool. The ambiance gave me a feeling we weren't in the middle of a big busy city and felt relaxed! In the morning we ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauraleiandchrism
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I appreciated your kind words regarding the new Executive Tower rooms and it was great to hear you enjoyed the many other amenities on offer. Thank you once again for leaving a review and I hope to welcome you back...

Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

We were staying in Edmonton for the weekend with our family to have some fun before back to school. The building had an old feel to it. The air conditioning unit seemed a bit small for the room. The pool area was fairly nice. It seemed there weren't many shallow areas for the kids - especially in the hot tub....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alelovestravel
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review regarding your most recent stay at the Sandman Edmonton West hotel. I appreciate all feedback I receive and will use your comments to help me make improvements for the future. I am pleased to announce the new Tower expansion is now opened offering brand new rooms with...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed September 6, 2016

nice lobby, unfriendly check in guy, no elevator (stairs to all rooms), average room with double beds (very clean, and modern updated). Pluses: clean, modern, lots of pillows, comfortable beds, good TV, proximity to West Edmonton Mall, safe neighbourhood (didn't mind leaving the car outside), lots of parking, small pool indoors. Minuses: no elevator, half of the rooms are pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CfromV
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and it was great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sandman Edmonton West hotel. I was delighted to read you took advantage of the great location and you enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. Thank you for taking the time to leave me valuable feedback...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for work for 4 days. (The company booked hotel) The only thing you want after long and exausting day at work is a comfy bed and and soak your a.s in a hot tub. After third night of sleeping on that bed I got back aches. Not talking about amount of kids and noise in swimming pool and hallways...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aleksei K
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at the Sandman Edmonton West Hotel. I promise to personally look into your feedback and use it to make improvements for the future. I am pleased to announce that the new Tower expansion will open soon...

Langley City, Canada
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

I stay at this hotel every time I come to Edmonton for business. The company has a direct bill account, so I basically have no choice. My expectations aren't very highs and usually they are met. This trip, however was different. Not that Edmonton gets very hot but my air conditioning didn't work do the temperature of my room for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RobCurrie
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I apologise you did not fully enjoy your stay. It was disappointing to read the issues you had with your air conditioning during your stay and I promise to use your feedback to make improvements for the future. I am pleased to announce that the Sandman Edmonton...

Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Rooms were tidy, location great, but hotel is need of repairs and updates. Bed was ok, but the noise level was loud at times. Location was great, within 10 minutes of the west Edmonton mall of which we visited for 2 days. Plenty of locations to eat as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimeiteneier
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I hope you had a great vacation. I have taken note of your comments regarding the noise level and I promise to look into this further. It was great to hear you took advantage of the Sandman Edmonton West great location. I hope you had a great...

Canada
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

This hotel needs some work. I'm assuming they're not putting much effort into upkeep as they appear to be building a new hotel adjacent to the original. Our room was dirty, smelled musty, and the beds were uncomfortable. The only good part of our stay was the receptionist at the front desk. She was excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay. I appreciate all feedback I receive and I will use your comments to make improvements for the future. I am pleased to announce that the Sandman Edmonton West will be going through a full renovation...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#54 of 93 in Edmonton
176 reviews
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#36 of 93 in Edmonton
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Edmonton West
#47 of 93 in Edmonton
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A comfortably furnished hotel with easy access to all major highways, Sandman Hotel Edmonton West is perfectly situated near all major attractions such as West Edmonton Mall and the West Edmonton business district, making it the ideal place for your next stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Edmonton West

Address: 17635 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Price Range: $86 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Edmonton West 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sandman Hotel Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Edmonton
Sandman Hotel Edmonton West Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sandman Hotel Edmonton West staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel Edmonton West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try to avoid the "atrium" rooms - the pool is LOUD and echo-y and stuffy! No air!”
 of 5 bubbles CfromV, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
“Wait until rents are done.”
 of 5 bubbles Kimeiteneier, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms I have stayed in were equally quiet and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles iwannano, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
“The front lobby is nice too bad the rooms were not as thought out or the pool area”
 of 5 bubbles tylerdanielle2016, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
“Explain to the staff if you have special needs. Our room was on the first floor on the south side and was very quiet and private.”
 of 5 bubbles lornrand, Jul 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay