We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

HI-Calgary City Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
HI-Calgary City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for HI-Calgary City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in hundreds of hostels, and this one really impressed me. Great location in a new facility. Clean bathrooms, good rooms, nice big kitchen, reading room. I like that people can donate leftover bath products of clothes to leave behind. Didn't socialise much as I was visiting old friends and colleagues, but there is a great lounge where lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine R
HI-Calgary Host... G, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hey Katherine, Thank you so much for choosing HI-Calgary and for leaving us a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will let the staff here know how much you appreciated everything. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon! Cheers, Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

Pelham, New York
Reviewed August 9, 2016

My organization has booked our stay at this hostel for the past few years and we are always so happy with service! Hostel staff are very supportive coordinating group logistics. Over the past few years there have been some really great improvements to the hostel facilities including a new kitchen, common area, room furniture, etc. Tea, coffee, and fruit water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina_Imrich
HI-Calgary Host... G, General Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Christina. Looking forward to hosting your group again next year. Regards, Jason Wong General Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed August 7, 2016

Stayed for two nights in a 6-bed dorm. Dorm room was very spacious and comfortable for everyone and included a locker. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of options. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James94_13
HI-Calgary Host... G, General Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to hear that you had an excellent visit, and appreciate your compliments of our breakfast and team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Jason Wong General Manager

Reviewed July 23, 2016

It's my first time to visit Calgary. Asked lots of questions to the staffs, and get answers quickly and patiently. I was trying to find 1-day-tour to Drumheller, but failed (fully-booked). Staffs there recommended that I can take Greyhound to Drumheller, and even helped me to check the timetable of Greyhound and discussed the trip with me. I would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica L
HI-Calgary Host... G, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Monica, Thanks for leaving us a review! It was a pleasure to have you here. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well and hope you had a good time in Drumheller. We hope you can stay with us again soon. Thanks! Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

Not only is this the best HI hostel we've ever stayed in, but it's also one of the best places overall we have stayed in during over half a year of travelling. We had a private room on the basement level which was brand new and huge with a great flat screen and satellite TV. The bed was so comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewis111
HI-Calgary Host... G, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Lewis, It's always great to hear about how our guests have enjoyed their time with us. We strive our hardest to make all our guests stay enjoyable and happy to hear we have succeeded! We look forward to you staying with us again very soon! Safe travels! Thanks! Cassandra Moore - Assistant Manager

Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

I feel like a new man after staying there it was almost a spiritual awakening from the crisp clean sheets to the kickass breakfast and I've never met more friendly people in my life the staff are out of this world so helpful they go above and beyond the call of duty staying truly changed my life I am forever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott831313
Israel
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

We had a private room with toilet and washroom which was good. Location great for leaving the car there and walking half a day in the city. Breakfast good. So, in general, for us it was perfect for what we needed!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moshe B
HI-Calgary Host... G, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hi Moshe, Thanks a million for taking the time to leave us a great review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your private room, we think they are top notch! Also nice to hear that you enjoyed our loc location. We agree it is very nice to leave the car behind and not have to worry about finding parking. Hope to...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed June 15, 2016

One thing you have to keep in mind: This is a Hostel. Anybody who's dissatisfied with it, it's probably because they don't stay in Hostels too often. Yes, it gets noisy sometimes. Yes, it gets crowded sometimes. You're not paying for luxury. But if you take all that with a grain of salt, then this is honestly one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larry J
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

We arrived here last minute having found directions on Google. We where a group of seven from the UK only staying in Calgary over night. We where given our own room which was very reasonable in price! We enjoyed our stay. The staff where very helpful offering us directions and advice on the city, they even offered to book our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SteveW25167220
HI-Calgary Host... G, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hey Steve, Thanks for choosing to stay with us at HI-Calgary and taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you had a great time staying at the other HI properties in our network! Looking forward to you staying with us again in the future. Cheers, Cassandra...

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

This is the second year that myself and my clients have stayed at the HI Calgary Hostel. Jason (GM) and his staff are super friendly and helpful. The rooms, linens and bathrooms were clean with a great contemporary decor. Included breakfast is nice addition that has full kitchen to keep from spending too much outside of hostel on food. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Petrarca08
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 109 in Calgary
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
965 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the newly renovated HI – Calgary City Centre! Start your day off right with our FREE all you can eat breakfast from 7:30am – 9:30am every morning (including buttermilk pancakes, milk, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, bread, jam, peanut butter, muffins, fruit and juice)! Enjoy our newly upgraded FREE high speed WiFi anywhere in the building! Other hostel amenities include: - Complimentary coffee and tea 24 hours - Free parking - Free Computers - Free storage facilities, even after check out - Free local phone calls - Free faxing, photocopying, printing and scanning - Free pool table - Free BBQ usage - Free towels and linen - Brand new TV room with a 60” flat screen TV HI – Calgary City Centre offers 6 bed dorm rooms (female, male and mixed) featuring individual lockers, bed lights, as well as private/family rooms with en-suite and a new 40” flat screen TV; make sure you book ahead as these sell fast! We have upgraded security, including cameras and state of the art door locks throughout the building as we continue to ensure the safety of all our staff and backpackers traveling to Calgary. Our friendly front desk staff are here for you 24 hours a day, available to answer any questions or concerns you may have. We are experts when it comes to getting you around the area, and we always have recommendations for local sightseeing, so don’t be shy! Check our activity boards for daily listings of local events and information. Our hostel is located on the edge of downtown; a 5 minute walk will take you to exactly where you want to be. Within downtown you will find dining, shopping, entertainment and cultural districts for every taste and budget. Other attractions are easy to get to with the help of the nearby C-train (a 2 minute walk from the hostel) that is FREE within the downtown core. Our central location is a great starting point for the next leg of your journey. The airport bus #300 stops two blocks away from the hostel, and the Greyhound bus depot is a short 15 minute train ride away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI-Calgary City Centre

Address: 520 7 Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: $27 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your HI-Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Calgary City Centre Hotel Calgary
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from HI-Calgary City Centre staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Rockingham, Australia
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from HI-Calgary City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Be prepared to be woken up pretty early by the C-Train if you have a room on the station side.”
joy_mendez, Jan 10, 2016 | Read review
“Took the private room which was pretty good, though no view (basement)”
Travel4Shelley, Oct 17, 2015 | Read review
“get a room on the side far from the train”
sebastic54, Sep 12, 2015 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs seem to be favorable.”
341charlie, Aug 16, 2015 | Read review
“Rooms facing the towards the court may be quieter. The LTR runs close by. I still had no problems sleeping here.”
918alfredk, Apr 18, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question