We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calgary North Thriftlodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for: 1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Calgary North Thriftlodge
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for the price as I was going to check-in very late night and depart early morning. However realized that you get for what you pay. Starting with check-in - it took 15 minutes just to check-in! I had booked non-smoking room however was given smoking room and was told that this is the only room available.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim68256
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived the man behind the counter at reception was extremely unfriendly and rude. He demanded that I use my travel card for a "$200 deposit" even though he explained that I would possibly not get the money back. My friend had a credit card AND the booking was under her name but he insisted on using mine. Furthermore,... More 

Helpful?
Thank 15kho01a
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this place for one night after a long drive in from Winnipeg. Don't know if it was because we were tired or if the bed really was that comfortable but the mattress felt great after a 14 hour drive. The air conditioning was very old and loud but that served as white noise for our 9 month... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nida G
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Window screwed shut and we all lost sleep due to stuffy/no fresh air.Our check out time was for noon and I got a call from the front desk around 11 while my kids were in the pool stating we are overstaying our welcome. and no juice and crimbs left for breakfast both mornings...had to go to McDonalds to eat.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank jeffrO3035TF
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in late to a non-smoking room with two double beds and were sent to a smoking room with one double and a pull out sofa. Not acceptable so the front desk person said they were full, then went on the computer and saw that there was a room showing as empty but not cleaned. He said that it should... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank sylviam548
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a party hotel. People were partying until four in the morning. There was a large group of people standing in the parking lot drinking and partying obnoxiously all night as well. The people above me had kids and they kids jumping and running and screaming kept me up until 1am. After that it was parties down the hall... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Duskfall
Lethbridge, Alberta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Motel was as expected given apparent age of property. Only major issue was a/c in room rattled, had a loose filter, fixed with some tape.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank brak2015145
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

The overall stay was great but in the pictures I seen there was to be a pool and we didn't see one. As well when we got to the room although very clean and tidy there was a hair on my friends pillow that did not belong to either of us.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank JugBug
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear JugBug, Thank you for your review and I am very sorry you found a hair in your pillow, it is very hard to say whose hair it was and if it was not your I do apologise. As per the pool; yes, we do have one and it is open. I do hope you asked our front desk where... More 

Steinbach, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

Never will I recommend this one from anyone.Unfriendly staff specially that guy name Tim.Aircondition not working well for most of the rooms and they don't care even if you lost your electricity.Over all it sucks.No proper turnover.When you ask why that happen all they say is I don't know why.I don't know who did it.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 846maluisaa
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear 846maluisaa, Please accept our apologies for not having a good experience at our property. We always do our best to please each customers that walks in. I would like to know what my staff member did or said that you felt he was unfriendly to you that way I can look into it internally. As per the AC units,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#35 of 110 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Calgary North Thriftlodge

Address: 2304 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: $49 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calgary North Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Calgary North Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary North Thriftlodge Hotel Calgary
Thrift Lodge Calgary
Thriftlodge Calgary
Calgary Thriftlodge
Calgary Thrift Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay