We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calgary North Thriftlodge

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Calgary North Thriftlodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Lethbridge, Alberta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Motel was as expected given apparent age of property. Only major issue was a/c in room rattled, had a loose filter, fixed with some tape.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank brak2015145
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The overall stay was great but in the pictures I seen there was to be a pool and we didn't see one. As well when we got to the room although very clean and tidy there was a hair on my friends pillow that did not belong to either of us.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank JugBug
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear JugBug, Thank you for your review and I am very sorry you found a hair in your pillow, it is very hard to say whose hair it was and if it was not your I do apologise. As per the pool; yes, we do have one and it is open. I do hope you asked our front desk where... More 

Steinbach, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Never will I recommend this one from anyone.Unfriendly staff specially that guy name Tim.Aircondition not working well for most of the rooms and they don't care even if you lost your electricity.Over all it sucks.No proper turnover.When you ask why that happen all they say is I don't know why.I don't know who did it.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 846maluisaa
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear 846maluisaa, Please accept our apologies for not having a good experience at our property. We always do our best to please each customers that walks in. I would like to know what my staff member did or said that you felt he was unfriendly to you that way I can look into it internally. As per the AC units,... More 

Lone Butte, British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

My husband and I have been staying at this motel for years and are never disappointed. Very close to the C train and several good restaurants. Very clean and the staff is excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear Margaret R, You have no idea how happy you make my staff and myself with your review. Thank you very much for staying with us and for being always pleasant! Have a wonderful day and we will see you soon! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Highly recommend this hotel. Checked in on the weekend for a conference and the hotel was clean and close to amenities. The internet worked slow but it did work! This place is a great deal with a great breakfast.. can’t go wrong for the price… Additionally, the front desk guy was super kind and generously offered us some juice even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susk321
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

One of the cheaper motels in the area, about a 10 minute walk from the c-train, good continental breakfast, and many restaurants nearby. WiFi wasn't working well as the hotel was full which was inconvenient for the purposes of our business trip.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Y9519IPmeganh
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Dear Y9519IPmeganh, Thank you very much for your review. I do apologise the internet was giving you problems, I am going to see if we can do something about it so it's not an issue anymore. Thanks for the good pointers and I hope we see you next time you are in this beautiful city. Have a wonderful day! More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

There for VB tournament at Olympic Oval. Hard to complain for $70 night, but always room for improvement. Don't have normal mid level hotel expectations and you will be fine. Service was friendly. Room is dated but fairly clean other than carpet which should be replaced. Continental breakfast is normal for this budget stay, cereal, coffee, Juice, misc fruit &... More 

Helpful?
Thank 13Roja
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hola 13Roja, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I like it when customers are fair. I apologise for the little issues, I understand it's an old building and we do our 100% to keep it clean and comfy. I hope you think of us next time you are in town. Have a wonderful day! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#34 of 110 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Calgary North Thriftlodge

Address: 2304 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: $49 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calgary North Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Calgary North Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary North Thriftlodge Hotel Calgary
Thrift Lodge Calgary
Thriftlodge Calgary
Calgary Thriftlodge
Calgary Thrift Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay