We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Show Prices
#77 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 346: English reviews
Brooks, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pleasant check in attendant, ease of going through reservation details. The room was very spacious and quiet from traffic noise. Seems to be a lack of sound insulation from adjoining rooms. Wifi speeds were good. Nice amenities with pool and water slide. Normal motel continental breakfast. Limited parking in the front so you have to park in the back, walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greyfeathers47
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you took . We look forward to seeing you soon More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Front desk and staff are very friendly and willing to assist. They make the stay enjoyable at this facility. It is in a convenient location with all amenities around it. As I commented about previous stays, the hotel is aging and showing the same. For this stay, the room mattress lost it's support; in order to have heat, the heater/air... More 

Helpful?
Thank 130dennis
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the comments and will definitely review all aspects Thank you for continuing to stay at our location and we look forward to seeing you soon More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a long day of setting up a booth at Spruce Meadows for a Sewing and Craft Show, I just want to relax. Front desk staff friendly and efficient. Room is just fine. Breakfast fine. I just know if I come back, everything will be just great. We even got a call from front desk to make sure are room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carola R
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Carola We are beyond grateful for your comments, we are so happy to hear of your positive experience We thank you for staying with us and we are glad to hear you will be back We look forward to seeing you soon More 

Regina, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our Family was in Calgary the weekend of September 17th. We stayed at your hotel as the Bride had arranged a block of rooms there because it was close to the weekends events. All I can say is utterly disappointing. Day One) We arrived and although a cot had been booked when we made our reservation we were told by... More 

Helpful?
Thank ReginaRoamer
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Yvonne Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. On the behalf of the staff, we would like to take this opportunity to apologize if you felt your concerns were not addressed correctly We certainly will be reviewing your comments with our staff and thinking of ways to improve our level of service. Thank you again and we look forward... More 

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I got my Visa bill I found an extra charge . Took way too much energy to find out why they took my money. Refused to respond to my request as to why they helped themselves to my Visa. When I involved the Better Business Bureau they finally admitted it was for a safe. Surprise to me.

Helpful?
Thank diamas2016
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the alarm clock in my room must have been faulty as it went off at midnight every night waking me up and disrupting my sleep. The TV remotes didnt work ( needed new batteries) and the coffee machine was dirty when I moved into the room - I know it was just little things but it resulted in a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank hats445
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. On our behalf of the staff, we would like to apologize for your stay and it is truly unfortunate we were not aware of these concerns during your staff We strive to fix any issues or concerns as they arise and certainly would have been able to assist you to make your stay better... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was such a disappointment! We got in late after a long day driving and were met by a front clerk who obviously did not want to be there. Our FIRST room smelt musty and upon opening the hide a bed to put our children to bed, we discovered a mattress with absolutely no bedding! No sheets? Really, NEVER... More 

Helpful?
Thank audreys845
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Audrey Thank you for your comments but itvis truly unfortunate tha you did not let management know while you were at our location. ON behalf of the staff, I would like to apologize for you not being here given correct information. Yes, we do not put sheets on the hide bed, we found that the sheets became dirty from crumbs... More 

Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

I've stayed at the Shawnessy Super 8 many times, and am finding the service is getting worse with each visit. Room was musty when we checked in, Front Desk did offer to "spray" it for us. Poor housekeeping and forgotten room amenities such as replenishing in-room coffee packs, cups, and towels. Had two well behaved teenage kids with me and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank beverlym886
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review

Beverly, Thank you for reviewing our property Super 8 Shawnessy is committed to the highest standard of customer service , It is of grave concern that your children felt that different staff members were rude to them. I will certainly review with our staff the incidents that you mentioned to determine what occurred and how things could be different with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southwest Calgary
Econo Lodge South
Econo Lodge South
#85 of 110 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#80 of 110 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#83 of 110 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#81 of 110 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Super 8 Motel - Shawnessy has an exceptional reputation of excellent service and comfortable, and clean rooms, which has earned us the prestigious "Pride of Super8" award. Conveniently located on Macleod Trail in Alberta's largest and most active city, Calgary Shawnessy Super 8 Motel has many things to offer both families and the business traveler. We are close to MacLeod Trail South and Spruce Meadows. For shoppers and those seeking entertainment in the South West section of Calgary, we're in the midst of everything! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Address: 60 Shawville Rd SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Price Range: $75 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Calgary
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay