We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (52)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (4)

About

#81 of 114 hotels in Calgary
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Calgary, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Rooms at Econo Lodge Calgary provide a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette, and guests can stay connected with free wifi. In addition, while staying at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Hotel guests have access to a 24 hour front desk and baggage storage. You can also enjoy a pool and breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Econo Lodge Calgary. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Calgary, Econo Lodge Calgary is located a short distance from Peace Bridge (1.6 mi) and Kensington (1.6 mi). While visiting Calgary, you may want to try some crab at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Sky 360, OEB Breakfast Co. Bridgeland, or NOtaBLE - The Restaurant. Should time allow, Riley Park, University of Calgary, and Olympic Oval are some popular attractions that are within walking distance. Enjoy your stay in Calgary!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Indoor pool
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Air conditioning
Desk
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Choice Privileges = More
Hotel deals
275Reviews
4Q+A
64Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 101
  • 55
  • 25
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
We booked 2 rooms at this hotel for a brief visit to Calgary. Let's talk of the pros first - it is ideally located near LRT - eating options available nearby - good wifi and parking onsite available - spacious rooms with comfortable beds and warm shower Cons - breakfast is so-so. They could add hashbrowns, beans, omlete etc - carpets badly need to be washed - rooms show signs of age. See pics - there was hair in the bathroom that didnt belong to me Staff was very pleasant. They even called to check if everything was ok.
Read more
This is an average hotel, nothing special. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and the breakfast is basic. The location is ideal when commuting to Foothills Medical Centre, UofC, or planning on taking the c-train. The price of the hotel is good for what you get.
Read more
Response from EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Responded May 23, 2019
Thank you for your comments and we're happy that our rooms were clean and comfortable. We hope your next stay is as pleasant as the last!
Read more
I did not even get to stay at the hotel. The receptionist was extremely rude and yelled at me! Not sure what I said to set her off but her angry escalated quickly. I kept calm and tried to defuse the situation but it didn’t help. Finally I left and stayed elsewhere. Too bad it seemed like a nice place.
Read more
Response from EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Responded May 15, 2019
Thank you for your comments and please allow the hotel to clarify. The reason the hotel refused your reservation is because you were insisting on using a credit card that was not issued to you, nor was the cardholder with you at the time. We take credit card fraud very seriously and will not participate in illegal activities. Thank you.
Read more
I have never been treated so badly anywhere else. I experienced a mix up but their way of sorting it out was badly handled. I am 74 years old (using a wheelchair) travelling with my 51 year daughter who had mental health problems and when under stress has a bad time dealing with it. I told them this up front and if there was anything wrong to call me on my cell, something happened and instead of phoning me they let it go. I paid for another 7 days in the morning, then they kept phoning me (my daughter answered) and they said I had to go pay for the room. Three times I went to the front desk to sort it out -so I told them to refund my money and I would go elsewhere, they botched up the refund saying they would sort it out the next morning. They let it go all day-then finally came to my unit and told me they were ejecting us because of the so-called incident with my daughter in the morning (which was caused by them harassing me for money I had already paid), I told them I wasn't leaving until I got my refund, they threatened me with police action, I told them to go ahead as I was not going to leave until I got my $824 plus back either in cash or money back in my bank account, OH by the way they had the cheek to charge me for the night $90 plus. For a Hotel that has several times had their pool closed by Alberta Health for not being up to scratch they are pretty cocky. Sorry run out of characters so not all of this covers the debacle. .
Read more
Response from EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Responded Apr 18, 2019
Thank you for your comments and please allow the hotel to clarify. We were very patient with your situation; however when your daughter started approaching guests in the parking lot and telling them she was going to kidnap their kids using the pool we had to ask you to leave the premises. We pride ourselves on our compassion when dealing with medical stay guests and we're sorry this incident has left such a negative impact; however the safety and security of our guests and staff are of the highest importance and we feel we made the right decision.
Read more
Close to U of Calgary, Foothills Medical and Children’s Hospital. Very close to C train station. For travellers on a budget this is an excellent choice. Clean and comfortable room with small fridge and microwave. The hotel has a pool and whirlpool but these weren’t accessible to us and the front desk staff, tho friendly weren’t able to fix the problem. Breakfast is included and offered cold and hot options but was on the more basic end of the range compared to other places I have stayed. But for somewhere well located with clean and comfy rooms and breakfast included its value is unbeatable. It doesn’t feel like a budget motel.
Read more
Response from EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Responded Mar 25, 2019
Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope your next stay with us is more pleasant than the last!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$59 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
econo lodge inn & suites university hotel calgary, econo lodge inn and suites university, econo lodge university, econo lodge calgary, calgary econo lodge
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCalgary
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing