We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
Truro
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here just before flying from Calgary and it was great having free parking. Good value for money for a motel room and the rooms were clean and tidy which was perfect for a short stay. There were local places to eat nearby as well so we popped into Boston Pizza which is a short 5 minute walk away.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're glad to hear you had a good stay with us. We look forward to providing you with the same pleasant accommodations the next tiem you're in town! More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were pleasantly surprised to find this hotel was everything we had read about and more. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very polite and helpful. The location was good, not right in the city, but not far from anything we wanted to see and do. They also provided a decent continental breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing and we're always glad to hear we have exceeded guests expectations! We can't wait to show you another great stay the next time you come to Calgary! More 

Long Beach, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Cold rainy Canadian night - and the heating did not work at all. Thin comforter blanket did not help much. Next morning they checked the heater - yup it's broken. I am staying for the week, so I need a room with a heater. But they could not understand when I asked for help moving my room. The manager was... More 

Helpful?
Thank userrick
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we're sorry to hear you were disappointed. We are proud to offer staff service 24 hours to assist guests with any issues they encounter in their room; however as a limited service economy branded property we do not have porter services available. Had the front desk been informed about... More 

Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
240 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property actually turned out to be very good in many respects. We stayed on the top floor in a corner room so it was very quiet. The pool and spa are quite nice. Breakfast is fairly good with the usual suspects--pastries, bread, hard boiled eggs, apples, juice and coffee. We left our car and walked a very short distance... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darryl L
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We take pride in our hotel and our staff and are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us! More 

Seven Hills, OH
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I didn't expect a lot because I considered this a budget motel but it was great. Our jaws fell open when we entered the room. It was large, had a sofa, clean, and the bathroom was huge and modern. The room also had a microwave and refrigerator. We had a most comfortable stay.

Helpful?
Thank NKODIS
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful words! We love hearing when we have exceeded guests expectations and cannot wait to serve your accommodation needs the next time you visit Calgary! More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent one night at this Econo Lodge and were very pleased. For the $92/night (CAD) rate, it was exceptional. The room was clean, complete with a mini fridge and microwave and large area with a couch and coffee table. The hotel was quiet, and the breakfast was simple (continental, mostly carb options). We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank penguinchatter
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to providing you with the same pleasant accommodations the next time you're in town. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

it was our first time as a group to book here... we had so many concerns and questions but the front desk personnel was very accommodating and very helpful.. she's also very approachable.. that made our 2 nights stay very comfortable.. the room was very nice..

Helpful?
Thank val a
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We take pride in the services we provide to our guests and are always happy to hear when we have exceeded guest expectations. We look forward to having the opportunity to show you another great stay the next time you are in town! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

My gf and I are on a cross country road trip. We stopped for the night. Our room had a horrible musky moldy smell. We were not comfortable sleeping in this evironment. We would not return here or reccommend this location.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments and we're sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We hope your next stay in Calgary is a pleasant one! More 

Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

Don't confuse this hotel with the Motor Inn. This location is updated and has a pool, hot tub, and light breakfast. Two popular restaurants are close enough to walk in under five minutes; Big T BBQ and Nicks Steak and Pizza, both are highly rated.

Helpful?
Thank mccormack_md
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback and we're glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope your next short visit to Calgary gives us the opportunity to show you another great stay. More 

Great Wolford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Room, bathroom, beds clean and comfortable. Communal areas a tad tired and dated. My main criticisms are the slow check in and the polystyrene crockery and plastic cutlery that spoiled an otherwise pleasant breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank WolfordWanderer
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments and we're glad to hear you had a great stay. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#91 of 110 in Calgary
2.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#35 of 110 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hotel Alma
Hotel Alma
#66 of 110 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Address: 2231 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: $55 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Canada, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites University
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge University
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay