We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 186: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

it was our first time as a group to book here... we had so many concerns and questions but the front desk personnel was very accommodating and very helpful.. she's also very approachable.. that made our 2 nights stay very comfortable.. the room was very nice..

Helpful?
Thank val a
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We take pride in the services we provide to our guests and are always happy to hear when we have exceeded guest expectations. We look forward to having the opportunity to show you another great stay the next time you are in town! More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My gf and I are on a cross country road trip. We stopped for the night. Our room had a horrible musky moldy smell. We were not comfortable sleeping in this evironment. We would not return here or reccommend this location.

Helpful?
Thank Alex S
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Don't confuse this hotel with the Motor Inn. This location is updated and has a pool, hot tub, and light breakfast. Two popular restaurants are close enough to walk in under five minutes; Big T BBQ and Nicks Steak and Pizza, both are highly rated.

Helpful?
Thank mccormack_md
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback and we're glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope your next short visit to Calgary gives us the opportunity to show you another great stay. More 

Great Wolford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room, bathroom, beds clean and comfortable. Communal areas a tad tired and dated. My main criticisms are the slow check in and the polystyrene crockery and plastic cutlery that spoiled an otherwise pleasant breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank WolfordWanderer
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments and we're glad to hear you had a great stay. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Belfair, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have been on a 60+ day road trip and if I have any consistent complaint against the places at which we stayed is the less than stellar internet. We relied heavily on the internet for this trip for communication and planning. Many times we had to go to the 4G network even though the place we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelin41126
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments and we're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Please allow the hotel to clarify: We do offer internet access at our property; however we do not have IT experts employed at the property and have hired a property support team to assist guests with any issues they have with the internet,... More 

Spruce Grove, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I googled pet friendly hotels in Calgary and there were 3 econo lodges come up. Somewhere in between me clicking the book now where it said bring your furry friend and the time they took my money, the wrong econo lodge was booked. I went through booking.com and even asked them to verify it being pet friendly and got no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, even though you never actually stayed with us, and allow the hotel to clarify. Aug 1 was a holiday and the Guest Services Manager was off; however at 8:34am she received the following email from you: Good morning. After researching for a pet friendly hotel I made an online reservation... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is another Econolodge behind. . . and if you put your GPS to find this hotel it will direct you to that hotel. So you have to know where you are going. It is a little tricky to find it. But the beds are good and have a swimming pool too! Breakfast was nice but for people who can't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Celia63
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We are always happy to hear when we have exceeded guests expectatins and look forward to having the opportunity to meet your accommodation needs the next time you come to Calgary! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Had to make an unexpected to Calgary, my granddaughter had an accident and was sent to Alberta children's hospital. The lady I talked to when I first called was so nice. After my first bad experience calling another hotel close by (best western village park) I am glad I came here. Everyone at front desk was great. Room was comfortable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi'n'Steve A
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. We're sorry to hear about your granddaughter and hope everything has gone well. We're glad we exceeded your expectations during this stressful time and hope we can meet your accommodation needs the next time you come to Calgary albeit under better circumstances. Thanks again and have a great day! More 

Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here four nights in an efficiency suite during the Calgary Stampede. The size of the room was well suited for our family of four. The kitchenette was ideal for eating in. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. While the pool is small, the kids enjoyed it nonetheless. The hot tub is also a plus. The continental breakfast,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank to_travel_is_my_life
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and look forward to providing you with the same great level of service and value the next time you come to Calgary! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

Really researched the internet for a good hotel in Calgary. Talked to Keri in sales and she reassured me this was a great place to stay. We were not disappointed with any of the different departments inside the hotel. Great service at the front desk, clean quiet room, air conditioning, great jacuzzi and swimming pool, laundry, amazing breakfast with a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lois P
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#89 of 110 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#35 of 110 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Address: 2231 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: $55 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Choice Canada so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites University
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge University
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay