We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Travelodge Calgary University

Hotel website
2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Special Offer
Free parking
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Travelodge Calgary University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 290: English reviews
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pros: Clean, spacious, lots of free parking. Breakfast is free, however, it's in such a busy area ( at the crossroads of the front desk, the back door, the elevator, and the ice machine/ fitness area hall) that I couldn't be bothered. I like a a modicum of privacy when I eat. Even if there was a partitian it would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stiklette
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is acceptable for its budget price point but this by far the worst bed I've ever slept on. At least 20 years old and warped/bowed into the centre. Will be checking out from my stay a day early. Everything else is sorta clean and acceptable but the bed is everything and it's horrible.

Helpful?
Thank Scott G
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear Scott G, Thank you very much for not checking out early and for giving us the opportunity to get you a better service. Like I said in another review, this is a hit and miss situation; some customers love soft beds and some love firm beds. You can always check our previous reviews. I am going to give you... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is well worth looking into during Stampede. Great value for the money compared to other high priced hotels. Clean, large, comfy room with a mini fridge and micro. The TV worked fine everything else seemed to look great. The only concern would be the A/C. It seemed extremely loud so all we did is turn it on all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zigie
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear Zigie, Your review is fantastic! Thank you very much for taking the time to do it. I am very sorry about the AC being loud, we will look into start buying the ones that are not as loud. As per the pool, you are right, we share it with the hotel next door since is the same ownership and... More 

Balfour
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed three nights and really enjoyed the down-home hospitality of the management and staff. Didi in housekeeping went above and beyond! The room was spacious and comfortable..and very clean. I recommend this property snd would stay here sgain.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jake M
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hello Jake M, On behalf of my staff and myself we want to thank you for mentioning us and for taking the time to review us. It makes me so happy when customers mention my staff, that for me means they made a good impact on you. and yes, rooms are clean and comfortable!!! Thank you and I do hope... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

stayed for 2 nights from july 5 to 7. clean and large room, fast wifi, near the train station, free breakfast, in-room microwave, fridge (with free bottled water) and coffee maker. 'will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Helpful?
1 Thank marilou g
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear marilou g, I thank you very much for letting other people about our property. I am sure we will see you next time you are in Calgary. Thank you and have a wonderful day!!! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall rating is only based on the hotel being a low budget hotel, should it think it is anything else than that - it would be poor overall rating. Firstly, upon arrival, the standard mistake of guest agent - can I help you? Well, I have my bags- how about a WELCOME and appear happy to see me! Then the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spencertraveller
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hello Spencertraveller, Thank you very much for your review. The only way we can get better is to get feedback from our guests and believe me, we always do our best at this property to please each customer that walks in! Thank you for being a Wyndham rewards member, I do love this program because it has a lot good... More 

Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very clean very welcoming knowledgeable staff and good quality breakfast.. looking forward to going back in August will recommend this hotel to family and friends very close to Calaway Park in the zoo

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mummieof4
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear mummieof4, Thank you very much for staying with us and for talking about our property. I am happy you had an excellent stay with us. We are looking forward to see you back in August! Have a wonderful day. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#88 of 110 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#32 of 110 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Travelodge Calgary University

Address: 2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: $62 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Calgary University 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary University Hotel Calgary
Travel Lodge Calgary
Calgary Travelodge
Calgary Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay