We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Calgary University

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Travelodge Calgary University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 323: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Every trip to Calgary I look to book at theTravelodge University Hotel because of its close proximity to downtown, transit, library and McMahon Stadium. What is more is that the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful from the morning breakfast staff to the general manager. The rooms are spacious and clean. The pool area was a convenient get away. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Guccidad
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I had to be out of our house for a few days and Travelodge University sure made us feel like home. Very pleasant and friendly staff. Rooms are very clean and housekeepers are very nice. Gustavo the manager made sure we were happy at all times. Isabel in the restaurant also made sure we had all we... More 

Helpful?
Thank G A
Victoria, British Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bad service, rooms outdated, bed & pillows sucked, lots of maintenance problems, but the WiFi was good. I would not stay here again or recommend it to anybody.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank fgonzalez0285
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hola fgonzalez0285, I thank you for taking the time to write about our property and I am very sorry our hotel was up to your standards. I can tell right away something went wrong at our property and you needed to vent. I did not hear at all what was wrong with our service, what were the specific maintenance problems... More 

Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is central and is a great location to many amenities. Clean room and comfortable bed. Friendly staff. The breakfast however, was a let down. The eating area is very small and the selection was very poor. I was not expecting a cold hard boiled egg. If you wanted a hot breakfast your choice was to make your own... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leah G
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear Leah G, I thank you very much for your review and I also want to apologise because our breakfast was not up to your standards. As per our small breakfast area I do want to say that we offer our small meeting room so people can go there and have breakfast when it gets a little crowded. I am... More 

Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The sign out front says "Good Value / Good Rooms / Great Service" I would definitely upgrade that to "Good Value / Great Rooms / Awesome Service". The front desk clerk when I went back downstairs after checking in asked: "how is the room sir?". I have never ever had any hotel staff anywhere ask me that, how excellent is... More 

Helpful?
Thank DonP83
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear DonP83, Thank you very much for such a nice review. I can tell you that we at Travelodge always do our best to make our customers feel like at home and have a pleasant stay. You are very nice to let other people know what we are about. Thank you again and I am positive we will see you... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our way to the mountains to go camping we had to spend a night in Calgary and we chose this hotel because it is pet friendly. My spouse had to go downtown for a meeting in the morning and the C-train is a block away. Our room was on the ground floor which made it easier to take our... More 

Helpful?
Thank hydehaven
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear hydehaven, I want to thank you very much for your nice review. We are lucky to have such a convenient location and we do our 100% to please everyone that walks in to our property. Thank you very much and we will see you next time you are in town. Have a great day! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Relatively cheap hotel with a decent location. The AC was loud but the bed was comfortable though they need to get rid of their comforters as they were ugly and worn out. I didn't feel comfortable covering myself with it

Helpful?
Thank Mango B
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear Mango B, Thank you very much for your review! As I have mentioned in previous replies we will be looking into switching to different ACs for next year. We are also getting pricing for new blankets but I can assure you our blankets are 100% clean. Thank you again and have a wonderful day! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#34 of 110 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#91 of 110 in Calgary
2.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Travelodge Calgary University

Address: 2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: $61 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Calgary University 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary University Hotel Calgary
Travel Lodge Calgary
Calgary Travelodge
Calgary Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay