We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Centro Motel

Save
Share
4540 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 0M6 Canada
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Centro Motel
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (55)
Room & Suite (18)

About

#73 of 117 hotels in Calgary
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Centro Motel is a trendy boutique property that provides you with the comfort of a 4 star hotel at half the price. Enjoy our smart decor and funky furnishings while lounging on our pillow-topped mattresses that are draped in our luxury linens. Wrap yourself in our plush bathrobes provided for your comfort in all of our rooms. Complimentary with all rooms every day of the year is - calling to anywhere in Canada and the U.S., WiFi, and parking! Centro Motel is located in Calgary’s NW quadrant in the trendy area of Montgomery. We are 3.5 km away from the Children’s Hospital, 3.1 km away from the Foothills Hospital (check with us for special Hospital rates), 4.3 km away from the University of Calgary, 4.7 km away from Canada Olympic Park, 4.1 km away from McMahon Stadium, 4.4 km away from Market Mall and 9 km from Downtown Calgary.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Polish, Vietnamese

Location

Full view
52Somewhat walkable
Grade: 52 out of 100
28Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
301Reviews9Q+A60Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 123
  • 94
  • 42
  • 20
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
M88 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
I truly regret having stayed here, I will certainly not be staying here again, and I will not recommend this motel to anyone. Online, the booking process seemed standard. Little did I know. Sleeping under a bridge in a snowy night would have been so much more comfortable and simple. I have never been treated this bad before. Such a lack of empathy made me wonder if there was something about me they particularly disliked at the front desk. My accent, maybe? There's nothing worst than wanting to cry because people are being so rude to you, and having to still be there, accepting it all, because it's late and all you want is access to the room you already paid for. This stay makes me wish I hadn't come to Calgary.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from CentroMotel4540, Manager at Centro Motel
Responded Feb 9, 2020
Dear Girlwholovestravels, We are truly sorry for your experience. Could you please reach us and give more details about what happened? We are surprised to hear that you felt , you were being treated bad because of your accent. Our staff members would never treat anyone differently based on their accents, as we do have a wide variety of staff members,coming from different backgrounds themselves! We do appreciate your feedback and we will work hard to solve the issues that caused you a bad experience at Centro Motel.
Read more
Anon19374 wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here over a year ago and it was great. Everything was new, fresh, and clean. This time around, the flooring was stained and broken, the sliding door on the shower was hard to move because the handle was so loose it was almost falling off. The shower caulking was Mouldy and falling apart. The phone never worked and the tv remote wouldn’t turn it on. The beds and linens were comfortable and clean. The parking lot was never plowed and very hard to walk across
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from CentroMotel4540, Guest Relations Manager at Centro Motel
Responded Dec 22, 2019
Dear Anon, Thank you so much for your feedback. We apologize for the issues happened during your stay. Centro Motel is now under new management and we are improving the quality of the service we provide. The broken tiles in your room are being repaired and new caulking has been applied to the shower. We wish that you pay us another visit in the near future. We will take the opportunity to make it better for your next stay.
Read more
Tink492015 wrote a review Nov 2019
Kimberley, Canada14 contributions8 helpful votes
The Centro Motel is very economical, has few amenities but is clean with free WiFi, and free breakfast. The bed was comfortable and the staff was very helpful and polite. The motel is close to the University of Calgary, McMahon stadium and Foothills Hospital.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from DinoR355, Manager at Centro Motel
Responded Nov 15, 2019
Dear Karen, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you find your room clean and comfortable. We work hard to ensure a pleasant stay to our guests. We wish to see you again at Centro Motel!
Read more
Lori B wrote a review Oct 2019
Calgary, Canada12 contributions3 helpful votes
I read reviews to decide if I will stay at a hotel. I trust reviewers to be honest. I don’t understand how this place has an 8 rating. It is a 5 to me. First impression: walked into front desk area and immediately smell cigarette smoke. I don’t smoke and have asthma. It was a heavy smell. So I hesitate but hey I paid my room through Hotels.com and I am just getting the key. And it’s a little key, legit key, not a card which it looks like the doors are fashioned with those kinds of door handles but nope, it’s a little key. Anyways while I am checking in I decide to ask about the smoke smell, the worker said he didn’t smell anything and no one smokes in the entire business. I said ok it just really smells like smoke. I wasn’t accusing him I was just asking. I get my key and go up to second floor where room is. Unlock deadbolt and open door. Beds are small doubles. Not good but whatever. Rugs are dirty and threadbare. And broken floor tiles in the bathroom area and frosted glass doors for the toilet and shower area, I don’t understand that. The tv stand had peeling paint all over it. And when I checked the beds, yep hair on the sheets which not usually a huge deal but when I found multiple different types along with some pubic hair and this was just flipping the sheet up, not extensive searching, I didn’t like that at all. And both beds had that. I don’t know how clean sheets can have so many different types of hair! I was very disappointed. I expected more for a place rated 8 or above. I call hotels.com. They asked if I spoke with the motel first and said no I will. I go to office again. I go down and voice my concerns. I also mention again the very distinct smell of smoke again. This time he is not nice. He said well your daughter was smoking outside. I said yes she always does. I never smell her smoke inside anywhere but twice I walk in here and smell a room that has been smoked in a lot. I know that smell. But he still tries to accuse my daughter and I just said ok whatever. The room is horrible. And I doubt that any other room will be cleaner. Why would one room be clean and the one you gave me not clean? I don’t trust the cleaners at this point I tell him. I was not happy and wanted my money back. He said he doesn’t do that and the manager will have to do that. I said ok where is the manager. She will be in tomorrow. Ok well I’m not staying here. So my daughter and I take our bags and leave. I call Hotels.com and tell them what happen, they call the Centro motel and get nowhere with the guy so no refund. But even if that place was free I would not stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from DinoR355, Owner at Centro Motel
Responded Oct 4, 2019
Dear Lori B, Thank you for staying with us at Centro Motel and for posting your feedback. We were very disappointed with the content of your review.However, after investigating the particulars of your stay in detail with our staff, we were even more disappointed to learn that the content of the review was not an accurate reflection of what actually happened. The staff member on duty DOES NOT smoke. You say beds are small doubles. Well we never told otherwise. When you make a reservation for a room with 2 double beds, you will only find 2 double size beds in the room. You say the hotel's reviews are somehow deceitful, we have no control over them!! However, we are sorry to say this but in fact it is your good self being far from the truth. We are proud of the cleanliness of our rooms, we will not accept your claims about that. With regards to the furniture, the furniture in your room is not new yes, but why does it matter when they are polished and cleaned daily? We sense so much anger from your review, and understand you needed to find excuses to get a refund. And that did not happen. Therefore we can justify your negativity and anger in your comment. You really hurt us with your deceitful review and so much negativity. We are a MOTEL , not a hotel, we do not know what your expectations were. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Read more
ccf633 wrote a review Sep 2019
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada28 contributions19 helpful votes
The room was nice & clean & shower was good. Traffic noise was not a problem but we could hear the guests above us talking & walking around at night. Clock radio didn't work & there were no robes provided as was mentioned on website. Young man at the desk was friendly & pleasant. Continental breakfast was better than some. The parking stalls are small & tight. Could have a few more towels. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from DinoR355, Manager at Centro Motel
Responded Sep 23, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you took your time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear that you would like to stay with us again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$47 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
centro hotel calgary
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCalgaryNorthwest Calgary
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Centro Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Centro Motel?
Nearby attractions include Hextall Bridge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Centro Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Centro Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Centro Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Centro Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include NOtaBLE - The Restaurant, Wiener Schnitzel Haus, and Angel's Cappuccino & Ice Cream Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Centro Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Centro Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, and Vietnamese.
Are there any historical sites close to Centro Motel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lougheed House (4.2 miles), Eau Claire Smokestack (4.2 miles), and Nellie McClung House (4.1 miles).
Is Centro Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.