We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

742 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 648: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not a terrible hotel, but also not a great one. While this hotel is in the city center, you have to walk at least 5-10 minutes to get to a decent restaurant or bar. Not bad in the summer, but in winter this can seem like an eternity. Rooms could use some updating but were overall clean and spacious. Amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trav4Work
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked three rooms this past weekend for my friends and I, was really impressed with the staff. Shelley the front desk agent was really kind and accommodating. The rooms could use some TLC it was pretty run down but the beds were clean which is most important. Some things like a broken wall, weird patches on the ceiling, peeling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chellelamb
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sandman Hotel in downtown Calgary is an odd place. Nestled amongst the numerous oil company highrises along 7th Avenue SW, from the outside it gives the impression of conscious modernity. Moxie`s Bar and Grill, within the hotel building, is very popular with the up and coming young people; for the rest of us, it is dark and noisy, a sports...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Is away from the city centre I had trouble getting transport down town and then back again. Not somewhere I would stay again. Didn't have a comfy feel at all and when I asked for a kettle to make tea I was given a strange look and had the phone slammed down in my ear. The room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Therese W
Stony Plain, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were ok, the location was great but this hotel needs work! Chips were seen in tiling around the pool, Shower head was missing from the adjacent showers, and hot water was nowhere to be seen in the shower stalls poolside mens. It was bitter cold and most of the outer doors werent working. The rate was good for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave475499
Reviewed December 15, 2016 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel, but the beds and pillows are hard. I'd give it more stars, but having a comfy bed means a lot to me. Nice lobby, clean rooms and friendly staff. Walking distance to shopping and food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misstravelqueen7
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am sorry to hear you found the bed and pillows uncomfortable. We do have a variety of pillows available upon request. I am glad to hear you found the staff to be friendly and the location good. Tracey Smith General Manager

Wainwright, Canada
Reviewed December 14, 2016

The people were great the hotel, room and services were horrid. First, we checked in at about 7 pm and had to haul our luggage up to the lobby from the underground parkade - that costs $24.00 a night in addition to your room, so down a flight of stairs and then up two, and into the lobby where you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa R
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are looking forward to a full renovation of the hotel and elevators beginning in the new year. Please accept my apologies for the frustration you experienced with the parkade elevator. I also have already followed up with our Executive Housekeeper regarding the missing amenities in your room - so...

Reviewed December 6, 2016 via mobile

Good position in the city center, it is to reach every destination Room heating is not working properly and outside it is -20 this is a real problem. Food in the restaurant is good, even if cappuccino is not available at breakfast. Service is too slow

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea B
galway ireland
Reviewed November 15, 2016

We arrived in the Sandman's hotel in the city center ,It was quite easy to find on the Saf nav.The hotel itself was a bit dated but otherwise very good ,clean ,and good food and friendly staff and the car parking was free ,this was on a weekend which was great. That's as far as it goes there is good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikegalway
GMSandman26, Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Hello Mike, Thank you for your 4 star review. We are glad you enjoyed what our hotel has to offer. I am sorry you didn't find the entertainment you were looking for - Calgary usually has so much to offer for visitors. I hope you reached out to our Guest Services Staff for some ideas while you were here, they...

Reviewed November 12, 2016

Was VERY disappointed in my stay here. Probably won't return. The price to value of this hotel is not worth what they charge. Wall paper was peeling off the walls and bubbling. The box spring bed skirt was torn. The upholstery underneath the chair in the room was torn and hanging down. The tub spout was separated from the wall...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jamie F
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you again for reviewing your stay - I trust your concerns have been addressed in my email sent today.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (136)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Address: 888 - 7th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: $87 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Brazil
6 months ago
Sandy, Utah
over a year ago
Carthage, Missouri
Carthage, Missouri
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Corner rooms had lots of light”
 of 5 bubbles chellelamb, 5 days ago | Read review
“best views look south towards heritage residential area, or north across the Bow River.”
 of 5 bubbles T5546SOjohns, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a room away from lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles 123theresew, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“no opinion here”
 of 5 bubbles dave475499, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Choose a different hotel.”
  • worn and marked furniture - all pieces but one were like this
  • electrical wites pulling out of the ceiling..
  • mismatched furniture with hard to open drawers
 of 5 bubbles 202teresar, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay