We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0 Canada
E-mail hotel
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Hotel direct offer!$75 Off Last Minute Sale
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotel Website
$296
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (283)
360
Panoramas (5)
Videos (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 03/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mountaineer Lodge
Updated 03/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 5 hotels in Lake Louise
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
3.5
Super comfy rooms and suites free breakfast, and an indoor hot tub, make a great home base for your Lake Louise adventure. Mountaineer Lodge guests love the location in downtown Lake Louise, close to shopping, restaurants, and easy access to all area attractions. All rooms are equipped with the conveniences of a microwave, mini-fridge, fast fiber-optic Wifi, and in-room coffee/tea stations. There are also family suites with bunk beds and fireplaces, plus that extra space to stretch out. The complimentary breakfast (hot & cold menu), indoor hot tubs, and onsite walking trails with great mountain views make the Mountaineer Lodge a popular choice in Lake Louise. Your Lake Louise adventure starts here with a great stay experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Canoeing offsite
Walking tours
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:$75 Off Last Minute Sale
2094Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 519
  • 732
  • 495
  • 235
  • 113
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sightseer421190 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Our room was outdated, no a/c or ceiling fan and desk fan not working properly. Bathroom in poor condition and not very clean. Railroad tracks ran right behind property several times during the overnight and with no a/c fan, we had a tough night's sleep. Sheets like cardboard. Maintenance did not appear as requested to repair bathroom light--my husband fixed it. OVERPRICED!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Traveler689992 wrote a review Aug 4
12 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Beautiful area. Right near the town. We could walk to the grocery or across the street to gas station. Lovely breakfast. I expected continental breakfast but it was full on. The people who checked us in and interacted with us were friendly and helpful! Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Traveler689992, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Our location is certainly one of the most centric and accessible, is easy to park your vehicle and walk to the mall, restaurants, shuttles or hiking trails. We appreciate your comments about our complimentary breakfast, it certainly offers our guest a variety of items and much more than what you would expect from a regular continental option. A Great added value with no extra cost to our guest. Thank you for your business and we hope we can host you again on your next Mountaineer Getaway. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
ManuK72FFM wrote a review Aug 10
1 contribution
Had a room in the main building (the older part). In total the pricing was much to high concerning the poor room conditions (clean but old, holes in bathroom floor etc). Had similar accommodations also in Canadian hotspots for max. half of the price.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 2 days ago
Dear ManuK72FFM, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry our cost effective rooms in the older side of the hotel did not meet your expectations. Our hotel has 80 rooms, 32 of them are located in the main lodge (the older part) and some of them are scheduled for renovations later this fall. We reflected the outdated look on the price of the rooms. We also have a second building with 48 renovated rooms and they look completely different, their photos are displayed on our website so guests can choose the one that suits their needs best. Thank you for your business and we hope to host you in one of our renovated rooms in the future. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
Yve wrote a review Aug 9
4 contributions
Well kept hotel, but could be better if there's a pool. Close to resturants and markets, it would be great if they can have their own free shuttle to at least Lake Louise and Moraine Lake. Was so disappointed when we were told that there's a free shuttle to Lake Louise waiting across the street, but we waited for over an hour and no shuttle.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Family_travelers_Dec, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Our team works hard to maintain the property in the best shape possible, though we recognized that some of our rooms are in need of an uplift so we scheduled renovations for the very near future. We are sorry that you didn't find the shuttle service as effective as expected, but we thank you for your suggestion about having our own shuttle, we will pass your comments to the right people for consideration. BLL Tourism put together a plan to mitigate the struggle with parking in Lake Louise and offer a greater chance for visitors to enjoy the sights, during the summer the visitation is really high and some of the shuttles (complimentary or private) are just not enough to satisfy the needs of thousands of people. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again on your next Rocky Mountain Getaway. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
Mirjam1967 wrote a review Aug 8
The Hague, The Netherlands9 contributions4 helpful votes
Nothing special, but just right. Friendly staff, hot & cold breakfast buffet, laundry facilities. Laid back, close to shops and restaurants and close to a wonderful waterfront picknick spot. To recommend and return to.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Mirjam1967, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We will share your comments with our staff, they will be happy to learn that you had a good stay with us. Our goal is to provide guest with clean comfortable rooms, friendly service and value for the price paid, we are glad we ticked all those boxes for your stay. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your next Mountaineer Getaway! Sincerely, Mario Martinez.
Read more
I3014VZvt wrote a review Aug 5
Clearwater, Minnesota1 contribution
No aircon made the stay uncomfortable in summer. Hotel geared up for winter stays. Lake beautiful and park and ride we’ll managed but very little else in the town behind the lakes. Only a few places to eat and bare minimum shopping.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear I3014VZvt, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are sorry your stay was uncomfortable due to no AC in your room, we currently have only 16 rooms that have AC and our hope is to have more AC room after the renovations. Lake Louise is a very small village/community best suited for all those looking to explore the mountains. Our location certainly offers easy access to the few shops and restaurants, as well as the most popular and scenic hikes and 2 unique Tea Houses by Lake Agnes and Plain of Six Glaciers. You can also go canoeing, biking or sightseeing to take all the views in and get away from the crowds. We thank you for your business and we hope your next getaway is a memorable one. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
Tanako75 wrote a review Aug 3
Edmonton, Canada2 contributions
Location may be great, but there's no air conditioning. If you keep the windows open to try to let air circulate, then you have to pull back the blinds and can't sleep due to the light coming from the gas station across the way. If you keep the blinds shut, then it's stifling during the summer heat. Might be all right in the shoulder season or in the winter, but I definitely wouldn't come here in summer again (until, as the staff were saying, renovations were done so each room had air conditioning).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tanako75, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are disappointed that your stay did not go as planned due to the lack of AC. Our hotel has 16 rooms with AC and they are all available on our website, we are sorry the room you chose did not have that feature. We are certainly looking forward to the renovations and having more room options with AC for our guest. Thank you for your business, we hope your next getaway is a memorable one. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
Urvashi P wrote a review Aug 3
Virginia Beach, Virginia1 contribution
Very friendly staff and service. Hotel condition is good and very close to lake louise area and baneff area. Good restaurant on the area. They don't provide room service everyday unless you stay longetr which is the only -ve
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear UvashiP38, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy that your stay was good, and that our friendly staff as well as our renovated rooms met your expectations. Our housekeeping team does stay over service every 3 days, but we can also accommodate anyone who need the room cleaned after 1 night of use. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
frolando03 wrote a review Aug 2
1 contribution
Very clean and breakfast was awesome and the view were just amazing. The hotel is near park n ride which I would highly recommend when you wanna go visit Louise and Morraine Lake, cheap and it will save you the hustle of searching for a parking spot. This should be 4star hotel or even 5.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Frolando03, Thank you for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to share it with us. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our location is certainly one of the best around this little town, you can simply park your vehicle and go exploring without having to worry about overcrowded parking lots. Our aim is to remain competitive with the hotels nearby, we are happy to read that our services and amenities were a good balance for the price paid. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
Kerri Cutler wrote a review Aug 2
5 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel would have been a solid 5/5 if they had AC, other than that it was amazing. Hotel location is spot on and rooms and hotel were spotless. Room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and the free breakfast was DELISH!! Hotel staff were so helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Thanks Mountanieer :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mountaineer Lodge, General Manager at Mountaineer Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kerri832, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy to learn that your stay was amazing, our staff work really hard to provide our guest with a clean, comfortable, friendly and welcoming environment and they will be thrilled to know they achieved their goal. On the note about AC, a portion of our hotel is scheduled for renovations later this fall. Part of the new room amenities will be AC and we cannot wait to have that option for our guests. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to hosting you again on your next Mountaineer Getaway! Sincerely, Mario Martinez
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$168 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mountaineer hotel lake louise, mountaineer lake louise
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkLake Louise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mountaineer Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Mountaineer Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Bow Glacier Falls Trail (0.7 miles), Fairview Lookout (0.7 miles), and Wilsons Mountain Sports (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountaineer Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mountaineer Lodge?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Mountaineer Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountaineer Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountaineer Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Post Hotel & Spa, Bill Peyto's Cafe, and The Station Restaurant.
Is Mountaineer Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Lake Louise.
Does Mountaineer Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Mountaineer Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.