We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mountaineer Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,026: English reviews
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We were on our honeymoon. We figured for about $200 a night we would stay at a nice place. The location is fantastic and it's adorable when you drive up. Rooms were average, but the beds were very comfortable. However, if you like soft pillows, bring your own. I was surprised when all of a sudden it sounded like a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JeaninePK
Singapore
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We stayed in a family room. It is big and comfortable for a family of 6. The sofa bed was made and we just had to pull it out when we are preparing to sleep. Nice cosy place. Opposite a petrol station whereby you can pump your gas on your way either to calgary or jasper. 6 mins drive to... More 

Helpful?
Thank t16mytm
Toronto
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel location is great. Bed comfortable and the room is big. The breakfast is ok but doesn't open until 7 a.m. on the dot so one cannot crab a coffee and a bagel early and get going.. We can hear plumbing sounds from other rooms. Bathroom fixtures really need an update The big beef is the is not one electrical... More 

Helpful?
Thank Normu
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Easy access from highway ,near to shops garage,fuel Better value than Fairmont easy access to lake go in the evening or morning before the crowds .went up to eat at Deer lodge on lake louise road nice split the meal big helpings

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

There are not many places to stay in Lake Louise village. The main reason we chose Mountaineer Lodge was because of the free continental breakfast and the general price of the room (which was good). The breakfast was not good. We ended purchasing breakfast at another Inn every morning. It's all carbs and sugar, no protein. Unless you like hard... More 

Helpful?
Thank Haley D
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great place to stay. Rooms recently renovated. Very good breakfast included. Only downside for us - lake Louise very small town - not much choice for restaurants to eat. Location was great and lodge easy to find when driving into town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jill P
fort myers, florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I'm not even unpacked and I'm already sorely disappointed. We are on the second floor and there are no elevators. The ice machine is not in this building; I need to walk down a very long flight of stairs, across the parking lot to another building to get ice and it's 45° outside. I asked the receptionist where to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank resorthomebase
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. I regret reading that you did not feel you got value for your money and I will be following up on your comments. We pride ourselves on maintaining a very high standard of service. We shall be renovating our rooms this fall and I hope to welcome you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Denver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

right off the main road. quiet...except we were put in room #33. with is right next to the main entrance for breakfast. so if you plan on sleeping in it wont happen.. heard door opening and closing along with folks that talk going in and out... other than that. it was ok.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joedY2835MD
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I regret seeing the activities of other guests disturbed your experience with us. I trust you had a wonderful time exploring Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More 

Bellagio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked this motel on line. The site uses artist's renderings for some of the rooms so you need to examine the site in detail to understand the nature of the rooms you are getting. The room assigned to us smelt of mould and drains which furthered our upset. My partner complained and we were given another room which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank SealWolfe
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for the confusion when booking your reservation online and the smell in the room upon arrival. Internet access is an ongoing challenge here as a result of our remote mountain location. I am pleased to see the front desk was able to resolve some of your issues during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Anacortes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was outdated, and room and bathroom was not in very good shape for the high price we paid. The breakfast room was outdated, and food was not very good. We expect better conditions when charged this much.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank edwardmX7204RL
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and for your comments. We continue to upgrade our accommodations and more rooms and suites will be improved this winter season. I regret you did not enjoy our continental breakfast. I hope you enjoyed your time in the Rockies and I look forward to welcoming you back again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

322 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (116)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (150)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Hot Tub (8)
Viewed
King Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Viewed
Two Queen (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
0.2 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range: $120 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay