We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fox Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,931 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fox Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,814: English reviews
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed July 14-19, 2012 First trip to Banff, Canada. Wonderful location to stay right on Banff Ave just 10 minutes walk from downtown. This hotel seemed new or newly remodeled. Our suite room (#316) $228/night was very comfortable. Microwave, toaster, coffee maker, min-frig, and a small collection of kitchen items for meals. Large flat-screen TV in bedroom and living room.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DeepDoc
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I must comment that our ice machine did break during your stay, but it has since been fixed. I hope you will vist again, if you ever come back to Banff for trip number two! More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Terrible first night in Banff after a nice drive through the icefields. We were 2 adults, a 9yr old and a 2yr old. Our "room" was totally unsuitable for a family/more than 2 people. You can barely get through the door with a suitcase, and to open our suitcases, we had to put them on the "double" beds. The beds... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank FerTravel
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. I must clarify, that our square footage is listed on our website, had you been interested in looking into this ahead of time. You've commented that our AC does not work, but the room you booked (standard hotel) does not have AC. Only our suites are equipped with... More 

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in an appartment styled room which comfortably accomadated a family of five. Room was a good size however the lounge area wasn't the most comfortable. I know this is critical but the balcony dosen't offer much of a few other that the cluttered gutters. The leasure facilities are nice but can get overcrowded. To our... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie M
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you didn't love your stay with us. I am a bit confused by a few of your comments. Please let me clarify for future guests: We do have a bar located in Chili's. Cold beer on tap, and a massive flat screen for sports fans, I am sorry you missed this. Our balconies are furnished... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our visit to Banff was greatly enahcned by the staff and setting of the Fox Hotel and Suites. The weather, even at the end of June, was awful with cold and rain most of the time; however, the assistance and guidance we received from staff were memorable - in paritcular we would like to recognize Tim and Julia at the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank alisrael
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments, and especially for naming names! Our team love to see their names mentioned, and I've commended them for their efforts. I would also like to thank you for reccommending us. We appreciate that, and look forward to warmly welcoming you back. More 

Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed at the Fox Hotel & Suites in June 2012 as a last minute get-a-away from Calgary. Normally we stay at the Banff Springs but this time decided to try something right in the townsite. Stayed in a loft suite facing Banff avenue. The room was clean, well appointed and quiet. Had a small balcony facing Tunnel mountain. Went to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DHSS
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to share your comments. I am delighted you tried us over the Banff Springs, and you enjoyed your stay, and felt us to be reasonably priced. I hope we can welcome you back again for future travels to beautiful Banff. More 

Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights recently when attending a conference in Banff. I was disappointed as the site said it was close to downtown (really it is 10 minutes walk and there are nicer places to stay closer), the room was hot, dark and small (the aircon is no longer used by the hotel so there was... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Kath H
Management response:

I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy our facilities. I would like to take this time to clarify on a few points you have made. Firstly, you are correct, there are other hotels closer to downtown. We are happy to be about a 10 min walk, or 2 minute complimentary bus ride away from the busy... More 

manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

we really enjoyed our stay here - good overall deal in a nice hotel, and convenient for the town. Nowhere is cheap in Banff but this hotel provides inclusive cold breakfast and bus pass for the local service, plus a book of discounts for local businesses, so overall it's a good deal. also has a reasonably priced Chilis on site,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cheadleblue
Management response:

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased you found the Fox to be a good deal, with our added value add ons. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our unique Cave & Basin inspired hot pool, and appreciated our staff. I hope to welcome you back again in the future. More 

Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had the standard room which was rather small, but well appointed and clean. Service is excellent at the hotel from the front desk to the morning breakfast. Staff is well trained. Rooms are a but noisy. One can hear outside noises quite easily.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jersbikr
Management response:

Thank you for sharing your comments. I am delighted to hear you felt the staff 'well trained' and that service was excellent. I will pass share your comments with my team. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. More 

UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Reading all the reviews that really rave about this place I feel out of kilter rating at 3 stars but... the place does have good facilities - underground parking, great friendly and helpful staff, Chilli's restaurant and the underground hot tub. However, for us the room was too small, dark, noisy, lacking privacy and warm - we could barely get... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Happytrip8
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful, and enjoyed both our on site restaurant and our unique hot pool. All our suites have air conditioning, a living area, as well as a micro kitchen. If space or air conditioning are on your 'must have' lists,... More 

Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We got upgraded to the loft suite and it was just a great one. The hotel is very new, with both modern amnesties and mountain lodge feel. The free breakfast includes self-made waffle and fresh cut fruits. The hot pool is also nicely designed. The staff were just super nice. My kids really loved this hotel!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
Management response:

Thanks for your comments! It's great to hear your kids loved it here. Happy kids = happy parents in my experience! We have board games, and DVD players available on request at no charge for the kids in your party. But with mulitple tours, hikes and things to see and do in Banff, you will probably be having fun in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

940 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (573)
Viewed
Room/Suite (154)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (124)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (201)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (346)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Hot Tub (12)
Viewed
Other (64)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Hotel Room (29)
Viewed
Superior One Bedroom King Balcony View (54)
Viewed
Superior One Bedroom King Suite (49)
Viewed
Superior One Bedroom Reverse Double (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Chilis Grill and Bar
Chilis Grill and Bar
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar, Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $146 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay