We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Castle Mountain Chalets

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Castle Mountain Chalets
Castle Mountain Chalets
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Mountain Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is great. The chalets are wonderful and cozy. You have ypur own chimney and hot tub which is great. There is a waterfall at walking distance. The problem is that it's next to the train tracks and every time a train pases it makes a lot of noise so if you are looking for a quiet place this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tuff_Mulhall
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are proud of what we are able to offer our guests with us being a somewhat remote locale. We strive to provide excellent accommodation and service to our visitors. The trains can take a bit of getting used to, especially to a very light sleeper, but most seem to... More 

Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

Our anniversary falls in winter and for our first year my husband found this gem and we've been coming here every March since. We used to get the small chalet and upgraded to the one bedroom this past March as we now have a toddler. The couple running the place is absolutely great, they are helpful and kind. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristina Z
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Its always great to hear that not only did you enjoy yourself, but you've included us on such an important day. We hear stories like yours often from our repeat guests, who by chance found us or had us recommended to them by another guest, and then stay at least once or twice a year. Most of them... More 

Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

I loved this place, and can see why some people choose this place for all their Banff and Lake Louise sightseeing. We stayed in 3 different cabins in the Canadian Rockies, and loved this place best. Not only was it better furnished than the others, the lodge with its game room and big grills was very nice! The cabins have... More 

Helpful?
Thank dab85
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Its great to see that you enjoyed a lot of the amenities we have for our guests here at Castle Mountain Chalets. I'm not sure which cabin you stayed in, but some of our cabins have wood burning fireplaces and stoves as well as the gas fireplaces. I'm sorry to hear that you were able to tell that... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Booked a 2 bedroom chalet for 4 nights. Chalet was clean , beds comfortable. Kitchen and bathroom areas were good. Good location between Lake Louise and Banff on the corner of the 1A. Cabin creaked a bit especially when walking around at night but not a problem. You also here the train sounding for the unmanned crossings but we have... More 

Helpful?
Thank United21
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments and I will make sure to pass along your comments to the team. The cabin you stayed in was built in the 70's and is all wood framing. It has a space below that helps run the unit. With the weather conditions (hot and... More 

Paris, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

Never again. Did not sleep because of train in backyard. Nice staff, but long from everything. No restaurant and bad internet. Also very expensive. More than we payed for other much nicer hotels in the area. In general not a good choice. We had payed for two nights, but had to check out after one night. Could not take one... More 

Helpful?
Thank pladderballe
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. When looking for and booking our property , the information provided online is accurate. We do not advertise that we have internet, as we are located at a base of a Mountain, so unlike a city we do not have some of these accessibilities offered to us.... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

I visited a number of towns, and I can say that this was the best place I stayed at. The staff was excellent, Melissa was really helpful. We didn't know how to light a fire and she personally came and explained it to us. The stay was really comfortable. We met a lot of different people over there over the... More 

Helpful?
Thank anilbhavnani7
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comments. It's always great to see the team ensuring our guest are enjoying themselves and helping them when needed. I have already thanked Melissa both on your behalf and ours. The fire pit is always such a great area that many of our guests use. Its a great meeting place and... More 

Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

Spent 6 nights in cabin 8 with our dog. Very spacious, clean. Lots of towels, comfy bed and fresh wood for the fire daily. A small mat was left for our dog with dog bowls, waste bags and 2 dog biscuits - a nice touch. Very cosy, quiet apart from the trains which run next to property- not a surprise... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lazigirl
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. I love hearing that you were able to enjoy the surrounding area, our amenities and the General Store. We do not advertise that we offer internet as it is such an unreliable service, particularly being located at the base of Castle Mountain. Being in the National Park and being in a more remote... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in 18 the pine cabin clean and had everything plenty of room for our 2 dogs to play . Walkways were shoveled and salted everything it snowed . We checked in on the valentine weekend and what a nice touch when we checked in a huge heart shaped cookie . Thx u for always making our stay wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank kat0040
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you both (actually all 4 of you...can't forget the dogs), for joining us during the Family Day/Valentine Weekend! We are always happy to hear you enjoyed your time here. We will see you after the Thanksgiving Long Weekend in October! More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2016

The cabins were quaint, clean and perfect for a couple. The location is a short distance from Hwy 1 on the Bow Valley Parkway, almost mid way between Banff and Lake Louise. A great location for heading out snow shoeing, X-country skiing or shushing down the slopes at Lake Louise. The main lodge has a hot tub for soaking in... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathryne212
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

So happy to hear you enjoyed your time on the weekend. Sounds like you were able to take advantage of the winter activities of our area. Thank you for your comments and I'll make sure to pass along your thanks to our great team. We hope to see you again! More 

Red Deer, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

I booked 2 months in advance, also with 4 other couples booking their individual chalets. Even with giving them lots of business, they would not allow one of the chalets to be available before 4 pm. I repeatedly requested even an hour or two, as we were travelling with dogs (wanted to visit johnston canyon before night fall). For a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leah T
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

I'm sorry you feel that we would not accommodate you. Through the email correspondence with my team, it was explained that we could not guarantee the early arrival, however, if the room was available when you arrived we would be more than happy to check you in. Unfortunately, as you were bringing dogs, we could not "store" them for you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

587 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (114)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (466)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Cedar Chalet (58)
Viewed
Hot Tub (7)
Viewed
One Bedroom Deluxe Chalet (89)
Viewed
Pet Free Suite (77)
Viewed
Pine Chalet (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Chalet (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
17.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
17.6 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
3.6 mi away
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
17.1 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Midway between Banff and Lake Louise, in the heart of Banff National Park, you'll find a breathtaking location and the perfect getaway resort - Castle Mountain Chalets. Beautifully designed and furnished individual chalets are where you will relax in this nature lover's paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Chalets

Address: Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $158 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mountain Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Castle Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Chalets Hotel Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay